We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and a perfect location”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #30 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Montreal is such a great city and we visit it every year for the Jazz festival. This hotel has got a superb location- close to the downtown action but also right close to some of the best restaurants in the Vieux Port. Location aside, my wife and I love the chic and trendy feel of the hotel. One of our annual getaway spots.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

Hotel St-Paul is a rare gem. Our organization was used to traditional hotel chains in downtown areas, so the hotel's location, nestled discreetly in the heart of Old Montreal, was the first sign that this conference was going to be special. While the building's exterior says classic architecture, the interior is modern cool with a designer/rock-n-roll feel. The unique 'fire' & "ice" themed floor plans and "earth" & "sky" themed guest rooms have to be seen to be appreciated -- and they have to be seen! Featuring various combinations of canopies, hardwood floors, fur throws and soaker tubs, guest rooms were unlike any we had experienced recently. Cuisine at the upscale Vauvert restaurant was simply to-die-for. However, the biggest high-light of our 2-day/2-night event was the outsanding hotel staff. Personable and passionate about what they do, they made us feel like we were the most important guests in the world. How can you top that?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeKing14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed in St Pauls hotel recently and would probably never stay there again. The reception and service was great ! The internet is free and fast !
The layout and interior design of the hotel is too dark and uncomfortable. This is definitely not a hotel for families ! The furniture is too modern and uncomfortable. The bar downstairs is too loud and club-like. I couldnt find a lounge to relax in the evenings. We ended up in Sofitel for some drinks. Limited room service ! nothing after 1130 pm. Lastly, the hotel is on the outskirts of Old Montreal ( a bit too close for a cab but not close enough to walk) . I have stayed in Downtown Montreal before and would prefer to stay in Sofitel again !

That said , the service is really good ! wish the bed was comfortable !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Modern style, yet warm and inviting rooms. From the moment you arrive, the staff welcome you warmly and go above and beyond to make your stay an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieChristine54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

While I was new to MTL, my boyfriend is from nearby Ottawa, and has had plenty of experience in the city. We loved the facade of the building - gorgeous, and a great location in the old city. However, from check-in to check-out (we stayed 3 days), we had to drag our own luggage up the stairs and to our rooms, with passive staff standing and chatting each other up nearby. We stayed in their highest priced penthouse suite, which was nothing more than a few pieces of furniture in a smaller-than-worthwhile space and one large window. Decorated with faux fur and cheap paint, I was happy to be spending most of our time with my eyes closed in that room. Breakfast was unappealing and bland, and it was quite a disappointing experience in the hotel. The city was amazing - but I'd much rather a different standard of service for the price tag attached to the St. Paul.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhy04001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2010

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay.

While I am pleased to hear that you loved the building and our location, I am disappointed in the overall experience you received here with us. Our goal is to satisfy 100% of our hotel guests with genuine hospitality and the team that we’ve assembled at the St.Paul to provide that brand of service is very attentive, courteous and professional, but it seems that we were not on top of our game during your stay. As you can see from other reviews, we normally provide a much smoother experience, and for that reason, I sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Please contact me in the future, as we would love to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Best,

Peter
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Stand out service by a young team. Excellent location next to Old Montreal and within walking distance to central business district. The reason for selecting this hotel was its location and availability of two double beds in some rooms. The valet parking service for $22.00 per day was welcome.The modern decor is a bit stark and overpowering with its black walls and ceilings but the rooms are clean and well presented but not luxurious. The bar area and restaurant on the ground floor appear to be a favorite meeting place for young Montreal businessmen and women.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your St.Paul experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and hope you will be coming back soon.

Best,

Peter
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

An amazing experience from the moment someone opens the door for you, to the point of checking out. When you step into this hotel you can see it has a very elegant approach; a fireplace with a lounge, a contemporary bar/restaurant; even the smells are very inviting. The room make you want to move in and live there! Unbelievable bath-tub!!! The service is very welcoming and hospitable and it comes very natural, nothing forced or fake. The location is perfect and easily accessible; walk to all of the old Montreal boutique shops and restaurants.........simply amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 008films
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $173 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing