We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay In Old Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Ranked #43 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am currently staying at the Marriott Spring Hill Suites in Old Montreal.
The hotel is superb - kitchen area, living area, and bedroom.
The staff are very friendly, courteous, and helpful.
The location couldn't be better.. steps away from Old Montreal, the port,
and wonderful restaurants.
If you are a cyclist like me, this is a dream come true.
Cycling to the islands, parks, city is right out your front door.
The buffet breakfast included with the room offers a great start to each day.
As a travel company owner, I would say this hotel has all you could ask for.
Kathleen - Ease Into Italy & Beyond LLC, New York

Room Tip: I read that the odd number rooms may be a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen_G954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Being located in the old town, 2 minutes from the restaurants, bars, galleries in Rue Saint Paul, and the port/St Lawrence River, is great. Also handy is the car park next door for those with cars. However, if it is important for you to be very close to the metro this is probably not the best place for you - it is a 10 minute walk with a couple of inclines / declines so not great if mobility is a challenge (instead, I would go for the Holiday Inn near China Town, which is 2 minutes from a metro station or a downtown location). Having said that, we took taxis downtown on the few days that it rained and we found the fares very cheap compared to London (UK). In most other ways, this hotel hits the spot - free wi-fi throughout; a good inclusive self-service breakfast (but be aware that the mezzanine area, where the breakfast buffet is located, can get very busy if you go over a holiday period and choose the 9.00 to 10.00am breakfasting time). There is also a free-to-use business centre on the mezzanine level with 2 computers hooked up to a printer so very useful for checking-in for your flights and printing off boarding passes. There is a small laundry with a commercial washing machine and dryer (make sure you have at five 1 dollar coins or get change from reception). The pool is small and the jacuzzi is tiny, as is the gym area (only two running machines, one cross trainer and some free weights in a very confined space) but I saw families with small kids in the pool area having a great time so it is all about "horses for courses". We are exercise orientated so we were disappointed in the hotel's leisure facilities but, luckily, the weather was great and the port area gives access to the city bike scheme and cycle/running/power-walking paths so we were catered for thanks to Montreal's policy on keeping lots of open space for people to enjoy. The hotel rooms are spacious and equipped with a sink, fridge and micro-wave but, bizarrely, no kitchen-ware - in the end we bought paper plates and plastic knives and forks so that we could enjoy a late afternoon or midnight snack (I know, serves us right for enjoying our food a bit too much!). We arrived quite late on a Saturday evening (around 11.00pm) quite famished and, as the hotel offers nothing to eat (post-breakfast) other than a small pantry shop selling snacks and the odd microwave meal, we tried the restuarant / disco linked to the hotel via an interconnected doorway - we were ignored for 5 minutes by staff standing right in front of us who preferred to chat to each other rather than acknowledge a couple of tired looking baby-boomers. Eventually, they gave us the time of day but quickly dismissed our enquiry with a look of contempt, declaring that the restaurant was now closed. The good news was that The 3 Brasseurs in Rue Saint Paul fed and watered us with good food and beer (we can also recommend the "Steak and Frites" restaurant - a nice menu including fish). If you need a room with a lovely view to feel that you are "on vacation", you won't get it here but if you want to feel history all around you and have a sense of comfort and well-being with your lodgings, this hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: Go for the 6th floor - no-one above you. Would avoid bedrooms near the laundry and the gym and acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JannJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best part about the hotel is the location. It is right in the middle of Old Montreal, so if you are looking to spend your time there this location is perfect.

The rooms were spacious and fairly modern. We've stayed in a few different hotels in Montreal and this room was by far the largest. we had no real view to speak of, but we didn't really mind. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room had free WiFi, which, as an American, is imperative to keep down my roaming charges.

The front desk was very helpful and the valet was very fast. We left on one day to visit family and our car was up quickly and we never waited for an attendant.

One negative about the hotel is the breakfast. It wasn't the worst I'd ever had but definitely don't choose the hotel for the breakfast. I think we would have gone out for breakfast if we weren't so tight on time. Another negative would be the pool. We didn't use the pool but I did go check it out. It's tiny, so if you're a pool person this may not be your hotel.

Overall, we were really happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vdecosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My review for this will be same as what I did for a NOLA Marriott..Location Location Location!!!You are paying all that $$$ just to be in the heart of Old Montreal, which according to me is the best place to be.Can't beat it. Otherwise the rooms are not too great for the price. Staff is very cheerful and helpful.This hotel is literally steps away from Old Montreal and all the tourist spots, restaurants and bars.Parking can be quite steep though. Renting a car unless you plan to go out of Montreal is not worth it, it's expensive and also difficult to find a parking spot. Whole of Old Montreal can be covered by foot. As for other places, take a cab or bus or take the Metro ( subway).They have a free Hot and cold breakfast ( the usual waffles, eggs, breads, muffins, etc ). Rooms have a fridge and a microwave and even a sink. Was pretty spacious with a small sofa to sit and relax, but not very luxurious .The rooms don't have much of a view and most of them are a few feet from another building.I would stay here again just for the location!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinaya_Kini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We only had 2 days to stay in Montreal (Labor Day weekend which is a Canadian holiday as well as U.S.A). The hotel is in Old Montreal which is the place to stay with family (4 adults and children were 8 & 10 years old). The hotel was walking distance to the Old Port, historical sites and the Metro. The hotel is tricky to find, but you should map it out before you cross the Canadian Border because some streets are one way and there are lots of pedestrians We had no problem because I call the hotel before the trip. The Front Desk spoke French and English and all the staff were always willing to help you. The lobby, pool, exercise room, room and breakfast dining room were immaculate. The FREE breakfast was the plentiful (including eggs, sausage, breads, cakes, juices, etc.) with the staff constantly replenishing, even at closing time. The rest of the family never was at a hotel with breakfast and laughed at me that I never book a hotel that doesn't have "continental breakfast". They were impressed and complimented the staff constantly because it was Sunday and Labor Day mornings which were the busiest. The croissants were freshly made from 7-10 a.m. Become a Rewards Member before you book (there may be specials at hotels). I booked early, asked for a low floor, which we were on the first floor with the pool so the children didn't have to use the elevator. Also, I got a AAA discount. That weekend most hotels were sold out. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: When you become a Marriott Rewards Member, you can personalize your preferences, i.e., floor, beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

...that is the strong point of this hotel. It offers all you need while traveling, from a basic breakfast that is included (I chose to go out for breakfast but if you want it it's there) to the ironing board in the room, small snack and water shop at the reception. It's nothing special but everything useful & you can't beat the location in the old part of Montreal, which is the place to be in the evenings! Middle price range...all good!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigienvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would agree with most other posts that the location for anyone looking to be in Old Montreal is unbeatable. It's a great spot. In terms of the hotel itself... as a frequent traveler.. i'm unimpressed.
Rooms are a little larger than normal... and yes the layout is better than a hotel room and has a microwave and fridge. furniture is slightly newer and modern. That's about it for the good stuff tho.
Checked in - Marriott rewards gold - no upgrade available. Staff was not too interested in my check-in... doing 3 things while checking me in - picking up the phone, filling out a document..etc..
Room 516 - Floors are a mess. VERY VERY stained. Room window faces an apartment right beside me. Meaning I can look to my right and watch the US Open on his TV, and he can do the same into my room. So... drapes open = No privacy.
Included continental breakfast. 6:30-10... got there at 9:45 and most everything was gone, and asking for things like butter and ketchup and forks to the staff taking things away didn't get received with a smile. So, mostly everything was gone by 9:45. Picked at the leftovers.
Why are you cleaning up and putting things away at 9:45 if you say your open until 10 ?
Called down and asked for a late check out - Was told 2 PM was the latest. As a request traveler, and SPG and Marriott Gold member - 2 PM is very very poor. Reconfirmed if he was sure that was the best he could do, and it was confirmed with a little attitude.

So, in summary... one night stay - so it was fair and a great location to head out and visit old Montreal. To bring the family for a few days and impress them with this hotel - Never-.

For the price paid - There are many other options i'd consider before staying here again.

Room Tip: Get rooms with ODD numbers - seems that side of the hotel has the bigger rooms by the look of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concordia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona A, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Concordia 7,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that your stay with us was not to your standards. We strive very hard to provide excellent customer service and impeccable rooms and apologize that this was not the case during your visit. In the busy summer months we do have extra staffing at the Front Desk to ensure customers are dealt with in a prompt and courteous manner, but there are times unfortunately where the demand exceeds the supply. As for the carpets, we can assure you that these are professionally cleaned on a regular basis, but we do agree that they are not aging well, and we will be changing them all out during our renovations next year.
Again, with breakfast when we are full during the summer months, we do have extra staff, we open an additional meeting room to accommodate overflow, and we also mention at checkin when the peak periods are to ensure that our guests are able to enjoy our full breakfast.

Rest assured all your comments have been shared the the appropriate departments, and we would love to welcome you back in order to let you experience our typical high level of service.

Best regards,

Ilona Andrassy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 166 in Montreal
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 166 in Montreal
2,104 reviews
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#21 of 166 in Montreal
967 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal

Address: 445 Rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste | Vieux Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#23 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $135 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal. We offer warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain are available for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you. Our Old Montreal hotel offers state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! We put you in the heart of Old Montreal, near many of Montreal, Quebec's top attractions and landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing