We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced 2-3 star not a 5 star”
Review of Chateau St-Marc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau St-Marc
Ranked #90 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked this hotel as a luxury family treat culminating a fall foliage viewing trip to Quebec. I did not consider the cost as too high when booked as many reviews ranked this hotel as 5 star. They must be family member rankings. First, this is more B&B than hotel. The staff,who live upstairs, were exceptionally nice and helpful. This made saying something negative about this hotel difficult. The hotel presents artist renditions as photos of the property. These rendentions are beautiful but not even close to accurate. The decor here was extremely tacky and renovations were strange and appear to have been done in a "do it yourself" fashion. The bathrooms were very nice but strange with showers only. The plumbing in the showers was intended for a tub & shower combination. There was a tub spout about 10 inches from the shower floor. Good for rinsing feet I guess or the wrong type of fixture was purchased & installed! On the wall, near the floor next to the toilet was an electrical plug outlet? It did not appear to be a GFI plug. Not sure this could pass code. The room furniture was large and appeared expensive but there was too much of it. This made it difficult to move around the rooms. There were tripping hazards everywhere. Ideal for a lawsuit in the U.S. The floors of each room were on slightly different levels and we all tripped several times without falling. There were throw rugs everywhere we all tripped on them too. My wife tripped & fell on one of these rugs striking her head on one of the too many pieces of furniture. The beds were comfortable but over one bed and in the living room there were large, gaudy, cheap, chandeliers. Attached to the ceilings throughout there were some kind of decorations made of wire and rhinestones that glowed in the dark. Extremely Tacky! The bed in the other bedroom was actually a "Murphy Bed". It was comfortable and surrounded by large wooden drawer filled cabinets.The light switch for this room was located behind one of these cabinets. We had to move the cabinet from the wall to access the light switch. This switch controlled six (yes 6) mini chandeliers located above the bed. (more Tacky). After an unfavorable review (2011) the manager claimed the hotel was under renovations that were not completed. On our Oct.2012 visit still not completed.The claimed amenities were there including an esspresso machine but wires were hanging all over in the kitchen. There was a picture hung on the wall hiding a large hole.The thing I disliked the most was being decieved by non photo illustrations and false high mark reviews. I was duped and overpaid in advance for this Motel 6 level accomodations. I will say the staff was very friendly and accomodating but this place is being falsley presented. BEWARE OF FALSE REVIEWS! Travelerbrit review was right on accurate.

Room Tip: If after this review if someone decideds to stay here DO NOT INCLUDE THE $17.50 per person breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abef_11, General Manager at Chateau St-Marc, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Hello Sir
We are sincerely sorry about your negative experiences. Here some of the answers to your concerns:
1) All plugs in all bathrooms are GFI maybe you were not able to see the turn on/off button in the middle. We respect all security standards. For more information on GFI plugs please google them on the net.
2) The plumbing is all done by certified plumbers the shower spout comes all in the same box with the faucet and shower head, like you saw the building was originally constructed in 1870 and space does not allow to put a tub in some of the bathrooms. Some people of different religion find spout useful.
3) All photos are all real time photos and no artist tampered with it to make them more attractive. We dont run a fashion/decoration magazine.
4) The cheap chandeliers you mentioned are all imported from Italy’s best Murano Chandelier plant called Alessandro&Alessandro in Murano Italy which in many people's opinion are equivalent to Armani in the clothing business. If you like more information please contact us and we will be happy to email you brochure about the company.
5) We are sorry for your experience with the carpets. This the first a guest complains to us about carpets.
6) The syrup you had is organic available in most grocery stores we have another type of syrup and all you had to do is ask for another one if you don’t like this one and by the way all the hot items on the breakfast menu are prepared by GFS Inc. a highly reputable company that respects all food safety standards other great hotels and famous restaurants rely on their quality and safety.
7) All reviews are posted by Hotel visitors without absolutely having any kind of ties whatsoever with any one of us and most of the guests expressed their honest opinion. We don’t deceive our guests that would be suicidal for any organization.
8) The Hotel staff don’t live upstairs in fact we don’t have any space for them on any of the upper floors.
9) The 5 stars is not of our making but done by reputable organizations.
10) To compare us to motel 6 is unfair and I am not trying to undermine Motel 6 it is a very good chain with a great value some people do not want or not interested in luxury then Motel 6 or equivalent is made for them. Other people may want to experience or appreciate complete kitchens with very luxurious kitchen appliances and amenities, marble bathrooms , very fine furniture and art pieces.
We are sorry again and we hope to see you again as we do with all guests.
Regards
Abe Farah
Manager/Director
Chateau St Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 124 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Enjoyed everything about this small boutique hotel. Room was gorgeous, very tastefully done, breakfast exceptional, staff extremely helpful and friendly. Walking distance to downtown, and old Montreal. So perfectly fitting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank algedneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My mother always said "if you can't say anything nice don't say anything at all"........and so I have stewed over writing this review for the past week. I resisted reading other reviews when I returned from four nights here with my boyfriend because I know he had read GREAT Reviews which is why he booked it! But today I took a peek......and I am flabbergasted at some of these reviews! Who on earth wrote them??? He booked a Boutique Hotel....we got the "Presidential Suite" no less.....it said it on the door!!!! Which President ever stayed here??? The President of the Montreal Hoarders Club? From the moment the front door was opened we were exposed to cheap junk everywhere. There were Homegoods bits of metal stuck to all the ceilings. Our room was stuffed with cheap bits. The patio hidden by layers of cheap curtains was totally unfinished. Other than this door there was no other outside light. I will post photographs to prove! It was dreadful. The only positives were the bed was large and comfy, bathroom nice and clean (but again stuffed with bits everywhere....) and the lady who greeted us pleasant. Apart from that? It wasn't cheap and so I feel compelled to write this. I don't like "knocking" anyone who is making a living.....but this was just a total disaster. It certainly was the low point in a fantastic weekend in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellerbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abef_11, General Manager at Chateau St-Marc, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your stay at our hotel property. We are sorry if you were not satisfied with your stay. We are currently building new rooms and suites in the back of the property to create bigger room sizes for a more enjoyable experience, as you witnessed when you were here. In our plans we are also building a new solarium on the roof. The construction is ahead of schedule and we expect to finish very soon and can’t wait for our guests to enjoy the new rooms and suites!
Sincerely,
Abe Farah
Manager
Chateau St Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed three days with a three year old. Quiet location but close to busy St catherines. Tried oNoir the blind resto...wow that was intense. great to get back to hospitality and kindess of the staff at Hotel Chateau. We stayed in downstairs suite which was perfect...nicely appointed although I would agree with others that first exterior impressions dont match the greast experience inside. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Basement Suite is a love nest :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikeraceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The 5 star rating of the Chateau St. Marc? The staff & owner very friendly. The room had to much -STUFF- in it. It was very cluttered with furniture, toiletries, rugs, metal frames on the ceilings. Our room had a view of cobwebs & a courtyard roof.
The city & restaurants, Old Montreal fantastic! The hotel/B&B was not what I was expecting.
I got the feeling (owners) in montreal had their staff post reviews on trip advisor. We had success finding restaurants by just walking & finding restaurants. When I would go look for them on trip advisor they where way down the list. Just seemed strange.
My Montreal experience was fantastic! A very young, vibrant & energetic city! I would highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abef_11, General Manager at Chateau St-Marc, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest
Our main reason of existence is to change to the better the way you feel when you check in to the time you check out. When you are a guest we want you to feel the most comfortable and the happiest if we don’t succeed in doing that then our mission is not accomplished and then we fall into the mediocre Hotel category and this is a grave for us.
We try to make the place as nice as possible to satisfy most tastes, we try to give you fast responsiveness and we are always ready to go out of the norms if that what it takes to make you satisfied.
When you are a guest with us we need and rely on your requests and criticism to be able to change what you don’t like and if we don’t get that help from you we cannot excel.
On our side we are almost finished with making the place the best appealing that it can be.
We are not a regular Hotel we are a place to host with a personal touch.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed in the Royal Suite of this hotel when we come to see Madonna's show in Montreal from Quebec city. It's like a big condo with two bedrooms, two king beds, three flat screen TVs and all kitchen and home appliances you could imagine. They have one single extra bed but we didn't use. Super clean, super quite and the service is impeccable. You would feel practically at home. The breakfast included was good too. You will be served by the owners of the hotel so it is the best in town !!!

Room Tip: Royal suite on the first level with private entry is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simba-Begin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The residential outside look of this Chateau hides the amazing gem inside. Each room is custom designed for elegance and cozy nurturing. The owner and staff anticipate every need, plus offer surprises like specially made hot chocolate served on a platter to your room. The breakfast is like an elegant restaurant rather than the usual B&B. The bagels are the famous St Vincent ones which are "to die for." So many decorating details are taken care of to make you feel like a king or queen in a small palace.This is definitely a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau Versailles
Chateau Versailles
#75 of 165 in Montreal
577 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#71 of 165 in Montreal
286 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel
Le Nouvel Hotel
#66 of 165 in Montreal
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#55 of 165 in Montreal
443 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#60 of 165 in Montreal
496 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau St-Marc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St-Marc

Address: 1189 - 1193 St-Marc, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $93 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau St-Marc 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau St-Marc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing