We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great dosas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanjai Restaurant

Thanjai Restaurant
Ranked #190 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Thanjai is an authentic South Indian Restaurant which serves vegetarian and non-vegetarian food with separate kitchen concept. We specialize in creating the true flavors of South Indian recipes that are familiar to all who grew up with these dishes.. We offer a rich blend of flavors, colours, seasoning, health values, aroma, tastes and the visual appeals of this unique cuisine. And.. We are alone in the area in offering you this taste experience. We have 70 seats capacity and an 80 to 100 seats hall facility for private parties, business meetings and receptions. We strive in bringing to our beloved customers the best authentic flavours of South Indian kitchens, without compromising quality, taste or health benefits. We have more than 50 varieties of Dosa's and we make 6 feet dosa first time in North America. Our Features: Bring your own wine and beer (BYOW) - Catering - Coupons & Deals - Groups Welcome - Kids Friendly - Private Functions - Reception Services - Reservations Recommended - Take-Out Food - Wireless Internet (WiFi).
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great dosas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

the dosas, which are similar to crepes, but crispier and lighter are delicious. they come with a variety of fillings, but are tasty enough to eat plain. the mutton curry is definitely worth trying. excellent value, and you can bring your own wine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vuffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Quality, variety & authentic tastes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

At 4759 Ave Van Horne , this south Indian restaurant will satisfy your tastes for vegetarian, gluten-free, genuine spices cuisine. Many non-vegetarian options are, of course available as well. You can bring your own wine or beer. taste dishes not availabale on the other standard menu Indian restos in Montreal. Worth your visit! Only reservation, is that tandoori nan bread is not as good as places with the proper oven.....go for the roti/chapati.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CMT-JWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“so called South Indian food for "North Americans"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Being in city, I decided to try the food based on reviews I read. But I was thoroughly disappointed a) due to inefficient and delayed service b) bad food taste. I tried masala uttapam. Never anywhere in world they make uttapam like this- it was not only half cooked but also just had few chunks of potato in the middle. It was tasteless.

If you are somebody who is a connoisseur of taste, dont even dare to try this outlet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Darewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Where Indians Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Thanjai is a South Indian restaurant in Côtes-des-Neiges with a very unusual menu. You won't find any Tikka, Tandouri or other Northern and Anglo-Indian regulars here... Instead, you'll find such things as Rasam, Potato Bonda, Sambar Vada, Dosas and the likes.

There are two things we liked about Thanjai: First, its prices ($25 per person tax and tip in? wow). Second, the fact that the dining room was, with the exception of our table, filled with Indian families. You know you're in good hands when the local community frequents a place for a Sunday dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 514eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great South Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wow. It was awesome to find a south indian restaurant in Montreal. The Veggie thali was divine. Looking at the plate with all the items itself was so awesome I was happy before I started eating. It helped that the food was also good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank naveen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanjai Restaurant also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Thanjai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing