We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice cream, waffles, chocolate ... need more?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xavier Artisan - CLOSED

Xavier Artisan
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: MUKI is located at 187 Place d'Youville corner St-Francois Xavier across from the Pointe-a-Cailliere archeological museum.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ice cream, waffles, chocolate ... need more?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

MUKI is as small coffee icecream place across the street from the Point a Caliere museum in Old Montreal. Is one of those places where you feel instantly welcomed, and this familair atmosphere and excellent quality of desserts do the rest. Ice creams are very good ( although I still personally prefer more italian like gelato). But , the real deal here are the creations involving icecream, sweet and salty waffles, chocolate sauce, warm apples etc. Pistaccio ice cream is superb ( although it costs double )
Pros : Really nice atmosphere, very good service, good food
Cons: No Bathroom, hot chocolate could be better

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Icecream Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This homemade icecream shop is the best I ever tasted! My daughter couldn't get enough their chocolate flavor. I never had tasted frozen yogurt this good in my life. I only get to visit Montreal once every two years or so I've been missing it since I was there last summer! I WILL make a trip back to Montreal just for this place!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EvilPossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous on all accounts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Muki is a combination of style, warmth and flavour. Gelato is made from scratch on premises and the coffee is just as outstanding. The owner Charles and his staff cater to your every need. Stay awhile and enjoy the fire place especially when the wind tries to take a bite. A real delight to all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely a must stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by at the shop just after our carriage ride of old Montreal. The chauffeur recommended that we should give it a shot. And, we are glad we did because we went back the next day. Their frozen yogurt is the best I have ever tasted. Being from northern New Jersey, I have had my fair share of creamery. And, Muki is by far the most delicious. My next visit to Montreal, this place will be my first stop.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tino2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“charming find in Old Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Delicious European style coffee and ice cream in a cosy spot on Place d'Youville. my daughter had strawberry ice cream and I had coffee. She tried the mango too and said that was even more divine. All carefully made and worth the price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cr26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xavier Artisan also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing