We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #13 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

A beautiful hotel in historic old Montreal. Surrounded by cobblestone streets and just blocks from the exquisite Notre Dame Cathedral on one side and the old port on the other, the location is ideal. We were 3 sisters (perhaps not the ideal travel companions?) in a suite with one bedroom and a living room with a very cool Murphy bed. We also had a small kitchen which we ignored so that we could dine outside in the beautiful courtyard. The food was wonderful and the evening, with a chilly (in July!) star-filled sky, was all that I could have hoped for. My two New York sisters thought the service was a bit slow, but I knew it was because we were being encouraged to dine, not just eat and run. We spent our days walking throughout the old city, boating down the river, exploring the famous cathedrals and the tiny churches and museums tucked away on ancient streets. Every day, either Alain or Ettiene, the two great concierges, gave us a warm sendoff, or great advice on where to go. In fact, everyone in Montreal was smiling with what seemed to be a real sense of joy. We were half way back to New York when Alain called to say we had left a suitcase behind, but with my new found joie de vivre, I took it all in stride, knowing that he would ensure its arrival at my home safe and sound. Shout out to Melene, who was so sweet and patient when I originally called time and time again to book, change and re-arrange our bookings (very tough travelling w/ sisters)!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, an added plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takeaboattakeatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment in regards to your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you & your sisters enjoyed your stay, location of the hotel and the service provided. Alain, Etienne, & Mylene will be very happy to hear that they made a difference during your stay. We look forward to seeing you bakc on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    463
    93
    45
    15
See reviews for
435
780
67
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great location, right behind the famous Notre-Dame cathedral. Service was excellent, our room as not ready on time so they offered us complementary parking.
Lobby was beautiful and cozy. I was disspointed in the room. For the price paid, I did expect more for our money. The bed was a pull out bed that is on a wall, and the mattress was very regular. Room was dark and style did not match the upscale idea of the hotel. Was a regular room, for the price paid. Bathroom was nice with nice amenities.
Expected more of the exposed brick or hardwood floors which I had in other hotels in the area for a lower price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you forntaking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please note that we have several different room choices including rooms with Queen & King size beds and stone walls. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at Le Saint-Sulpice this past weekend and had a wonderful time. We would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!! This was our 6th visit and as always, we were extremely happy staying there. Their professionalism is unparallelled and the staff is warm, welcoming and very helpful. We are already looking forward to a return visit in the fall to celebrate our anniversary :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falcogrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you have once again enjoyed your stay with us. Your loyaly is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you back in fall to celebrate your anniversary.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel right in the heart of old Montreal. You can walk just about anywhere and it is situated right behind the Notre Dame cathedral. We didn't drive, so I am not sure about the parking situation, although I did see valets. The staff were super friendly and helpful. I think there are about 100 rooms here and the prices can vary. My room was about $200 a night during the week but the price jumped significantly had we stayed through the weekend. The rooms were huge and had everything you could ever need (bedroom, living room, kitchenette, large bathroom, 3 closets, etc) for a long stay. And the greatest part about this hotel was my bed. Most comfortable thing I have ever slept in, by far. I would go back just for that alone. Great job St Sulpice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, location and comfort of our beds. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My family and 4 other couples stayed at the Saint-Sulpice from July 12th to the 16th. It was my second time staying there. We had a wonderful time. The rest of my group were extremely impressed with the hotel and thanked me several times for suggesting it. Everything about it is beautiful from the front door to the lobby to the courtyard restaurant and to the rooms. These rooms are by far the best equipped suites I've ever seen. They come with small kitchenettes including microwave, fridge, coffee maker, toaster, stove top and equipment like pots & pans, dishes and cutlery and real glass wine glasses and tumblers. Some of us made our breakfasts every morning in the room. Because I made the booking for everyone we were upgraded to an executive suite which was gorgeous and big enough to invite the whole gang for cocktails before going out for dinner. There was also a cute patio with a bistro table and chairs overlooking the courtyard restaurant. The only thing missing was music -- we were not able to find any music on the satellite and the alarm clock was an iphone dock only and we didn't have any music on our phone, so be sure to download music before going. The service was impeccable and all the staff were very helpful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethesun51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment in regards to your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you & your guest enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all back on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions. They do great package deals in the winter. The rooms are very nice, the location is excellent, the service is phenomenal, and the breakfast buffet at the "S" restaurant downstairs is awesome. The only problem is that Montreal is REALLY cold in the winter (and we live in Maine, so we're used to the cold), so be sure to dress extra-warm if you go in the winter.

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms and one-bedroom suites are quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this winter. We hope you will take advantage of staying with us to experience summer in Old Montreal one day. Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great location within walking distance to the old port. Right next door to the beautiful Notre Dame! Room was very nice,spacious and clean. Pull out couch mattress was not very comfortable though. Bathroom was nice as well. Lovely area to visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstevens11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our propertry. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and location of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing