We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Le Saint-Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Saint-Sulpice
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New Providence, New Jersey
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Really cute hotel, friendly front desk staff, great location in the heart of Vieux Montreal--but we were disappointed by one huge issue. Our first night, we were shown to a lovely large room with a fireplace. In bed that night, we were unhappily surprised by multiple insects in our bed! (Not bedbugs, but not really sure what they were!) Our call to the front desk brought someone immediately who agreed there was a problem & moved us to another room down the hall. After finally falling asleep that night, the rest of our stay was pleasant & uneventful. We were, however, disappointed that management didn't offer to compensate us in some way--a glass of wine at the bar perhaps, or breakfast? On the whole though, we had a good experience there & would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanOT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We apologize once again for the insect in your room. With the cold weather in Montreal at times they make their way in and we can assure you that this is a rare incident. Please call me directly on your next trip to Montreal and I will personally make your arrangements.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    466
    94
    45
    15
See reviews for
438
786
67
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had a lot of fun staying here in Montreal. We got a deal on SniqueAway, and the price for the size of the room was amazing. We were also in a great location, right in Old Montreal and just a few metro stops away from the Plateau where everything is hopping. There was great shopping nearby as well. We also got good service, and everyone spoke English, which was helpful for us. Wifi was free, which was great compared to hotels in US.

The only bad things were that the breakfast was not included in the morning (boo) and reception/valet messed up our cars, overcharging us for a car that wasn't ours (luckily we caught it) and making us wait for almost 45 minutes when we were ready to leave. The beds are also really small (might be a non-American thing, not sure). Other than that, it was wonderful

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cscott02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your most recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice Montreal. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although your room rate did not include breakfast, we do have packages with breakfast included in the rate. We also have rooms with king size beds should you require a larger bed on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I treated myself to some "me time" for my birthday. I got a deal from SniqueAway and it was well worth it! I got a suite with a closed bedroom (queen bed). The room was spacious and had a microwave, Nespresso maker, two-burner stove, fridge, toaster, kettle and dishes.
It was really like a small apartment - there was lots of closet space and I seriously could have just moved in. The living room area had a couch and flatscreen tv. They also offered free WiFi. Upon entering, there is a small table with a candle and I really liked that little touch. Most hotels don't let you light candles and having that made it feel more "homey." There was a lovely large bath and separate shower.
I did not like the fact the light from the bathroom comes streaming in through a window in the bedroom. Had I not been alone, I would have found it annoying every time my partner went to the bathroom if I were trying to sleep. Maybe they could put a curtain for us vampires?

I could be old-fashioned, but I would have liked a CD or DVD player in the living room.
Also, like another reviewer said, there was some mold in the shower and some hairs and stains on the towels, but I otherwise had no issues with cleanliness in the room. If I go again, I would probably go with my husband because it did have a romantic and cozy atmosphere, being in the Old Port and all. Hotel Nelligan is just across the street though, so if price/quality is important to you, do some research because their location is equally good.

Room Tip: You might not want to be street-side because of the noise (or pick a floor higher up). There is musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Can't say anything negative, arrived at midnight, the girl at the front desk was happy and ready to check me in. I received an upgrade, the room was huge! the bed was so comfortable I nearly did not want to leave to go sightseeing! Great Location, walking distance to many shops, restaurants and smack bang in the middle of the old town. They price is actually well worth it, and you can't say that about many places these days! If I am ever back in Montreal I now know where to go!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I rely heavily on reviews for visiting all over the world. This hotel was hands down one of the nicest and most beautiful places. It was a extremely spacious room, with a queen bed, couch, fire place, large fridge, stove and sink and a window that opened toward the street and a good size bathroom. Everyone that worked there was very helpful and nice and we felt very welcomed. The location is perfect and very central to a grocery store, liquor store, restaurants, etc. I would highly recommend this Hotel and really enjoyed our stay because of it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerMer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice Montreal. We are happy to hear that all your expectation were met during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Montreal.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario
Level Contributor
173 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Our last visit to Hotel Le Saint-Sulpice, in Old Montreal, was over three days (October 20-23, 2011) and, as with all our past stays since 2005, our anticipation was rewarded. This is our favourite (and only for the past years) place to stay in Montreal, with good reason!

We arrived at Saint-Sulpice during one of the most violent lightning and rain storms we've seen. As our Taxi arrived at the door, we were met by two, brave, gentlemen who whisked us into the lobby and retrieved our luggage...with big smiles and "Welcome"s.

Our suite was perfect. Everything was in order, as we expect. The only thing we needed to request was additional coffee packs as we do enjoy a few in the morning to get going. It was done, immediately. This is no surprise as we have, always, found each member of the staff to be service minded. As another example of this care, I am Lactose intolerant and the mere mention of this to Josie-Anne at the breakfast buffet was met with an offer to prepare a special breakfast for me. Not a moment's hesitation!

Given the weather that day, we asked the Concierge on duty (Etienne Bellemare) for a recommendation. I had a craving for Lamb and my wife, as ever, wanted seafood. Etienne directed us to Modavie, a place we had passed many time but did not look in. It was a perfect recommendation. In the past he had done the same for us several times. Continuity of staff has proven to be a bonus. Maxim at reception, there for us for years, is another proof of the hotel's desire to keep the best.


With thanks to General Manager, M. Di Re, we arrived to find our anniversary being marked by a very nice bottle of wine! Despite the rain, a perfect start to our renewing our love of Old Montreal.

We have travelled, and stayed, in a great number of hotels, inns and Bed and Breakfasts across North America, Australia and New Zealand, and most of Europe. All in all, we have had some very pleasant experiences, everywhere. Yet, a return to "our hotel" in Le Saint Sulpice is one we are always keen to enjoy: Pleasant, warm, friendly and like a second home. As retired folks who seek all of these things whenever possible, knowing that they will, always, be there for us at Saint Sulpice is a reward in itself.

Do entertain Le Saint-Sulpice if planning to visit the Old City ( and China Town just a short walk away!).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimsbybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that we continue to meet your expectations over the years. Your loyalty is important to us and on behalf of my entire team, I would like to Thank-You. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My family and I have stayed at the Saint-Sulpice at least 6 or 7 times, since 2003. We love the location. Right around the corner from the Notre Dame Cathedral, in Old Montreal, close to the subway, a short walk to the old port and to many fantastic restaurants. We always book a one bedroom apartment. It's perfect for a family. The breakfast buffet is good. The hotel is clean and modern. The staff is attentive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keena_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StSulpiceManagement, General Manager at Le Saint-Sulpice, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at Le Saint-Sulpice. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your loyalty over the years and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,
Vittorio Di Re
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Sulpice

Property: Le Saint-Sulpice
Address: 414 Saint-Sulpice, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Saint-Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Notre-Dame Basilica, Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal boasts a unique Old Montreal experience. Guests will be enticed by the unparalleled allure of this unique boutique hotel. The spacious and elegant suites overlook a lush courtyard garden or the cobblestone streets of Old Montreal. Enjoy the comforting warmth of the lobby or the refined cuisine of Sinclair - both complemented by attentive staff that make the most of every stay and celebrate a true 'Art de Vivre'. Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal features 108 inviting suites with a minimum of 47m2 (500 sq ft) of living space. Fully opening French-style windows overlook the courtyard or the historic streets of Old Montreal. All suites are newly furnished with a living room, work desk, additional sofa bed, equipped bar-type kitchen with Nespresso coffee machines, flat screen TV, comfortable feather duvets and pillows. Luxurious bathrooms include bathrobes with refined amenities by L'Occitane en Provence. After a day of sightseeing, guests are welcome to enjoy a cocktail in the garden (in season) or a delightful meal in the brand new Sinclair Restaurant. Located in the heart of the gardens, Sinclair Restaurant now welcomes diners in a marvellous glass space with window-doors that open onto the magnificent exterior terrace. Exclusive guest services including room service, in-room massage, free fitness centre access, turndown service, attentive 'Clefs d'Or' Concierge services, valet parking and many other amenities are also available (some at additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Saint-Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint-Sulpice Hotel Montreal
Le Saint Sulpice Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing