We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location , great service”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel from oct17-20 for a conference in Montreal. I will start by saying that this hotel is absolutely stunning a real gem in the heart of Old Montreal .
The room that I stayed in had a bedroom and large sitting area with a pull out sofa . We were two in the room so I took the sofa bed and to my surprise it was quite comfortable , all of the rooms I believe have this setup.

Also in the room was anespresso machine what a treat that was every morning , turn down service every night and fresh water left beside our beds .

Bathroom was very roomy and had all the amenities you would require. The large windows opened up wide and in ,y room we overlooked St Paul, it was wonderful to open the windows and listen to the busy sounds below.

Everything was very clean, my only criticism of the room was that the only mirror was in the bathroom which made it a bit challenging for two ladies getting ready , but everything was truly wonderful.

The downstairs staff was always friendly and helpful and the concierge Alain was extremely helpful with dinner suggestions and reservations and general questions. We had one drink in the downstairs bar which was ver nice but a bit pricey .

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a getaway

Room Tip: They do have some rooms with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 2,064 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

My college-age daughter and I stayed at the St. Sulpice for a weekend on our first trip to Montreal. It was very nice and in a great location, right next to the cathedral. The very nice concierge set us up with dinner reservations both nights on short notice and gave us other lunch/brunch ideas that were great, too. Duo D for dinner and Carte for brunch were outstanding. The room was very nice with a large bathroom and partitioned living/sleeping space on the top floor. Only two complaints: the TV movie sound skipped and when I noted it at check out the next day, the check-out person refused to make an adjustment, saying we should have called the 24 hour engineer (but it was very late and we were in bed and had already had him come up to show us how to access the movies as they system is not intuitive); and, the bottled water provided the first night by our bedsides was not replaced the next day, so we just drank the tap water. In any event, the St. Sulpice was very affordable and overall excellant.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frostedricekrispies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We apologize for the quality of the in-room movie and the missing water during your nightly turn-down service. This being said, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact me directly the next time you are in Montreal and it will be my pleasure to offer you a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and find it a very pleasant experience. On the one hand, the large, modern rooms with a separate bed area from the living space give are a good work and meeting set up. On the other hand, you are 5 minutes by foot from many excellent restaurants in Old Town, and the same distance from Chinatown if you are in the mood for a Peking duck or dim sum.
The personnel is young, but helpful and well trained. The bar is still trying to find its marks, but the redesign has made it more convivial. The addition of a summer terrace restaurant in the courtyard (I did not try it) seems a pleasant idea.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpsgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed several times at this hotel and have always enjoyed it very much. This last visit we were upgraded to a suite to our surprise. Our room had a balcony overlooking the terrace dining area. I love the way the hotel lobby smells. It's a smell that I have thought about many times since the last time I was there. When I walked in there it was. They do sell the room fragrance at the reception desk!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silkchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in regards to your recent stay with us. Your loyaly is important to us and we are happy to hear that once again, you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Some factors why I give this hotel a 5:

1. Nice design, it felt "new", recently renovated
2. Huge, spacious rooms - about 40+ sq. m. - which is rare, especially for central locations
3. Proximity to the main attractions, historical center, restaurants and bars
4. It is quiet, which for me is always a factor when choosing a hotel. Our windows were facing the front, but the street was not too busy.
5. Service is OK, cannot say much, as little was demanded

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including our renovations, room size, and Old Montreal location. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a GREAT hotel!!! We had a delay in getting to Montreal, due to our plane being delayed several hours. We were tired, hungry and been traveling all day, and up until that point it had not been the way you want a trip to start, especially your Anniversary trip! That is when I met Andre Guite! He was a dream to us...he upgraded our room to a lovely suite, made sure everything was taken care, from luggage to room service....and the next morning was there in the lobby to greet us with "Good Morning." He even directed us the next day to this little bistro that had the best Cuban sandwich I have ever eaten!

The room was very spotless, room service was prompt, staff was very friendly, and above all they made you feel like you were the only ones in hotel, and we are here for you!

Ideal location in old town and you can walk everywhere!

I truly can say...Book a room! We will be back next time we are in Montreal!

Thank you St. Sulpice for a lovely evening!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topsy2175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that your stay was memorable and the service received by our team was spot on. André will be particularly pleased to hear your kind words in his regards. Happy Anniversary and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our organization held our semi-annual meetings at the Saint-Sulpice and most guests stayed at the hotel. From the start of the planning process to the execution of the meetings and catering, everything went extremely smoothly. The event and catering coordinators were very helpful and always willing to accommodate our needs. The guests were extremely satisfied with the beautiful and large guest rooms. We would definitely hold another event at the Saint-Sulpice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in regards to your recent meeting. We are happy to hear that the planning process and execution from start to finish was seamless and met your expectations. We look forward to hosting any future events your company may have in the future.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $167 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing