We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The William Gray(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
LHotel(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveler rating
478
503
140
31
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
503
140
31
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold montrealgreat locationmake your own wafflesvalet parkingrue notre dameauberge stfree breakfastsmall poolsofa bedoffice buildingthe breakfast areayogurtfridge and microwaveliving areafront desk staffplace jacques cartierpool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Location was great - that is why we picked this hotel. Facilities were just okay. I was disappointed by the spartan room and older condition of the bathroom and kitchenette. The room seemed a little crowded and the hotel pool was small and needed a good cleaning. Our suite featured a "balcony" which was really no more than a door that opened to a joint rooftop (all of the rooms on that level walked out to the same balcony) that faced an office building where people were working and looking right out the window at us (about 10 yards). Because anyone could theoretically go from door to door, my daughter did not feel comfortable sleeping on the pull out couch because she was afraid someone would come in through the balcony door (it only had a handle lock that seemed easy to push open). So, she came to the other side of the suite and squeezed into the king bed with us. The wall unit air conditioner was really loud and kept going on an off all night long. I will say that the breakfast buffett was great, although it was really crowded and did not have enough seating - but the food quality was good.

Room Tip: Marriott has two other properties within easy walking distance of Old Montreal, for the money (Springhill Suites were more expensive) I would definitely choose one of the other two hotels (Courtyard and Marriott).
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Kathryn Y,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are so pleased you appreciated our locaion and service. We are sorry the accommodations were not to your liking. We do have many different configurations of rooms throughout the hotel - some are more spacious than others. As well, we will be renovating all guest rooms and corridors in early 2015, so that much needed refresh will definitely brighten up the décor.

We hope to welcome you back to our newly revamped hotel in the near future!

Best regards,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is tucked away on a side street, but inside it is very good Marriott hotel. As with all the Springhill Suites the breakfast is included, but it does get very busy. The rooms are quiet, i did not hear any other guests, but the air conditioning could use an upgrade. I always like to stay in Old Montreal when I am in Montreal for business, this hotel is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DutchcanuckVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I recently stayed with family at this hotel on our first trip to Montreal. We were a large group (3 adults and 2 teens) but we managed to fit into one large room (2 doubles, 1 sofa bed and a roll away cot). The room was quite spacious - especially the bathroom and had the usual features (mini fridge, kitchen sink, desk etc.). The room was very tired - especially the carpet. Having said that the bed was very comfortable and the location couldn't be beat in old Montreal. It was in quick walking distance to all the major sites. I thought the breakfast buffet was good, despite being extremely busy, and was pleased with the overall selection. I would recommend this hotel to others, as long as you can get beyond the room decor - I personally am there to visit a city not a hotel room!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pea18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

The location is lovely - very close to
Notre Dame and other Old Montreal sites: Bon Secours Marketplace, harbor, etc.
Valet parked our car and we walked or rode the Metro everywhere (Metro is very easy and unlimited rides in the evening for $5pp).
Room in Springhill Suites was fine. It was spacious, had a fridge, toilet & bath were separate from sink, so easy for multiple people to get ready. Carpet was not clean (many stains throughout room). Hallway was also not very worn.
Pool is extremely small and hot tub looked like it could fit maybe 2 people.
We weren't there to stay in hotel all day though, so it was fine. Bathroom and beds were clean.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank h b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear h b,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our location, which is especially lovely in the summertime! We do apologize for the carpeting...as we approach our room renovations in early 2015, we do agree the carpeting has seen better days. However, we can ensure you they were all professionally cleaned last month, and in fact, we passed our Marriott inspection with a cleanliness score of 96%. Our hardworking housekeeping team are doing their absolute best to ensure that we maintain our brand standards while waiting for our new carpets to come in!

We hope to be able to host you once again next year!

Sincerely,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Good location in the old town of Montreal, close to several metro stops - allowing easy access to the entire city. Main reason for an average score is the property is starting to show its age - carpets in our room were heavily stained. Checked with the front desk and was advised they are all like that and the hotel is slated to be refreshed. Was further advised they steam clean monthly - which seemed true as the room had a musty smell of moisture that cleared out once we left the window open. A broken ceiling fan was fixed promptly. Marriott can do a bit better than this - check on the refresh before you book.

Room Tip: Corner or backside of hotel, the front side looks onto a narrow street and can get quite loud. The street cleaner comes through nightly.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear JosephR,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and attentive service! We apologize about the state of the carpets - they were all in fact professionally deep cleaned last month, but as we are planning for extensive room renovations in early 2015, they are unfortunately reaching the end of their shelf life. Rest assured however, that our hardworking housekeeping team do ensure they are properly spot cleaned as well on a regular basis.

We hope to welcome you back to our newly revamped SpringHill Suites next year!

Best regards,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews