We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Experience”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Relaxing Experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time. When we reserved our room, we wrote in the comments section that we'd prefer a room with a fireplace & balcony and they took note and gave us a room with both. The room was beautiful, service was wonderful, the room service food was delicious...no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that your stay was memorable and all your requests were met. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    466
    94
    45
    15
See reviews for
438
786
67
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very nice hotel and all the staff were very friendly and eager to help out when needed or had questions about sightseeing and restaurants. Room was very nice.

Only problem we had was that we had to call down everyday to have wood delivered for our fireplace and the heater in the room takes a while to heat up the room. Other than that this is a very nice place. Very centrally located in Old Montreal. Its a good idea to take the Montreal city tour the first day because it allows you to see how many things you are located within walking distance of so you can take full advantage of your time there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGholson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le St-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hardwick, Vermont
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were there the end of January and again in early February. We were upgraded the first stay and the second stay we were across the hall from friends at our request.

The upgrade was beautiful and very nicely furnished. The customer service from the Front desk, the Concierge and the Doorman/Valet was just excellent. On both visits each were splendid and helpful.

The restaurant (Sinclair) in the basement of the hotel is not worth a visit even for continental breakfast. The staff was rude and acted as if they did not care that we had our choice of dining establishments. There are many wonderful places to eat in Old Montreal - do your research here and go!

The rooms were neat and clean great baths and bath products. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japierpont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed both your stays and we thank you for your loyalty. We apologize for your experience in the restaurant and we have taken measures to ensure this does not reoccur in the future.
We look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was the place to be if you want to walk out the door and be in the middle of old Montreal. Plenty of great food and shops within walking distance. Also, among the cobblestones and old buildings in the area is the Basilica Notre-Dame, the city hall, justice center, and the Montreal barricks; all beautiful buildings. The interior of the hotel is beautiful as well as the rooms. The staff were very personable and helpful. The valet service was great and willing to bend over backwards in order to satisfy. My only complaint was that the hotel maybe didn't have enough valet on staff when I arrived. I had to circle the block and then park illegally to go inside to get a valet. They were working quickly and I think were just in need of an extra person to help all the people arriving to check-in. Overall, a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors get you farther from the noisy street and late night bar scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the delay with our valets upon arrival. It may occur from time to time if several guests arrive at the same moment. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Can't beat the location within Old Montreal. Helpful and friendly staff. Room was nice, but starting to show signs of age. Shower curtain was old and stained. Parking is expensive at $28/night with "in and out privileges", but it takes 15 minutes to get the car each time you want it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your staywith us. We are presently in the final phase of our renovations which will be completed in May 2013. We hope to see you back in order for you to experience our new look.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed at Le Saint Sulpice for two nights in February 2013. The hotel is located in a nice area of Old Montreal, just behind the Notre-Dame Basilica. There are lots of great restaurants nearby (see below for recommendations), and there are always events happening in the area, even during the cold winter months. There is also a lot of shopping, cafes, and gift stores along rue Saint Paul.

The front desk service was fast and efficient, and the hostess was very friendly. Our room was on the 3rd floor, facing rue Saint-Sulpice. The suite was clean and modern, and had a mini fridge, stove top and microwave. There was a Nespresso coffee machine (yum!), and 3 coffee pods were supplied each day (extras were $2.50 each).

The Murphy bed was very comfortable and neither of us had any complains about it being too hard or soft.

The bathroom was very nice and spacious with a shower and a separate two-person soaker tub.

The only thing we didn't love was the hotel restaurant. It has a French-Contemporary menu, which didn't appeal to either of us. But this was ok, as there were plenty of amazing restaurants in the area.

Breakfast:
Holder (rue McGill)

Lunch/snacks:
Olive & Gourmando (Saint-Paul)
Montreal Poutine

Dinner:
Stash Cafe (Saint-Paul)
Garde Manger (Saint François Xavier; reserve well in advance)
Mechant Beouf

Room Tip: Try to avoid facing the street (Saint-Sulpice), which can be a little loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property in regards to your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Perfect place to stay when visiting Montreal both for business and pleasure.
The one bedroom Suites were of good size, very comfortable and we had a fireplace.
Great location in old Montreal. We received a very warm and friendly welcome, services was great during our entire stay. Nice lobby and bar. Did not have a chance to try out the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le St-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing