We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite!!”
Review of Bistro 1843

Bistro 1843
Ranked #4 of 6,684 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Llle-Bizard-Sainte-Genevieve
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We have been going to this fabulous restaurant for many years and have never had anything but great meals there . The owners , Sara-Ann and Tarik are terrific people and make everyone feel so welcome along with their wait staff. We have taken most of our friends there and they all have loved the food and cozy ambiance. Fresh and fabulous every time !!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KenS259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Great place to enjoy amazing dishes that mainly prepared fresh and from the local ingredients.
Starting with fresh bread with salty butter and working your way to a soup/ salad with an optional entree or just dig into the main course and seal it with a mouthwatering dessert like their famous lemon cheesecake while supported with great service by a modest team but expert enough to ensure your enjoyment.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank AYousef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

What a nice bring your own wine restaurant. The menu is very small but that allows the chef to make every item on that menu superb. The filet mignon was perfection. The escargot in phyllo pastry divine. House salad had a great selection of greens but for me the salad dressing was too sweet. For dessert I had one of the best creme brulee ever. A little pricey at $9.50. I was pleased that they had Splenda and not that cheap Equal or Sweet and Low. A fast way to ruin a good coffee. The service was excellent. Since there is only one sitting you don't feel rushed. Make reservations well in advance. My husband and the other couple were also pleased with their menu selections. I highly recommend this restaurant for a superb French style meal.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Celry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed the fine dining in a comfortable relaxed atmosphere. A very good selection on the 'Table d'Hote'. Gracious hosts and good service. Will return for sure.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

We go here about once a month and my mouth is watering thinking about the next time we go.
This is a family owned and operated restaurant and you will be surprised at how good the food and service are.
It's a "bring your own wine" restaurant so you'll want to spend a little extra on that special bottle of wine for you to enjoy a truly special evening :)

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1843 also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Bistro 1843? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing