We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, great alternative to corporate hotels”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #79 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Great alternative to a big corporate hotel. The room we got for about $100. was big, with high ceilings and and huge arched windows. Nice big, comfortable wooden bed too. The two buildings the hotel is in are both beautiful, with a small lush ornamental garden out front.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 449 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a budget room on ground floor, $400 for 3 nights. no breakfast but free Wifi. Looking at the reviews it sounds like we paid more than other guests .
Bed was comfortable and linen clean, lots of towels
Location of hotel is good, close to metro and bus station . so easy access from airport.
Mostly quiet, we were at side of building so did not get too much traffic noise.
We had to ask for toilet rolls as they were not replaced when room was cleaned ..
We would have been really happy with tea / coffee making facilities but not a big problem..
Bathroom was very small, not really fit for purpose, the washbasin not full size just a hand basin the size used in cloak rooms. Toilet - had to sit on it sideways, not enough leg room,( I'm 5 foot 2 inches ) . Shower had poor pressure, impossible to regulate temperature so was either too hot or cold . I found it really difficult washing and rinsing my hair effectively.
Staff were pleasant when we left or entered building . Did not raise our concerns as we did not think much could be done about the bathroom.

Room Tip: don't select a budget room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueG132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

First I booked the hotel, then I read the reviews. But Patrick who answered the phone and took my reservation was so nice, I decided to chance it. What a lovely place, clean, comfortable, centrally located, quiet and charming. OK, it's not the Ritz. There are a lot of stairs, no elevator, decor is minimal and if I were 10 pounds heavier, I wouldn't have fit in the shower but the water was hot. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make up for the lack of amenities. There is a complementary breakfast with good coffee. After a day of touring on foot, coming back to HdP was a treat. And it was inexpensive. Staying in a chain hotel has it advantages, but I will always remember my visit to Montreal and the HdP.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Hector at the front desk. He was a charming man with the most wonderful French accent but very easy to understand. We arrived early and he gave us directions where to have lunch and more importantly where to park our car.
We were able to park for free for three days. When we parked our car we had the second delightful experience, Patrick, the other desk clerk He could not have been friendlier or more helpful. He recommended places to visit and even gave us discount coupons. We always travel with our little dog and she was made to feel as welcome as we were with only a minimum extra charge. Also we had a continental breakfast included with very good coffee and a delightful waiter named Anthony. The next day we met Caroline at the front desk who was as nice and charming as the others, also with a delightful French accent but very easily understood. The room was fine. It is simply furnished but clean and comfortable. The hotel is old but is a perfect and charming place to stay that fits right in the the history of Montreal. And of course the city. Montreal has to be one of the loveliest cities we visited. The beautiful old buildings, the shops and restaurants are first rate. We definitively would return to Montreal and to the Hotel de Paris.

Room Tip: Book directly on the hotel website for the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is our first time writing a review on this site & I`m glad its going to be a very positive one!
First off I would like to thank Dino & Patrick for the excellent service we received during our stay!
As soon as we arrived they helped us with our bags, gave us free parking & upgraded our
room for free! The location is amazing! We didn`t need to use our car the whole trip! The room was very clean & the bed was comfortable! Free Wi-Fi & free breakfast! The price was amazing, just under 200$ for the 2 nights we spent there! Our first Night we stayed at the Best Western & we spent a total of 240$ ( Our room, parking fees, WI-FI access ) & the room was
ok but very expensive. I'm so happy my husband suggested we stay here for the rest of our trip!
It saved us about 300$

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

PRO: Inexpensive, very nice & helpful staff, good location, near metro station (Sherbrooke on the orange line), quiet location, nice continental breakfast included with some rooms.
CON: Tiny rooms, lots of stairs (no elevator), in need of a handyman on staff (GFI plugs don't work, door sticks, shower head loose, fan in bath is SUPER loud). It's small stuff, but it adds up!
OVERALL: Recommended for a low cost centrally located hotel in Montreal!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It was my partner and I's one year anniversary and we could not have chosen a better place! So close to the metro, we were able to jump on and go anywhere we wanted in the city!
For our stay we got upgraded from the budget room to a massive bedroom over in the Annex and what a treat that was!!
The accommodations were fantastic and the staff was very friendly. We cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RayBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#53 of 165 in Montreal
494 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#69 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#85 of 165 in Montreal
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
701 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#88 of 165 in Montreal
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Address: 901 rue Sherbrooke East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $52 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Paris has been hosting guests for over 30 years in the popular Plateau area of downtown Montreal. Housed in two beautiful heritage homes, this hotel houses a variety of room types to satisfy every guest from low priced, small budget rooms to large executive suites. Be advised because of the nature and age of the buildings, all rooms are only accessible be stairs (no elevator). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing