We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Saint-Sulpice
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$362
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$258
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gault(Montreal)
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$651
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,149)
Filter reviews
2,149 results
Traveler rating
1,449
530
102
48
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,449
530
102
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedold montreall'occitane productsdeluxe suiteseparate bedroomnespresso machinestove topsmall kitchenettecobblestone streetselectric fireplaceperfect locationliving areabeautiful hotelboutique hotelart galleriespull out couchwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
1,740 - 1,745 of 2,149 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We've stayed in a few hotels in Old Montreal, and there are several good ones to choose from - the Saint Sulpice is consistently a winner. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated. The staff are available, helpful and friendly. They'll even help you order take-out at 2am. The location is perfect for touring Old Montreal and for accessing the rest of the city. The hotel allows pets, but as a guest you would not know this. We do plan to use this service during a future stay. The only drawback 'could' be the set-up in the room. Not sure about other rooms, but for both of our visits this year, the tv is not easily visable from the bed. It is at the other end of the room across from the couch - on an angle from the bed. And there are no bedside tables. There are cabinets at the sides of the built-in bed, but these have doors and are not easily accessible. Other than that, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We stayed here for our second anniversary for three nights. It was the most incredible weekend we've ever had. The hotel is beautiful, right in the heart of Old Montreal. We were within walking distance from most everything we wanted to do. The room was chic, minimalist, and clean. The bathroom had a big soaking tub, along with a shower stall, and being able to take a nice long bubble bath was a luxury I didn't expect. We also had a gas fireplace in the room, although we didn't use it much. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the shadows of Notre Dame, and across the street is a cute little cupcake shop!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PeggySue_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

My husband & I decided to take a mini-honeymoon to Montreal. Neither of us have ever been to Montreal before. We were both very pleased with our experience at Le Saint Sulpice. It is a block away from one of the main streets in Old Montreal, Rue Saint Paul, and is located on the same block as Notre Dame Basilica. There are also a ton of restaurants, cafes, shops, and galleries within walking distance.

The hotel was very clean and had a modern, contemporary feel. Our suite had a cozy apartment feel, but was spacious. The bathrooms had both a shower stall & very large tub. The staff was very hospitable, especially the concierge. Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful, and fluent in both French & English.

We didn't eat at the restaurant within the hotel with exception of breakfast which was included in our package. It was a hot breakfast but didn't vary from day to day (no big deal).

The only complaint, which is trivial, was scheduling spa services. One of the main reasons why I booked this hotel was the spa located within the hotel. However, the massage therapists had to be contacted by the front desk personnel in order to make the appointment, and it took at least 3 requests to the front desk before they were able to confirm an appointment for me. It was a minor hassle, but I definitely had to be persistent.

There is one other thing that I wanted to note. It did not necessarily bother me, but I found it unusual...on 2 of the 3 days of our stay, a staff member entered our hotel room unannounced mid-day to drop off bottles of water. I appreciated the bottles of water, but the woman entered the room w/o knocking both days. On one of the days, my husband and I were napping, so I was a little startled when I heard another voice in the room suddenly. So, if you plan on considering Le Saint Sulpice (and I strongly recommend it), just be forewarned.

Just another recommendation regardless of where you decide to stay, definitely make it a point to eat at the Bonaparte restaurant. It is only a block away from the hotel and it is well worth it! Very romantic and fantastic food!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelBugJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We were very happy with the Saint Sulpice. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was VERY large. We were on the 4th floor, overlooking the street and it was a lovely view.

Room was clean, and comfortable. Above average. The lobby and courtyard area were absolutely lovely! Also liked the gym. The location is excellent for sight-seeing as well.

We found everyone at Saint Sulpice to be extremely nice! We arrived early, but our room was ready. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful during our stay. After we left, we were charged for an umbrella that we did not take. But I contacted the hotel and they were responsive and removed the charge without a fuss. Overall we found the service was excellent and everyone who worked there was very pleasant to deal with.

The continental breakfast was fine, but nothing amazing. It was included in rate.

We would certainly stay here again. A great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JojoTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We were here for 6 nights in August 2008. This was our 43rd wedding anniversary and first trip to Montreal. We loved the city and the warm, friendly people. Staying in the older part of town feels like Europe, not North America and the people seem more like the French in Normandy or Britany, where they like Americans, than like Canadians.

The hotel is ok, all suites and the staff are great. The concierge was especially outstanding (Etienne) and the others were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. No eyerolls, or other obnoxious behavior.Our room had obviously had someone smoking in it before we moved in and they were never able to remove the odor. The carpet was not very clean, no slippers furnished by the hotel and the very nice bathrobes were very rough feeling and so were the towels. The bathroom was small, with no separate shower and tub as the advertising had led us to believe. The furnishings in all that space devoted to LR and Kitchen was sparsely furnished and not very comfortable to lounge in at night. The TV was a flat screen but no HD cable so lousy picture. Bed was a Queen (No Kings in the hotel) and not very comfortable for two tall people.

Breakfast was not included in our rate, as Expedia had led us to expect ("Oh, it's your anniversary? We'll ask the hotel to include breakfast-they usually do") None of that and the hotel swears that they NEVER include breakfast in Expedia bookings. Breakfast was more than $30 for two. Our guidebook discouraged the use of the hotel restaurant so we never ate there for dinner.

Montreal is full of outstanding restaurants, though most are New York pricey, given the current rate of exchange (C1.06 for a US 1.00).
Their business center is way too small (only 1 PC) but what they have is excellent. Just may require considerable wait time to check your email. Great internet speed and a first class printer.

We would look at other hotels in the same part of town, which include breakfast in the rate but if you get a "deal" the St. Sulpice is okay. It may not be an option much longer since the owner is selling the individual rooms as "condominiums" and will operate/mange it for the "new" owners. We didn't inquire as to how much they're getting for room/suite ownership.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DickGreenville_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews