We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding repast”
Review of Le Bremner

Le Bremner
Ranked #140 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: Bonsecours
Canada, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Outstanding repast”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This meal makes it into my top 20 lifetime dinners. Yes, the menu is small and the choices are eclectic, but the preparation is excellent, the bartenders are both talented and sociable, and the music is not too loud as a previous poster claimed.

This was a wonderful place to experience Montreal's joie de vivre and bon cuisine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    71
    41
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This restaurant was great! The ambience is really lovely, it has really beautiful decor and then it has air conditioning units with really funny skater stickers on it that add character. All the syrups for the drinks are handmade and they have a special drink everyday - definitely worth a try. The oysters were fantastic. The sauces they brought with the oysters were some of the best I'd ever had. The food is very good - very seafood oriented. The dessert pancakes were so delicious and a definite necessity if you go to this restaurant. The service was impeccable, when we left we actually talked about how great the service was. The food is quite expensive - so be prepared for that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandrawillsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

@Ryewit, Le Bremner is NOT a chain restaurant. It is owned privately by celebrity chef Chuck Hughes, who only owns one other restaurant, Garde Manger, in old Montreal.

Although you did not enjoy the ambiance of Le Bremner, it's unfortunate that the bulk of your review was not written in an objective manner. The loud music, for instance, is part of the mood of the restaurant. During my first visit to Garde Manger, our server told us the music is an electic mix because the staff chooses the playlists, and Chuck's desire is for his restaurants to project a "homey", "celebration", "house party" feel; as if the diner is part of their family, their crowd. This is also why there are no numbers on the exteriors of the buildings. It is unfortunate that your server did not inform you of this. I do realize that these elements combined for what was not an enjoyable experience for you, however this is the exact culture that this restaurant was designed to project - one that I personally love. Also, it is completely unrealistic to assume that an entire restaurant of people who are enjoying loud music would lower the volume to suit one patron.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I went to Le Bremner with several friends to celebrate a birthday. We sat upstairs in the terrasse. Initially, I thought it would be too cold to sit in a three season terrasse, but this was not the case. There were heaters and the temperature was perfect, in spite of the cold outside.

The ambiance.was great: eclectic music, live oyster bar and service were all excellent. We started with one of the signature drinks: a must have. Their drinks are awesome. The vodka and lemonade was incredible as was the signature drink (a combination of vodka, black tea and flavours which I cannot recall.)

We started with a platter of oysters of the day. There were two different types, each one quite distinct and FRESH. We also had the snowcrab kimchee and the scallop crudo chamoy aioli. Each appetizer was amazing: an inspired mixture of flavours and textures.

For the main course, I ordered the hot lobster sandwich with 63 degree egg. Yes, it sounds odd, but wow! It was the best sandwich I've ever had. We also ordered the spicy tomato salad. This was a hit with everyone.

Our waitress, Maude was great. She was very knowledgeable about the menu, was friendly and accommodating. Chef Danny greeted us when we walked in. He came by the table to flambe the baked Alaska - a really thoughtful touch. Kudos to him for creating such an inspired menu.

Yes, it's expensive. But, it is truly a wonderful experience to dine at Le Bremner. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't go if you're a picky eater”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great restaurant, great staff, very interesting food however if lamb's neck, lambs heart or horse tartar are not your cup of tea you will still have to be willing to experiment. Even with picky eaters we were able to find good things to eat. Desserts were a bit disappointing but apps made up for it. One comment---when a guest says "can I have some butter" the waiter should NOT say "we don't have any butter". Thats a little too precious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hunttrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bremner also viewed

 

Been to Le Bremner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing