We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We drove for 7 hours and decided to wait until we would get to the hotel to eat dinner. When we got here, the hotel told us the dining room was closed for a private function but we were welcome to have dinner in the lobby/bar. We had no issue with that but when we sat down, we were clearly disturbing the staff. No one came to see us and when the bartender did, helping us looked painful. Other staff members were also walking by giving us a very unwelcomed looked. I asked if we were bothering them and was told that the service would be very slow because of the Christmas party happening at the hotel. We had our three hungry kids with us and no one to help us out. I asked the front desk and they suggested that we go out for dinner... Getting the kids all dressed up (including a 6 month old baby) again and trying to find a place at 8pm was not ideal at all.
We ended up going to our room and ordering room service, which was fine. I was just disappointed that a hotel wouldn't ensure that it's guests are being welcomed and taken care of upon arrival... Not very hospitable in my opinion.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Stephany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I apologize for the dining room being privatized for a function on one of the nights during your stay. We always have the option of eating in the lounge area or room service as the Christams period can be quite busy. We pride ourselves on our service and it saddens me to hear that your dining experience was not up to the standards you deserve. We have spoken to restaurant management to ensure such an event does not reoccur. We hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,104 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago. Nice hotel, across form Notre Dame, and located in old Montreal along the cobblestone streets. You can walk to many things from here. Good food and shopping right in the area.

Traveled there in 07-08. Yes awhile ago but I just got around to finally creating an account :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank PeterOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have undergone several upgrades since 2007-2008 and we hope to see you back to experience the changes.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Everything about Le Saint-Sulpice is wonderful. We have now stayed there three times, the first time for a wedding, and subsequently for holiday. The staff is gracious and courteous. The rooms are beautifully appointed, modern yet warm. I especially love the suites which actually do have separate bedrooms, unlike many hotels. The little touches, such as the Nespresso machine, make it special as well. The location, in Old Montreal is perfect for tourists and I suppose anyone who needs to be in the area. You can walk along the water, or rent Bixis - municipal bikes - to tour the area, which is quite easy to bike around in. There are numerous restaurants and shops yet it still retains much of the charm of age. The staff is gracious and courteous. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeBee386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that we are your hotel of choice in Montreal. We thank you for your loyalty and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked this hotel on a limb through hotels.com. What a wonderful surprise! The location was superb, right in the middle of Old Montreal. Everything is walking-distance, including the Place d'Armes metro station. The staff was very warm and the room was lovely. We will definitely book again at Le Saint-Sulpice on our nextt trip to Montreal!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la_perusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you chose Le St-Sulpice for your Montreal getaway and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Let me start by saying the hotel and the room was beautiful, well maintained, and clean. The service was impeccable, and the staff was extremely friendly.

That being said there are a few things I would warn one about before staying there. First, we had gotten a room with a queen bed, however, when we entered our room we saw that it was actually a double. I called down to ask that we at least get a queen and she responded that the bed was a queen and that all the King beds were taken. This led me to wonder if the King bed was actually a King or just a queen. Now maybe for most people this wouldn't be a problem, but for us it would definitely effect our comfort depending on the length of stay (my feet hung off the end and I'm only 5'8").

Second, now this is more odd then anything but I feel people should be aware of it. Our room had a window between the bedroom and the bathroom. Now the glass was frosted but if a person got close enough to the glass you can see them almost perfectly from inside the washroom.

Other than that no real complaints, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

One sidenote I'd like to make in case the hotel reads this, the perfume scent in your lobby is BEYOND overwhelming, I got a headache within seconds of being in the lobby.

Room Tip: I found that the feather pillows became very thin and hard once laid on, I asked for a non-feathered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do have rooms which do not have a frosted window taht separates the bathroom & bedroom. Please do not hesitate to request those rooms on your future visit. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We visit Montreal often, and I usually go for the "Priceline" best deal. This time, we wanted something special for my husband's 50th birthday. We were also traveling with our 11 year old daughter. I booked the St. Sulpice directly, and felt it was a great value. The room was more like an apartment, but unlike the cheap suite hotels, this was very nice, including a Nespresso machine. The separate bedroom was a plus as we could watch TV after our daughter went to sleep on the comfortable fold out sofa. From the time we entered the lobby, we felt like we were someplace special. The people on staff were lovely, and paid attention to our particular needs. The parking, at $28 a day, was a fair deal, as it was "in and out", and the valet would have the car ready quickly. Even without a car, one can get around easily on the Metro. The location is charming with a number of great restaurants nearby. We did not take the breakfast package, as we were on the go and there are cafes nearby.

Room Tip: Some floors may be designated pet floors. We heard "yipping" early one morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and services provided by our team. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a romantic week-end at this little old Montreal's hotel. We had an gracious surprise with an upgrade (a fire place, two rooms and two complete bathrooms). Staff were very nice, discrete and always smiling. Check-in and check-out were a bliss and room service was nice. We loved it and will go back for sure!

Room Tip: Executive suite was beautiful! Very quiet too. And will be perfect for a little family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEveRomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and upgraded suite. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,541 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 166 in Montreal
1,127 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 166 in Montreal
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 166 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 166 in Montreal
1,792 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $156 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing