We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay, room as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #81 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, room as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights and found the Hotel de Paris to be perfect for our needs.

We booked the Budget room and expected it to be very small - which it was, but if you're out and about for most of the day, a small room certainly isn't a disaster! It was clean and warm (priority this time of year), only issue was that we could hear people in the other rooms either side of ours.

Location is okay - on the border of the Latin Quarter, downtown and the Plateau (which is the most interesting area if you want to truly embrace the Montreal lifestyle!). Very close to the Sherbrooke Metro station. In summer I can imagine everywhere is really accessible by pixi bike, which isn't available during winter.

Staff were very friendly - especially the girl we dealt! - with and available 24 hours.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    112
    76
    37
    32
See reviews for
47
155
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff was absolutely wonderful. Although room was small, it was very clean and had everything I needed. Again, the staff was excellent and did everything they could to make my stay a good experience. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Shocked at the positive reviews for Hotel De Paris. Was incredibly excited to stay here. When we arrived, they told us our room was across the street (warning sign #1). We went into the building and there was a random door on the staircase that went off the side of the second story (warning sign #2) and then we went into our room and it wasn't what was advertised online (warning sign #3)!!!!!!!!

The place was a total sham. On top of it all, the manager smirked and said he could do nothing when I said the room wasn't what was advertised. We left (without a refund) and had to scramble for another room that night!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank schuylerlofberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello Schuylerlofberg,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. There are two buildings that make up the hotel - the main building where the reception is located and the annex which is located directly across he street. the annex houses our executive category of rooms as well as the new rooms in our 3rd floor addition. Both buildings are converted heritage homes so due to the age of the buildings, there are laws in place to maintain the look of theses properties. This explains the door of the second floor next to the staircase that is fixed shut.

The rooms we believe you are referring to is room 12, one of the rooms in our executive category of rooms. As this is a small boutique hotel, no two rooms are exactly alike. Our website also goes further to explain that especially in our executive category of rooms, the architectural features and amenities vary from room to room. The room featured in the photo was already occupied that night by another guest but another room in the same category was offered to you.

Once again, I apologize for your dis-satisfaction and would like to invite you back this winter to give us another try at no cost. Please contact me directly to make arrangements.

Best regards,

Dino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located near st Denis street where there is plenty of nightlife and cute restaurants.

The staff were very nice, we got an upgrade from double bed for couple to queen bed for free, I called before hand.

The room was small and pretty :)

Included Breakfast in the morning was great!!

Negatives
- The bathroom, which had tile that were done very poorly esp in the shower. One day there was no hot water :(
- there were no shelves or surfaces in the washroom to put your stuff.
- the bed was squeaky :((((((( lol (but comfortable)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello NurseSurfer!

Thank you for your review. I appreciate all your feedback. We will look into the tile situation and rectify it as soon as possible. The hot water issue has been resolved as we have serviced our gas boiler and added an additional reservoir.

We have already planned to install glass shelves in all the smaller bathrooms in order to add more convenient storage. We hope to have all the bathrooms completed by the Spring.

Once again, thank you for your comments and am happy you had an overall pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great stay in this charming hotel!
Patrick at the reception was extremely helpful with lots of good suggestions for things to do and places to eat.
If you are looking for a nice place in Montréal, this is the place (and the price was very reasonable).

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the small restaurant at the bottom of the stairs to the hotel (I think the name was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello Christophe L.

I am happy you had a positive interaction with our staff. Hotel de Paris strives to offer solid service and great accommodations at a very low price. I am happy to read you enjoyed our new on-site restaurant, Pamika. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

You get what you pay for and even more. The stuff was very nice and helpful with parking and attractions. Although the room and bathroom were very small, our stay in there was very comfortable. The room was very clean and neat. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights, didn't use cleaning service for the environment's sake :)
Location is great. We will definitely stay again if we visit Montreal. I loved it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Prontenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello Anna_Prontenkio,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read you had such a positive experience at our hotel. Next time, I would recommend trying one of our superior or executive rooms if you feel more space would be of added value to you.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A nice hotel in the heart of Montreal, definitely a 2 star hotel with 4 star service.
Patrick the concierge was super helpful and friendly, and recommended some nice places to eat and visit.
The room was clean, had a nice view and had nice finishings.
I also enjoyed the authentic Thai food in the restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren_v_332013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinelli901, Owner at Hotel de Paris, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Lauren_v_332013,

Thank you kindly for your positive comments. As an operator of a small hotel, I emphasize the importance of great service among the staff and am always pleased to hear from guests when they acknowledge that service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#71 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#87 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#67 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: 901 rue Sherbrooke East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris has been hosting guest for over 30 years in the popular Plateau area of downtown Montreal. Housed in two beautiful heritage homes, this hotel a variety of room types to satisfy every guests from low priced, small budget room to large executive suites. Be advised because of the nature and age of the buildings, all rooms are only accessible be stairs (no elevator). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing