We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but disgusting breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Ranked #33 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but disgusting breakfast”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel is very well located in Old Montreal. Staff is nice and really helpful. Beds are comfortable and sleep quality is good. There is enough TV channels to choose from. WiFi is fast and reliable. There is a swimming pool. Rooms are clean and spacious. The only thing that was bad was the breakfast. On weekdays it was eatable but at weekend it was the works breakfast I have ever seen. And will see! Despite the breakfast the hotel is good and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Petri P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfasts though. Per SpringHill Suites standards, we revamped our morning choices to offer more healthy options, a greater variety, and more ways to personnalize your breakfast. As well, we have different weekend and weekday choices so our longer stay guests have some new to look forward too each morning. Usually our waffle station which is available on weekends is a bit hit with all our guests!

Thank you for helping us to improve our hotel.

Best regards,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    449
    121
    26
    22
See reviews for
337
353
28
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It was affordable, convenient and clean. I don't know what else you could ask for. It had free WiFi and a complimentary buffet-style breakfast. It was less than a five minute walk to a number of nice restaurants, pubs, shop and cafes. The concierge also hooked us up with a room upgrade, which was a nice surprise. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cori_Peguese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel has an excellent location very convenient to Old Town Montreal. The room was very nice and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was excellent. The rate was very reasonable for this area. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Marriott's Springhill Suites on St Jean Baptiste is a decent property. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff is good. It is in a great location that is accessible to everything, and the included breakfast buffet is quite adequate. The lobby is very nice, as is the mezzanine where breakfast is served. We have stayed here twice and will likely stay here again. I note that another reviewer had an issue with the hotel booking a raucous student group. Interestingly, there was a similar group of energetic youth hosted during my last stay. While I was not overly bothered by the students or their boundless energy, I am also not convinced that the hotel will discontinue the practice of hosting such groups or endeavor to warn other guests at the time of booking that such groups are anticipated to be present; there are too many logistical obstacles to do so, particularly with online booking. If this is a potential concern at any Marriott property you intend to reserve, please call ahead and confirm with the front desk. Marriott will not tolerate any of their branded properties not being forthright with you upon inquiry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatchMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I booked this hotel on the understanding and premises that it was close to Old Montreal and close to our favorite restaurant Le Vieux Port. It was also rated a 4 STAR property by Marriott.We wanted a nice weekend away with no KIDS and to have quiet and restful and relaxing weekend with a nice dip in the pool and a hot tub to relax.

We checked in and put our stuff int he room.The room was to be feather free.It was not:( So we had them come in and change the pillows etc. Not a big deal really. The room seemed kind of small and cramped. We went out and made a reservation at restaurant and came back to have a swim.Imagine when you go and go to swim and there is a notice the pool is closed for the weekend.So I asked and apparently it was because they had a group of 300 teens booked into the hotel to all check in on SAT when we arrived:( I was very very upset as I know we booked here for peace and quiet. We were not ONCE informed upon check in or at any other time there was a group that had reserved most of the hotel!!!!!!
I phoned and went down to ask to speak to a Manager.I was informed that no one was there and that sorry and that it will be fine. I called Marriott customer service and asked if they could re assign and rebook our stay to another hotel close by. I went to the front desk and they told me they can do it BUT I had to check out at that very moment as they would charge me for the night as it was 5 pm! At this point we had reservations at a restaurant near so we said no we will check out in the am. I found this to be rude and not accomodating. The hotel should have told us at the start there was a huge tour group booked in the hotel to check in that night.
The stay was riddled with constant NOISE! running above us and constant opening and closing of doors and talking and loud noises well into the night.We did not sleep and left in the early morning and did not even have breakfast as there were too many teens to even get there:(
Upon check out there was not an apology nothing of the sort.I cannot believe a 4 star MARRIOTT has this level of service.VERY disappointed and will NEVER ever stay in the property not recommend it to anyone!! Poor management!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathynfmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Kathynfmom,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, despite the issues with your stay. First let me sincerely apologize for your experience. When we accepted this group (which was the first time, and will be the last) we were under the impression it was a different demographic. Once we realized the nature of the group, our Front Desk team did their utmost to reach ALL regular guests to let them know there would be a student group residing at the hotel during their stay, and giving them them option to cancel without penalty or rebook for another date at the same rate. I am sorry we were not able to reach you prior to your arrival.

However, I would like to clarify a few points, as I myself was on-site most of the weekend, and was aware of every single guest complaint or issue. I know the Front Desk clerk assured you there would be security on every floor in the evening, and one agent present 24-7, which was the case. As well, I know we rebooked you for the next evening at the Chateau Champlain as soon as possible, where I believe you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding breakfast, as I was breakfast amabassador each morning of the group's visit, I can assure you that there were NO students during breakfast hours from 7 to 10 am, and we have never seen such peace and quiet during breakfast, even on regular weekends.

I totally sympathize with your disappointment, and I agree this type of large group is daunting, but at the hotel level all team members did their utmost to care for our regular guests and went above and beyond (within our power) to minimize the level of disruption.

Best regards,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was there to celebrate my anniversary with my bf since we didn't plan everything. The breakfast was ok, the rooms are ok too, I love the design in the lobby though. In all it was not a bad experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Aliyah B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor! We are glad we hosted you for a special occasion and you enjoyed our lobby design. We love the stained glass separator in our cozy lobby, and feel it represents the flavour of Old Montreal!

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you in the future.

Best regards,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great hotel! Stayed here almost 2 weeks in January on business, and it felt like home :)

Location: Amazing - right in Old Montreal! Close to Chinatown. 15-20min walk to trendy St. Laurent or St Denis for nightlife and Dining

Staff: Genuinely friendly :) Front desk great and cleaning lady always said a friendly hello in morning and we would chat in hallway

Free Candy: Free Chupachups at the desk haha - what more do you need?

Oh yeah - the ROom! They upgraded me for free to King suite - very comfortable room with different spaces. Slightly dated but overall a 9/10. True blackout curtains awesome for a great sleep

Amenities: Ok so the pool is bathtub sized haha but I loved a good soak in the hottub everynight after work

Breakfast: nothing special, but it is 'free' and some variety of cereal, eggs, sausage, yogurt etc

Overall - a nice place to spend time and enjoy the best of montreal :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlampah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Address: 445 Rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste | Vieux Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal. We offer warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain are available for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you. Our Old Montreal hotel offers state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! We put you in the heart of Old Montreal, near many of Montreal, Quebec's top attractions and landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing