We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to its reputation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2006

Everything about Le Saint Sulpice - accommodations, location, hospitality - was fantastic. We booked the "Four Seasons" package, which included breakfast and a $50 credit towards the night's stay. Breakfast was not the greatest but we very much enjoyed the cheese plate that we ordered from room service. Our deluxe suite was spacious, modern, clean and quiet - and the L'Occitane toiletries were a nice touch. We were very impressed by the service we received from the concierge/bellman.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    458
    92
    45
    14
See reviews for
419
771
67
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2006

Great hotel, the rooms are spacious and furnished nicely. The hotel is not much for night life as for the bar, but everything is just a walk or metro ride away. Old Montreal is where it is located and it is awesome, lovely views and so many little places to walk into for coffee, dinner, or wine. The staff were helpful and eager to assist and were not looking for tips all the time. Typically we stay at Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton. This hotel is our choice for Montreal. People said the Murphy bed was not comfortable, but we slept perfect. Bathroom is large and plently of room for things on the counter and such. Nice touch also to have great huge windows that open for fresh air.

Helpful?
1 Thank RussianRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

Loved this place!! Not sure if all rooms are suites, but ours was--two sets of windows opening onto lovely courtyard, complete with a wedding ceremony/reception to watch on our first evening with our fellow third floor residents. While not the full balcony we had hoped for, the windows opened enough so that it felt like it. One night we had a torrential downpour, and it was so romantic to open up the windows, lean on the rail, and watch the lightning and listen to the rain fall while staying dry...
Water was delivered daily, the doormen and concierge were always attentive, every amenity was available, and the accupressure massage in the spa was, put simply, the best I've ever had. If they had an open appointment, we would have gotten a pedicure as well.
You cannot beat the location--the waterfront two blocks away, all of the old city at your doorstep, the metro within 200 yards.
(Only two suggestions: higher thread count sheets would be nice, and staff need to give more precise directions to restaurants. We missed a reservation because we hunted for the place we were sent without success, even with the map.)
The price was right, and I have been raving about all the St. Sulpice since I got home. Thanks for a memorable 20th anniversary!!

  • Liked — spa, size of suite, location, service, price
  • Disliked — breakfast on courtyard too pricey
  • Tips/Secrets — take full advantage of proximity to old city sights and plan accordingly
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JenonMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

A wonderful surprise--luxurious, in a superb location, attentive staff. We booked through a special on Expedia--price was much lower than similar properties and location seemed good--right in Old Montreal. We booked a Junior Suite. Couldn't believe our good fortune when we arrived. A block from the river, right in the heart of Old Montreal. The lobby was lovely--marble, stylish furniture. Our Suite was a true Suite--a large living room, separate bedroom, 3 ample closets, a large bathroom with l'Occitaine bath products, big shower, high thread count linens, a fireplace. The staff couldn't have been nicer, always there to answer questions on restaurants, tourist attractions--they even helped us find a better price on a rental car. Then when we checked out, our balance due was $0, because we had pre-paid through Expedia. (This was unlike a recent experience with Hotels[--], which charged us service fees and taxes, and then I was forced to pay additional service fees and taxes to the hotel, adding $100 to my bill.)

I would highly recommend the St. Sulpice to others and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank gailthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

My wife and I have stayed at many hotels in Montreal over the years, mostly on business. This year we decided to go up for the Comedy Fest (John Cleese was phenomal) and to stay in Old Montreal. Based on Trip Advisor reviews we chose the Saint Sulpice and we couldn't be more pleased. For doing the just plain touristy things that Montreal is great for, the hotel was perfectly located - a block or two from the waterfront, bike paths to everywhere, ambience galore.
The room was large, modern and quiet. The bed was great.

Agree with other posters about the restaurant - forget it - but in all other regards this is a great hotel for a fair price. The location makes me prefer it to the other top rated Montreal hotels.

  • Liked — large room- kitchen facilities- great bed
  • Disliked — maid service could be more thorough
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

This is a fantastic hotel. Admittedly we had the most expensive suite (but it's an all-suite hotel so each one should be spacious) but the place was fantastic, everyone was helpful and friendly (NOT a given in Montreal believe me) and they even rang to say we'd left something in the room and did we want them to post it back.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jonottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2006

We recently returned from Montreal and wanted to share a wonderful experience at Le Saint Sulpice....comfortable and clean, elegant and attentive to detail. The one bedroom suite was ample and beds comfortable, even the Murphy bed. The staff was responsive and eager to help make our stay memorable. Concierge was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel and will certainly return.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank dpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing