We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth all the walking”

Montreal Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.71*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
Ranked #5 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Along with the Biodôme, the Insectarium and the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium, the Botanical Garden is part of the Montréal Space for Life, Canada's largest natural museum science complex and Montreal's top must see attraction.The Montreal Botanical Garden, one of the city's jewels, is recognized as one of the world's greatest botanical gardens. It offers a colourful program of events, exhibitions and activities all year long.With its collection of 22,000 plant species and cultivars, 10 exhibition greenhouses, Frederic Back Tree House, and more than 20 thematic gardens spread out over 75 hectares, it's also a perfect place to enjoy fresh air and natural beauty. Located just minutes from downtown Montreal, right near the Biodome and Olympic Park, the Montreal Botanical Garden is a living museum of plants from all over the world. You can also enjoy the Insectarium which is on the Garden's site. Have a great visit!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth all the walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Took the Metro out from the city and walk every part of this great park. The mosiacultres were here and amazing. It was around 50 cad to get in for the day but what a great break from the city. We learned a few things in the treehouse and saw some 100+ year old bonsai.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LV69Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,469
    1,357
    320
    90
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This beautiful garden is a sight for sore eyes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Especially serene are the Chinese and the Japanese Gardens. We just felt like sitting and relaxing there. The tree of life is an unique exhibit of wood models with appropriate quotations. Not to be missed are the insectarium with practically all the insects of the world and the green houses with their tropical plants and colorful orchids. We wish we could have spent some more time there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ismailbandook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Gardens! This is unlike any gardens we have been to. It is supposed to be one of the top three botanical gardens in the world. We can see why. The Mosiaculture sculptures were extraordinary in detail and scale. Some were 30-40 feet tall! The paths through the gardens can get a bit congested but things move along quickly for the most part. PLEASE NOTE--go to the entrance by the insectarium as there was no wait and we just walked up and purchased tickets and walked in. There were long lines at the main entrance. Definitely worth the money and a good way to spend 2-3 hours!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HawkMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“other things to see at the gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Chinese garden with the exceptional lighting displays handmade in China and installed in the garden.
Insectarium for the kids. Exhibition greenhouses have many examples of plants, and growing conditions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gingrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Garden for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a real gem. We bought adult tickets for $27 each and I thought it was a bit pricey. However, it gave us full access for 2 days. It did not have to be successive days. There was a Japanese Garden and a Chinese Garden that were both fabulous. The Chinese garden was showing a special exhibit of about 50 "Mosaics", lovely sculpted greenery, exhibited by many countries. Many, many other beautiful and interesting gardens were available to tour. Labels of plants were clear and very available throughout. Bring a lunch and spend the day. I could have gone back another day or two but, it wasn't on our schedule. The metro stops close by and is very convenient from downtown Montreal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CGBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montreal Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Montreal Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing