We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Excellent Value, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Excellent Value, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Comfortable Marriott bed, good value, great location in the heart of the Old Port. Not trendy or Luxurious but perfect for our vacation to Montreal. It seems that the designers took a normal sized hotel room and efficiently designed a compact little suite. Not a lot of room to maneuver around the bed but enough. We found the sink, fridge, microwave, table and counter in the little kitchen alcove very usable. With breakfast included it was great value. In short we loved our stay in this Marriott Suite Hotel.

Our room 614 had a wonderful view of the St. Lawrence River.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martincelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    443
    119
    25
    22
See reviews for
333
350
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I'm surprised that Marriott have included this in their portfolio. It was totally inadequate, I could say unacceptable, for what was described as a suite for three people.

As expected, the bed for the third person was a pull-out sofa. What wasn't expected was that we needed to move other furniture to be able to fold the bed out but even this left no space for the other occupants to move around the room.

It was advertised as having a kitchenette. I don't think a sink and a microwave oven, with no equipment or even plates or glasses, can be called a kitchenette. The breakfast which was included in the tariff was very limited and not up to standard for a hotel in a major city.

We certainly wouldn't use it again and can't recommend it for anybody.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fxoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear fxoc,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The majority of our suites are 25% larger than a regular hotel room, and have space for sleeping, working, and relaxing. Depending on where they are located in the hotel, some do have more space than others. As well, our Deluxe suites offer even more spacious accommodations. Per Marriott standards, we consider a kitchenette to include a small fridge, a microwave (which includes plates and cutlery), and a countertop and bar sink, with coffee maker, cups and glasses. Our breakfasts were modified last summer to offer an even greater choice and more healthy options for our guests, so they now include fresh fruit, Greek yogurt and a variety of toppings, sliced ham and cheese, as well as hot eggs etc.

Best regards,

Ilona A
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here with a six month old baby. Our room had a kitchenette, which was very useful! The room was not overly large, particularly with a playpen folded out, but enough room for our purposes.

The valet parking was well run and quick. The front desk had a snack area which was useful. The pool was small but clean. The hot tub was the smallest I've ever seen - my jetted tub at home is actually bigger, but it worked and it was quiet in there. Location was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-McCormick-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
276 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I gave this hotel 5 stars not because it's the greatest, most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in, but because I think the value and location far exceed the price. This hotel is right in the heart of the Old Port area and may very well be the only affordable option in that area. Sure, there are some awesome trendy boutique hotels in the surrounding blocks, but sometimes you just want somewhere affordable for a quick weekend away. The room was huge, with a livingroom area and kitchen area. It was far larger and nicer than we expected. The linens were crisp and new and the bed was huge. The complimentary breakfast is a nice touch. Almost no one offers free breakfast in Canada anymore. There was sausages, eggs, waffles, and even porridge. There is a small pool and hot tub. I read some people's complaints on here and wonder if they know where they're staying. If you just want something comfortable and affordable in the Old area, this is probably your best option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshiewoshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Combining business and pleasure, we had the opportunity of visiting Montreal and staying at the Marriott SpringHill Suites in May. Our first room had the air conditioner blowing DIRECTLY onto one side of the bed. By the second night, I asked if we could be switched to a room that had two AC units in the suite (so we could keep the LR air on while in bed). We were moved to room 613. This room is a pretty special room … a person can hear EVERYTHING that is spoken on the balcony below! We phoned down and asked if the guests (and they just happened to be the owner’s daughter’s future husband and friends) could keep the noise/music down and respect the fact that there are other people above and below them. Amy phoned the next day … we did get a day’s worth of Marriot points reimbursed BUT was bullied “it’s going to be like this until Sunday … If you don’t like it you are free to move to another hotel”. At first I was pretty amazed that ANY Marriott person would actually say something like that … then, the entertainment began. Amy allowed us to be included in so many conversations about the hotel, owner, his daughter (and how they feel about her) … even defecation was discussed. Once, we even had a broken window arm and when the repairman came up to fix it, even he was amazed … calling down to the front desk to ask them to tell the guests to settle down. My caution is that is YOU are the one’s who rent out the balcony rooms on the 5th floor … KNOW that windows open or closed, AC on or off, TV on or off … ALL IS HEARD. Be careful. As for the hotel itself, we had no problem with anyone except Amy who seems to be the person in charge and pretty good at bullying / threatening. We even wrote to the Marriott Corporation, Amy phoned the next day and literally portrayed NO sympathy toward our disruptive stay when it came to the nonsense going on below us. Bottom line (according to Amy) you either like what you get or MOVE ON. In the end, the entertainment (and information) was pretty eye opening.

Room Tip: Be careful when choosing a balcony room (YOU CAN BE HEARD)!!! Also, if you want QUIET ... stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripsPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Trips PA,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and apologize that there were disruptions and noise issues. However, I would like to clarfiy a few points with you. I can assure you that the entire Front Desk team, including Amy, took your issues seriously and did their utmost to resolve them. As I did myself, as you spoke with me on a few occasions. Immediately upon hearing your noise complaints, Amy contacted me, and we both went and personally spoke to the offending room (they were not the owner's daughter. This in incorrect information). I agree it took a few efforts on our part to quiet them down, but as this was 4pm in the afteroon, we also felt that a certain amount of festivities were acceptable. However, we do know the entire wedding party left for an event at 7pm and no more noise issues were experienced on that evening or subsequent evenings, due in large part to the extra vigilance of our team. I can also assure you that no one was discussing our other guests inappropriately, as I am not sure where you might have overheard these conersations. I do not believe you were threatened or bullied, as I know our team spent most of your stay ensuring that we took good care of your needs. However, when we feel our guests may be better served elsewhere, we do mention this as an option.

Again, we are very sorry that you feel we were not sympathetic towards you, but I can assure you we all did everything within our power to meet your expectations.

Best regards,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, NH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Greta location with Marriott dependability and includes breakfast, a bonus for sure. Not so much on ambiance, but that's outside. Staff very helpful. Parking very convenient. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumbadancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here our first two nights in Old Montreal, using points. For us, check-in was quick and the staff were very nice. The valet parking was worth it. The room was modern and clean. However, the location is the main reason to stay here. The hotel is tucked onto a very quiet street. Everything is a short walk from every direction: the currency exchanges, the basilica, the main square where live music can often be heard, restaurants, shops, the port, etc. The free breakfast is your typical Marriott continental fare. If funds are not an issue, seek out better food elsewhere. Also, the fitness room is very warm and small, with free weights up to only 30 lbs. plus a couple of cardio machines. The pool is quite small for adult use. But if you're there to explore the city, those are small issues for such an excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Address: 445 Rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste | Vieux Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal. We offer warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain are available for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you. Our Old Montreal hotel offers state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! We put you in the heart of Old Montreal, near many of Montreal, Quebec's top attractions and landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing