We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury At An Excellent Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luxury At An Excellent Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

This hotel is beautiful, luxurious, and in an excellent location! Staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. The location was perfect -- directly behind Notre Dame and walking distance from nearly anything! The room was spacious, we loved the bathroom and fireplace. The hotel only has queen beds, which were cozy. Only negative was the continental breakfast , which was just so-so and the upgrade to hot for $9 was ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HedoHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    458
    92
    45
    14
See reviews for
420
771
67
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, CT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

I was a little nervous about staying at the Hotel Le Saint-Sulpice when we couldn't drive on the street where the hotel was located because of construction. I had read on TripAdvisor that there was work going on in front of the hotel, but I had thought it would have been finished by late July. But my fears were quickly allayed by the front desk staff, who, even though our room was not yet ready, made sure we were taken care of -- and upgraded us to a suite in the quieter back part of the hotel. (We had requested a quiet room. We also mentioned we were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary, which seemed to impress the young woman at the front desk.)

After going for a long walk around the Vieux Port, we returned to find our room ready. And what a room! It was fantastique! One of the nicest rooms we have EVER stayed in -- and we have stayed in several four- and five-star properties around the world. Not only was the room quiet, it was good sized, clean, chic, and very comfortable. I don't typically sleep well on the road, but I slept wonderfully at the Hotel Le Saint-Sulpice. Didn't even need to wear my ear plugs or put on my sleep mask.

Equally wonderful was the service we received during our three days at the Hotel Le Saint-Sulpice. From the front desk to the concierge, Etienne, to the valets to housekeeping was polite, professional, and eager to please.

Also, the breakfasts. Oo la la! There were fresh homemade (?) croissants and pain au chocolat every morning, which were delicious, as well as fresh fruit, cheese, yogurt and cereal, bread to toast, and probably a few things I am leaving out. They also provided wonderful fresh-squeezed orange juice and the best hotel decaf I have ever tasted.

Next time we go back to Montreal -- and there will be a next time -- we will definitely be staying at Hotel Le Saint-Sulpice again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Just got back from a 5 day stay at Le Saint-Sulpice, and couldn't be happier with the hotel. The staff was very accommodating and friendly and it was wonderful to come back what is basically an apartment instead of a bedroom with a chair or two. The hotel is perfectly located in old Montreal down the block from Notre Dame and within a short walk of the downtown area. Breakfast was ample, it included fruit, cereal, yogurt, cheeses, croissants, sweet rolls, toast, nuts juices, and coffee or tea, if you wanted an American breakfast including eggs, bacon and potatoes it was $7.00 extra. We certainly enjoyed Montreal, there was a lot to do and the people there were exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myhre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel--staff was helpful ! Room was comfortable. Good central location mid in the romantic old Montreal, close to great restaurants and easy to get around town. Concierge helpful in arranging side trips and restaurant recommendations. All in all a good stay

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blimele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

Lovely Hotel, nice staff, very mannerly and accomodating... We were on Honeymoon and were given a really nice room... the rooms were exceptionally clean.

There were some works going on on the road at the entrance, but staff did anything they could to accomodate and help... it wasnt a problem. in fact the new cobbled streetscape is sure to make the place really beautiful, when finished... is probably already finished in fact!

Montreal is a beautul place, especially area around the hotel... it was so central! we were seconds away from gastronomical heaven! and everything was a skip and a hop away.... great massage place Zazen, just round corner!!! really relaxing!

anyway, to make a long story short... we can recomend...

if I was to say there was any downsides?? mmm, was some confusion over being charged twice for breakfast that was already supposed to have been included in room price, when got it by room service!?!? air conditioning units are qute noisy on upper floor... but tolerable enough...

overall, I believe we got what we paid for!

oh and the restauraunt is fantastic, albeit, pricey... but seriously great steak though!! ; )

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBoyle091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

Le Saint-Sulpice offered an enjoyable stay for our trip to Montréal. The hotel was a bit hard to find, and parking was difficult because they were repairing the street in front of the hotel. Otherwise, the staff that checked us in was extremely helpful and spoke very good English. Our room was quite spacious for a city hotel and consisted of a queen bed and separate living room, which contained a pull-out sofa. It also had a small kitchenette with a stove, microwave, and coffee maker. In general, the room was very clean. The hotel was in close proximity to several good attractions, such as the Notre-Dame Basilica and the Old Port. Overall, the room was a great value for what we paid. The rooms, cleanliness, and service were definitely the best features of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdensully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed here during a conference in Montreal. Very central and close to old town and restaurants. Breakfast good - excellent croissants!! Very big suite, free wi fi, overall very happy with hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank primroseryeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing