We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Feel - Small Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #81 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boutique Feel - Small Rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here during Dec 2013, the hotel has a great location right down town but is not very accessible. There is no indoor parking available - street parking only. Th ebuilding itself is beautiful, unique and full of character. The front desk attendants were very pleasant and helpfull. Our room however was INCREDIBLY small, and the bathroom did not have hot water for a shower (maybe plumbing problems due to the old nature of the building).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    112
    76
    37
    32
See reviews for
47
155
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We weren't sure where to stay when we went on vacation and we just chose a random hotel on our first night. After a bit of research on our second day, we found this cozy little place and instantly agreed that this was where we would be staying for the remainder of our trip.

It was very quiet, which was nice and relaxing, yet walking distance from a few interesting places as well. The receptionists were amazingly nice and helpful and had no issue getting us a cab very fast. The outside of the hotel reminded me of an old castle, which was pretty cool. There was a homely Thai restaurant right below which provided free breakfasts with your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We looked forward to our stay at this hotel but was unfortunately very disappointed. Staff were not too welcoming and helpful and the room we were allocated was extremely small and up in the roof on the last floor...nothing like those advertised. Location is not too bad. All and all not too great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Steyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The biggest issue that I had with this place is that we were stuffed into a room beneath a staircase and directly adjacent to the lobby. Because of this bizarre location we could hear everything that was happening in the lobby all-night-long; checking-in, checking-out, telephone calls, chatter at 4 AM, etc. Did not sleep at all for the 3 nights we stayed here. I requested at the front desk for the door that separates the lobby from the hallway where the rooms are located to be closed, but even this simple request could not be granted by the hotel staff. The hotel staff has zero clue about how to be hospitable to guests. They fail to explain the amenities of the hotel (like that fact that breakfast is located in a Thai restaurant next to the hotel).

Room Tip: Do not stay here. There are a plethora of other hotels in this section of the city that are also lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

As we drove to the quaint Hotel De Paris that I had selected from a picture on the internet we were amazed that it was even more beautiful then the pictures. We walked up those stairs that were hand made many, many years ago that could present a challenge for some. These stairs could be what would stop a few people from enjoying the beautiful architect of the Inn. The old style of the hotel has been kept and if you ask about the history I hope you get the story of the little Inn as Tristan told it to me. Simply wonderful. Close enough to the Palais des Congres where we were heading. Our room was small but very clean.Make sure to go and eat at the little restaurant at the bottom of the stairs called Pamika Brasserie Thai, the Pad Thai was the best we have ever had and the service was wonderful (make sure to sit at the bar and talk to the young man).

Room Tip: We were comfortable, tip just make sure if there is a problem with noise from the neighbors room, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolyvan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I went drove to Montreal this past weekend with our friends (another couple) for a long weekend trip and decided to stay somewhere affordable and close to the metro so we booked two private rooms (with private baths) with the Montreal Backpackers Youth Hostel. I have to admit I was a bit wary of that since there are very few reviews for the hostel online. After a long 6 hour drive up we arrived past 2am, to find Hotel De Paris sharing the same address as the hostel. It turns out that the hostel is in the basement of the hotel and shared the common areas. Our private rooms ended up to be on the third floor of Hotel de Paris, housed this beautiful old Victorian building with lovely stained glass and other unique fixtures.

Our room were very small and simple. A small window did let in natural light. There was a double/full bed in our room, wedged in the corner (mattress was comfortable with plenty of pillows) and a small desk and chair. In the opposite corner from the bed, there was a small chest of drawers with a small rod to hand clothes on top. Other than maneuvering between the furniture to get ready for the morning, there really was no place to relax/hang out except for the bed. Mounted on the wall was A small LCD TV (24"?) and on the floor put sideways was the DVD player. There were ample outlets for us to charge our devices. The bathroom was very small. Shower stall wedged in corner between toilet and sink. My biggest complaint with the bathroom was that it was very difficult to control water temperature. Very basic toiletries (packets of shampoo and shower gel, with a few wrapped bars of soap). Room was very clean when we arrived and housekeeping was good.

One night we decided to stay in and relax in the common area to have some tea and dessert and watch some TV. Those areas were downstairs and considered the hostel. The common kitchen was pretty messy and despite a sign asking people to clean up after themselves, the sink was full of dirty dishes. We had to clean up the coffee table (throwing left behind empty beer bottles and wiping down the coffee table) before being able to use it ourselves.

The desk staff was always nice and cordial and bilingual. They have hair dryers to loan out if you need one.

Overall though, we did have a wonderful three night stay. Note that this hotel has no elevator and the stairs are pretty steep. Very close by to Sherbrooke metro station: getting out of the hotel, make a right onto Sherbrooke and make a right onto Rue Berri (the "second" right, as Sherbrooke sits on Rue Berri as an overpass). We were able to walk back to the hotel from Rue St. Denis nightlife and on Sunday morning, to Au Pied de Cochon for brunch. As for parking, from December through March, you can park for free on Rue St. Andre, which is adjacent to the hotel. Otherwise, I believe that the hotel has parking for a fee nearby (did not ask where; I think it is $15CAD/night). I would return to stay here the next time I am in Montreal, but probably not return to Montreal until it is warmer!

Room Tip: We booked the budget rooms on the third floor, but from what we saw, the superior rooms are on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a very bad experience at this hotel. There was no hot water for two days and the front desk was not responsive at all. There are no security camera's that monitor the front of the hotel and all of our luggage was stolen while we were waiting for our room to be ready. We will never stay at this hotel again and I do not recommend it to anyone!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pathfinder F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#71 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#87 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#67 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: 901 rue Sherbrooke East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris has been hosting guest for over 30 years in the popular Plateau area of downtown Montreal. Housed in two beautiful heritage homes, this hotel a variety of room types to satisfy every guests from low priced, small budget room to large executive suites. Be advised because of the nature and age of the buildings, all rooms are only accessible be stairs (no elevator). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing