We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous suite and hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fabulous suite and hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked this hotel at the very last minute through the HotelTonight mobile application, so it was a good deal to begin with. And instead of being treated like a third-grade citizen, on the contrary the lovely ladies at the reception told me I'd been upgraded to a one-bedroom suite! Just my luck: it's Valentine Day, I'm traveling solo on business, and I get this fabulous suite all to myself... Oh well ;-)

I had been here before for meetings an conferences but had never stayed, so it was nice to enjoy the amenities and indulge in the comfort of the suite. The hotel is just behind the Notre-Dame Basilica, in the heart of Old-Montreal, so it was convenient to walk around evening time, as well as for my following day meetings nearby.

I did not get to try the food and beverage here on this trip, as it was winter time, but I know there is a nice terrace in the summer time, so I look forward to booking here again as the heat is coming back in the beautiful province of Quebec!

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to one-bedroom suites, if there are any available. There are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredericg189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your February stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, staff service and upgraded room. We hope to see you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    458
    92
    45
    14
See reviews for
419
771
67
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our family stayed in a lovely one bedroom suite, which was immaculate and an ideal arrangement/set up. The suites are wonderfully comfortable. The location in the heart of Old Montreal is superb, and we easily walked to many other parts of the city. In addition, the staff at this hotel are so kind and polite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ta2009ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I wrote a review last June how wonderful stay I had at the hotel. Just got back from another visit to Montreal. The hotel became the home away from home. I really enjoy everything it has to offer, the clean and sizable room, the location, the professionalism of its staffs including the parking attendants, and the modern interior deco. I am grateful to Monsieur Alain Ethier, the manager at the concierge, who helped me every way with dinner accommodations, even making sure my 4 year old is welcome at those "fine dining" venues. This is one of the best hotel you can stay in Montreal if not the best. Stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tino2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your loyalty. Alain and my team will be happy to hear that they made your stay in Montreal memorable. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a romantic weekend escape at Le Saint-Sulpice. We could not have been more impressed with the facilities. The location was second to none - within a block of Notre Dame Basiclica. You could easily walk throughout Old Port and we enjoyed shopping on St. Catherine's street as well as down by the waterfront all within easy walking distance. The room was immaculate, spacious, extremely quiet and the bedding was top quality. It was modern mixed with old world charm with the interior stone walls - very cozy and upscale. The staff was wonderful. We arrived early and flew out well after check out and they readily held our bags and ordered our car service. They arranged for us to have a dvd in our room, and when we had an issue ordering an inroom movie, they offered us a free bottle of wine as a concession. It was absolutely relaxing - the lobby area had a fire place, a bar (which was small and discreet) and the music was lovely - we spent a few hours just sitting there enjoying the ambiance. If we are to return to Montreal, we would not consider staying anywhere else, this hotel was a real treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcde60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le St-Sulpice. We are so happy to hear that you & your husband enjoyed a memorable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our trip to Montreal was truly a comedy of errors. Our flight was cancelled and the next one was delayed, so by the time we got to the hotel it was after midnight. Arriving at the hotel exhausted, we checked in to our room and went to bed... only to be woken up at the crack of dawn because the room we were put in was directly over the service entrance and we could hear all of the deliveries and garbage collection in excruciating detail.

Fast forward to later that day, after a much needed nap, we were lounging on the couch when my partner noticed an ant crawling on me. Where there's one ant, there are always many. Calling down to the front desk, their first response was to ask me if I had tracked down the source of the ants, and if we'd be happy if they sent a maintenance person up. I'm not entirely certain what the maintenance person could have done to eliminate the ant problem, but after some pressing the front desk person offered us a new room - one that was larger and an 'upgrade' at no charge.

Arriving at our new room we discover a few things:

1) The door does not close properly - you have to shoulder it closed with some force and use the security latch to ensure it stays properly closed
2) The room may have been larger, but it was not an upgrade. While our original room had a fireplace, vanity and separate shower/bathtub, this room had none of those features.

Deciding to make the best of a bad situation, we decide to order some room service for lunch. It takes 4 phone calls and 3 trips to provide all of the items we had ordered.

At this point, I call down to speak to a manager and outline our experience so far. She comps our parking and gives a discount on the bottle of wine in our room. I request some additional pillows and she assures me that someone would bring them over right away. They never arrived.

Coming home from dinner, we find that turn-down service had been performed not just on our bed, but the Murphy bed AND the pull out couch in our room, despite the fact that there are just the two of us. We are now barely able to maneuver through the room and have to put everything away before we're able to sit down on the couch and move around the room.

The next morning upon checkout we re-iterated our experience to the concierge and he was gracious enough to comp us one of our nights (though I had booked through one of their promotions that gave the second night at 50%, so he really only comped 50% of a room night) and then charged our total to the card I had used to secure the reservation, despite me standing in front of him with my debit card out so that I could pay directly. I had to have him reverse the charges so that I could pay for the room.

All in all, there wasn't one big thing that ruined this trip, but a lot of small opportunities for the hotel staff to prove themselves as provider of stellar customer service, which they failed at each and every time.

Room Tip: If you are going to book here, make sure you do not end up in suite 303 - it is directly above the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorysa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property in regards to your recent stay. I followed up on all the issues during your stay with my team to ensure they did everything in their power to correct the issues in a timely fashion. At Le St-Sulpice, we pride ourselves on delivering optimal guest service. You can clearly confirm this from the numerous customer reviews on Tripadvisor. I apologize for not being able to offer the memorable stay you deserved. I can guarantee that such issues will not arise in the future and I hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will personally make the arrangements for you.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is in a great location... an idyllic neighborhood for strolling the cobblestone streets looking at old architecture, lots of great restaurants, and close to the metro. The room was clean and spacious with nice amenities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I wish the mattress had been firmer, but the linens were luxurious and the pillows were nice, so that helped make up for it a bit. Overall a very positive experience. It was recommended to us and I would pass the recommendation on to other folks as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebebluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Four people traveling to Montreal for the first time. We booked two rooms thru the hotel website and everyone had a positive experience at Saint Sulpice. The hotel is ideally situated in Old Montreal next door to Notre Dame (the MOST beautiful church interior we've ever seen). Lots of great restaurants and bars close by. The desk staff was extremely helpful (and charming) with recommendations and directions. The rooms are lovely and we liked being able to close the bedroom off from the living area...and the two TVs. The beds are wonderful with luxurious sheets. The only negative is that we girls thought the bathrooms needed better lighting for makeup. Other than lighting at the bathroom sink, the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swan325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le St-Sulpice. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing