We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cacao”
Review of Cacao 70

Cacao 70
Ranked #8 of 110 Dessert in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cacao”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

yummmmmmmyyy! The food is excellent. Their speciality is chocolate, obviously! Even the salty food is delicious. The restaurant is located right on sainte-catherine. The place is well decorated. It is relaxing and modern. Try the pizza triple chocolate :P

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmekobena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    86
    17
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“For chocolate lovers”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for a sweet hot chocolate dessert after an evening show. They offer a great selection of cacao based beverages and many desserts to satisfy your sweet tooth. Warning: the portions are generous and the atmosphere friendly and warm, perfect for a wintery evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CityEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Everything in the menu is different.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really, everything they have is different than anywhere else. They have their special secrets to make everything tastes awesome. Friendly staff and nice decoration.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic find for a chocoholic!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

What could I say except WOW - I'm coming back! The ultimate pleasure palace for chocolate lovers and their friends! I ordered a spicy Mexican hot chocolate. I cannot remember what I ordered to eat, I think it may have been goat cheese salad, but who cares. The hot chocolate was sublime bordering on the ridiculous! I was an angel in heaven with chocolate on my side. Who can go wrong with that? I was born again and loved it. You have to go, it should be on your bucket list and it should be something that you do on a regular basis. The world could be a really happy place if everyone came to CACAO 70 in Montreal!!!! Don't miss it!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellinggirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Have a sweet tooth? This place is for you”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have been to Cacao 70 four times in the past year, and I have left extremely satisfied and thinking of my dish for several days afterward each time I went. Cacao 70 is the kind of place you go to for a great (calorie) splurge with some good friends. Typically a visit goes like this: spend 10 mins or so dissecting the menu for all it's extravagant choices, then an hour or two chatting while enjoying a sumptuous treat.

When someone's order arrives, everyone looks over to see what's arriving. All the desserts look as mouth-watering as they taste. It's always garnished with some combination of chocolate sauce, caramel, berry coulis, whipped cream, molten chocolate or chocolate wafer balls. Not to mention the mini fondue pots and marshmellow roasting you can also opt for. Thus far I've tried the crepes, waffles, the banana split and the volcano (a brownie with ice cream dish). My favourite dish by far is the Illegal Chocolate Waffles from the brunch menu. The waffles themselves are so delicious you do not need to dunk or pair them with any toppings to thoroughly enjoy them. The illegal chocolate waffles are particularly good because they are topped with banana, which seems to cut the sugar and doesn't put you over the top (that is, if you can manage to stay away from too much chocolate sauce conveniently left in a little dish by the side).

As mentioned earlier, this is a great place to stop for a nice chat and a good indulgence. The staff won't really bother you once you've been served, which is quite nice after such a decadent treat because you don't feel rushed to leave. On the flipside, you need to grab your waiter's attention if you need anything (like more water). It's also a great place because it varies from quiet to noisy, but it does not get loud. It's also opened late, so it's a great spot for a late evening stop (I believe it is opened until 1am on Saturdays). But do mind the lineups on weekend evenings, they are quite common.

Overall, this is a little gem of a restaurant and I will be returning for that occasional chocolate fix.

Tip: If you're a real sweet lover, don't share a dish. Order one each and try each other's, but do not attempt to share. It WILL get ugly when there's almost none left and you both want the last piece!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger-Cat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cacao 70 also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Cacao 70? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing