We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Location, location and nice hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Old Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Old Montreal
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
mn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, location and nice hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott is located within the old city of Montreal. It's the perfect location with great access to museums, shops, restaurants, bike and other parts of the city. It also has the added benefit of being reasonably priced. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. Front desk staff is very friendly and has good suggestions for dining and shopping. They do serve a free breakfast which is typical of other limited service hotels. The only drawback was that the guest turn this into a food frenzy grabbing handfuls of baked goods at one time....it was amazing to watch. One suggestion.....they need to expand the breakfast area to accommodate more seating and turn up the air conditioning in this space as well. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank uforcechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    400
    111
    24
    17
See reviews for
298
303
23
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were going to be in Montreal for the Jazz Festival and decided to stay in Old Port instead of closer to the Festival. The Springhill Suites was ideally tucked away on a side street around the corner from the action on St. Paul Street. The music venues were an easy 15 minute walk away.
Check in was a breeze and the room was spacious and spotless. There was no view, other than the building across the way, but it was fine since we were rarely in our room and we did not hear a peep from the activity close by on St. Paul.
My only complaint, and it is minor, is that the breakfast area was very crowded and stuffy. It was a hot, busy weekend and that probably didn't help. One morning we walked up to Rue Notre Dame and had breakfast at Eggspecation, which was great. The variety of places to eat right around the corner was astounding and Jacques Cartier Place was a block away. Friday night was a fireworks display and the viewing areas were close by as well.
Parking was about $20 a day, but that is to be expected in a city. We did not take our car out at all, everything was that convenient.
Breakfast included, location, price ($227 CAD per night) and size of the room, this was an ideal choice for our 3 night mini vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larainerenee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Springhill Suites is located in the middle of Old Montreal - just steps away from great restaurants, shops, sites, and activities. A plus for the hotel is that it is on a side street so that, even though you are in the middle of everything, the noise of evening partiers never effects your experience. Also, we were able to park our car on the day we arrived and not use it again for almost the entire trip.

The hotel itself is very comfortable, but just a tiny bit on the worn side. The beds were extremely comfortable, the shower had great water pressure, and the staff went out of their way to be sure we had a great stay. Breakfast was average compared to other hotels' offerings, but was enjoyable all the same.

In a nutshell, this is the only hotel we'll stay at when we visit Montreal in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are available for a slight fee - you won't have a good view of the city (remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suslew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Marriott SpringHill Suites in Old Montreal for quite a few years. We come to Montreal yearly and enjoy the fireworks, the markets and just walking around Old Montreal.
Our hotel of choice is always the SpringHill Suites. It is definitely in the most perfect of locations. Parking is connected to the hotel for a nominal fee, and you have "in and out" privileges. And we do take advantage of that, several times a day.
The hotel is lovely and well kept. Marriott's beds are the most comfortable...no matter which hotel, and this Marriott hotel is no exception. The mini-fridge is very helpful in chilling our wine or the cheese we buy at the markets. Housekeeping keeps things immaculate and are very cheerful, as are the front desk staff.
And speaking of the front desk, I had mentioned we were coming for our Anniversary. Well, the gentleman at the front desk not only wished us a "Happy Anniversary" when we checked in, but even remembered which "year" anniversary it was!!! Boy, did that make us feel special. Now THAT'S Customer Relations with a capital "C." It's those little touches that make this hotel so special to us and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when in Montreal.
If you are looking for a really nice, clean hotel, with a wonderful staff, in a great location, then this is the place for you.
If I can answer any other questions, feel free to email me. Oh, and did I mention FREE WiFi? They also have a computer room with two PCs that guests are free to use, if you prefer.

Room Tip: While there is no true "view" of the St. Lawrence River, ask for a balcony room. If it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takearide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Point, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Springhill has one major thing going for it-- LOCATION! It's extremely close to all the tourist spots, so I added a star to an otherwise decent place to stay. The rate isn't bad for being right in the middle of everything in Old Montreal, and the staff were always friendly and helpful.

Rooms are on the smallish side, but since they're "suites" they feel bigger. The decor is starting to show some age and the ac/heater unit was noisy, but the bed was comfortable, and that goes a long way in my book.

Internet speed is on the slow side but free, so overall it's a better place for vacation than business

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When you visit Montreal, you want to visit the old town. The hotel advertises that they are just steps from the old town, but they do not do themselves credit. They are right in the heart of the old town. Parking is underground in a private lot connected to the hotel, $21 a night. You can easily walk the entire old town, so a car is not necessary. While you have the usual souvenir shops, you are also surrounded by a multitude of good restaurants and some excellent galleries displaying both paintings and Inuit art. The three Inuit art galleries offer perhaps the best selection in Canada. The hotel is good; the breakfast that is included is average at best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Riverman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotels primary problem is the pool and exercise area. The exercise room is like a sauna and borders on being dangerous . Staff were told and said they adjusted the temperature but it made no difference. Several guests I met also complained and nothing was done . The whole of the first floor where the pool is smells of chlorine and I would suggest giving the first floor a miss.
You cannot pick this hotel up on any GPS so if you are trying to find it it can be frustrating . Get a landmark close by and make your way from there . Rooms are clean and adequate but seem smaller than most Springhill Suites . I am platinum and probably get a bigger room from most hotels I visit at this one I got a polite smile and no recognition. Overall would recommend however since my visit a couple of years ago I feel that the warmth and caring nature of the staff has disappeared. Perhaps it was just a bad day .

Room Tip: Get a high floor and definitely not the first as there is a chlorine smell that is evident throughou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerperthaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#11 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#15 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#7 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#3 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Old Montreal

Property: SpringHill Suites Old Montreal
Address: 445 rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Old Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal. Warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you.Offering state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars, the Marriott SpringHill Suites Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing