We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite Montréal Vieux Port hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Ranked #33 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite Montréal Vieux Port hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We often go to Montreal for weekend getaways. We very much enjoy the scenery, activities and restaurants in the Old Port. We recently stayed at the Spring Hill Marriott and we were pleased with this accommodation in the heart of the area. We had a larger king suite on the 6th floor, which was quiet, clean and provided ample necessities, adequate with a large bathroom. With all the extra space in the bathroom, shelving is definitely lacking, there is none. We had a view facing an office building, but that does not take away from the comfort of the room and it's always great to discover the views exploring the city anyway. The Keg Steakhouse practically next door on rue St-Paul is always delicious.

The breakfast on the mezzanine was fine and the selections were plentiful and replenished. There are choices for everyone's taste and enough seating space. We found the moka coffee strong having to add at least five milk cups.

The Spring Hill is a great choice with a helpful staff, reasonable AAA/CAA rates and in & out valet parking ($21 Cdn). We will definitely return and try the Spa services next time.

Recommended ... don't think twice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witheachother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    449
    120
    26
    22
See reviews for
337
353
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed here with friends for two nights before taking a cruise from Montreal to Florida. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the central train station-a quick cab ride to a sheltered drop area built into and under the building itself. From there you enter a very modern functional lobby where cordial, helpful staff quickly checked us in and briefed us on the area. A half block down is Rue St. Paul, the main restaurant and bar street of Old Montreal where we had a delightful meal at a very reasonable cost. The room itself was very commodious and the shower and bed both 'above average'. The cost was reasonable, and included a lite buffet breakfast available on the mezzanine floor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed here at the Old Montreal Spring Hill Suites. It's a nice hotel, clean, great buffet breakfast (kids love the make your own waffle station), nice room sizes and perfect, perfect location if you love staying in Old Montreal. It is close to the Metro when you want to travel outside of Old Montreal. Valet parking that is accessible day or night. Free wifi which is surprisingly not offered in all hotels. An indoor pool and jacuzzi if you run out of things to do in Montreal with exercise room attached. Only one downside -- when they say breakfast is until 9:30, do not delay or they take the food right out from under you! Since we visit family there we tend to stay up very late and with two kids, can't always make the early breakfast call. I would recommend a grab and go station with coffee, tea, yogurt, danish and fruit for us late sleepers. It's not a deal breaker though, would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niro917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed at the SpringHill suites hotel for a couple nights while visiting Montreal. The hotel is situated right in the heart of Old Montreal. It is just a block away from the Main strip of St Paul Street where you can find various bars and restaurants. There is a really interesting bar around the corner called Le Piano Rouge. I didn't go in but there was quite a line up. It is also down the street from a Keg Steak house and a brew pub.It is also about 2 blocks from the water front.
The accommodation are pretty standard SpringHill Suites with a small kitchen area, a couch and a large King sized bed. Flat screen TVs are in each room and a shower with a tub and a separate sink area.

The breakfast was good though I didn't use the buffet, but it seemed like a nice spread and well worth the cost when you consider the room rates.

Couple things to Note. If you stay on Saturday Night and are fortunate enough to find street parking, the meters only start working Sunday @ 1:00 PM . So parking on the street overnight can be done. During the week, the meters do turn back on @ 9:00 AM so it might be slightly more difficult.

All in all , nice little spot and right in the middle of the beautiful old city. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Had an amazing 3-night stay at this hotel in the heart of old Montreal.

Perfect location (not only walking distance to all the must-sees/restaurants/shops in Old Montreal but also easy 10-15 min drive to other tourist destinations and prime shopping areas).

Staff were friendly, helpful and quick to respond to all of our requests. Room was clean and modern. Bathroom was spotless and large vanity area.

Free valet parking (parking is not free = $21) and a free full hot breakfast buffet (eggs, yogurt, pastries, waffle station, fruit juice, .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel room was hardly a suite, Was very disappointed by furnishings, cleanliness, and amenities. I have stayed in many Marriott properties and this was one of the poorest. The only good thing was the location right in old town Montreal. We asked if we could upgrade to a real suite and we were told this was one of the larger rooms. This property is well below what I expect form Marriott.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any. This was supposed to be a suite. This was an L shaped room at best . Not a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

great location,very helpfull staff, large rooms,and good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Address: 445 Rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste | Vieux Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal. We offer warm and welcoming hospitality in the heart of charming and historic Old Montreal. All the feature comforts of a large international hotel chain are available for your short or long stay. At mealtime, experience the enchanting Auberge Le Saint Gabriel restaurant, one of the oldest inns in North America, affiliated with the hotel to better serve you. Our Old Montreal hotel offers state-of-the-art business services for your conferences, training or motivational seminars. SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal is also the ideal place for a magical stay! We put you in the heart of Old Montreal, near many of Montreal, Quebec's top attractions and landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springhill Suites Old Montreal Hotel Montreal
Springhill Suites Montreal
Montreal Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing