We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, chic and home”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Le Saint Sulpice represents the best of both worlds--a surrounding history and a modern style. With suite-style rooms, the comforts are there; quality beds and linens, room to stretch out, well-appointed baths and an attentive and unobtrusive staff. The aspirations of a fine hotel are matched by the attitudes of the hosts. Concierge service offered excellent advice, the bar and wait staff never failed to inform as well as serve and the desk, even in the face of a record snow, made every effort to reassure the traveler that, come what may, there would be space if the storm brought you back to stay an extra night. Location beside the city's famous basilica in the heart of Montreal's historic district make the Saint Sulpice an excellent choice for business or pleasure. The appointments and staff will only drive its virtues home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harngtngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 2,064 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

It is always a pleasure staying at St. Sulpice. The concierge, reception and house keeping are all very attentive, polite and professional in their service. They are very pet friendly. The only improvement could be a better restaurant with more innovative food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently changed restaurant operators and our menus will be changed shortly. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and could not have asked for a better hotel. Everything was fantastic, from the room to the service to discount to the local spa.

We were immediately impressed with the hotel's location as we arrived on Christmas eve to see the notre dame cathedral(literally 1 minute walk) lit up and looking amazing.

Our room was immaculate. Quiet and clean. Lots of space as well.

The girls Serving at the buffet breakfast were great, and after only 2 days, one girl in particular remembered I liked peppermint tea and my mum liked green. A nice touch having them brought over inmediately.

I really could not find a fault, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
Generl Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I made reservations at Le Saint-Suplice for 2 rooms before the holiday. The Concierge was kind enough to email us a welcome. I replied and requested information - the availability of connecting rooms(we were meeting daughter and son in law for a pre holiday celebration) and a few other things. I sent the email 6 days prior to our arrival. I never heard a word back and cancelled the day before - only because I was leery of the service - if you cannot respond to a simple email how can we trust the overall service. I went elsewhere and had a wonderful time!!!! I travel quite often and this is the first time I have ever had a request for info never answered!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank nevermissBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I recently had a 2 night stay at the St. Sulpice Hotel in Montreal's Old Port / Vieux Port District and we just can't say enough about how fabulous this place is from the standpoint of location as well as comfort, luxury and impeccable service. Our room was a Deluxe Suite and compared to other top rated properties where we have stayed around the world, this was amongst the best. Tasteful design everywhere, no detail overlooked from the coffee machine to the bed linens, we enjoyed our stay so much that we changed our return trip itinerary so that we could stay here again a few nights later! All this at a very affordable price given some packages the hotel has available makes this a place you must stay for a most memorable Montreal Getaway one could hope for!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le St-Sulpice. We are so happy to hear that your stay was memorable and we look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend stay and our first trip to Montreal. We had one of the 'garden view' luxury one bedroom suites and it was fantastic for the three of us (two adults, one teenager). The room was very large with plenty of space in the living area. The sofa sleeper was in good condition and actually comfortable (which is rarely the case!) and the room was nicely clean. Kitchenette was functional, but we didn't make much use of it beyond the refrigerator and the coffee maker and tea pot. Being the middle of winter, the garden was not much to look at, but it does put you on the quiet (non-street) side of the hotel. We had no problem with noise and no troubles sleeping.

Minor issues with the room - walk-in shower could use better lighting. Also while the opaque glass wall that separates the bathroom from the bedroom is a nice architectural feature, it does mean that turning on the bathroom light also lights up the bedroom which can be annoying to the person still trying to sleep in the bedroom.

Staff was excellent! Very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and directions, getting taxi's, or extra blankets, and making reservations at the local SPA. Really very friendly.

If TripAdvisor would allow it, I would mark off 1/2 star for the local fitness center. While not actually part of the hotel property, the hotel does allow for their guests to have free access to a fitness center about 1 block away from the hotel. It is a little tricky to find, for one, and the locker room was not particularly clean. Good selection of free weights, but limited treadmills and poor elliptical machines. OK for a one-time workout, but I wouldn't like it for longer stay.

Location of the hotel is great - within an easy walk to most of old Montreal. Even on a cold December day (-3 - 0*C), it was fun to get out and there is much to see in the way of galleries and museums close to the motel and even more traditional 'mall' shopping is only a few kilometers walk.

Would love to see Montreal in the summer and the St. Sulpice would definitely get another visit from us whenever we next get back to Montreal.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view in the summer months; less important in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAGTripAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that less a few minor issues with our fitness option, you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Accomodations and staff were excellent. The only thing that needs improvement is the food. Portions are too small and the room that we had for our Christmas party could have been more inviting. Also, we found out the most rooms have a fireplace, we did not. We were on the second floor.

Room Tip: Rooms are great. I would suggest not being on the 2nd floor though as most other units had a firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear taht you enjoyed your stay with us. Please ask for a room with a fireplace on your next stay with us and it will be our pleasure to accomodate your request. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $167 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing