We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in of Old Montreal”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #30 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is very well located. Is 10 minutes walk to Jacques Cartier Square but having those 10 minutes distance makes the difference when you want to return to a quiet place to rest. The hotel is in an old building but is fully renovated inside. The rooms are spacious and nice, the style is very modern/eclectic, those styles with very dimmed lights and funky, it was different but we liked it. Around the hotel are many places to eat, around you'll find many restaurants and upscale places, not so many casual places though, have that into consideration. The room service menu is extremely limited so if you want to eat at your hotel, I recommend take-out or to purchase items in the convenience stores near Jacques Cartier Square on your way back to the hotel. The mini-bar is good and prices are reasonable (for a mini-bar standard).

Room Tip: I got the Expedia VIP Upgrade and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RICARIZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl L, Director of Sales at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear John H,

Thank you for taking this time to post your comments and feedback from your recent stay at the St Paul Hotel Montreal. We really appreciate all your kind words about our hotel and out staff.
Looking forward to your next stay with us
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

At $220 for a spacious and beautifully decorated room with nearly floor-to-ceiling windows, our one-night stay at the Hotel St. Paul was both a great deal and an enjoyable experience. It's an entirely modern hotel located in the former Canadian Express building on the edge of Old Montreal, and an easy walk to the sites in that part of town and to the cruise ship terminal and various attractions along the Promenade in the Vieux Port. The staff were friendly and helpful. The dark hallways that other reviewers have mentioned are apparently the result of a decision to have a "theatrical twilight" environment. Not sure what that is supposed to do but we didn't find it to be a huge problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ncmoose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl L, Director of Sales at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear NcMoose99,

Firstly, let me thank you for taking your personal time to share your comments regarding your stay at the St Paul Hotel Montreal, in June 2014.
We are truly glad to read that you had an enjoyable experience with us, that you took advantage of our location to walk around on the Promenade in the Vieux Port.
We will share your comments towards our friendly staff immediately.
Thank you very much and we welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again at our establishment.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I booked a room at the St-Paul for the jazz festival, on July 4 and 5, for a family of 4. I was very disappointed. First, it took the reception more than half an hour to reconcile the price I was guaranteed on my online reservation (done through their own website) and the price they wanted to charge me on arrival. All the while, the attitude was that I was in the wrong. Later, when the front desk gave me the wrong information on breakfast times so that we arrived a couple minutes before closing, the attitude remained that we were at fault. Time and time again there were blatant, careless mistakes made without anyone taking responsibility. At departure time, our car was left in front of the hotel, unlocked with our belongings (including passports) unsecured. That was very irritating. The hotel property was clean but the dark corridors and lighting gives the place an odd atmosphere. Considering the price of the rooms, the experience was below expectation.

On the good side, breakfast fare was good and the location was great.

Overall though, I would recommend looking at the other options, such as the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseeWitherow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl L, Director of Sales at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear JoseeWitherow,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our establishment. Feedback from our guests are extremely important and we take the time to investigate the events and put in place procedures with the head of the departments in order to rectify any mishaps or troubles. We are sorry if it took a long time to adjust your online reservation upon your check-in. Accept our sincere apologies if they made you feel you "were in the wrong". All the employees concerned during your stay at our establishment, have meet with their respective superior, important measure were taken to make sure nothing of this happen again.

We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, our prime location in Old Montreal, and also the cleanliness of our property.

Should the occasion arise for you to be in Montreal again, make sure to contact us, it would please us greatly to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and make certain you have a vey pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a nice hotel from the outside and the location is good, but its dark and rundown. The service and people were great though and the bathroom is nice and spacious. The hallways make you feel like you're in the redlight district and not very safe for a woman travelling alone. The room was run down with scuff marks on the walls and floors. While having a window that opens is great, you have to crawl up on the ledge to open it and the noise from the street on a friday and saturday night was excessive. For $300/ night we were expecting better.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank AznDos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl L, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear AznDos,

Firstly, let us thank you for taking this time to share your experience during your recent stay at our establishment. We truly appreciate that you enjoyed our spacious bathrooms, our team and the service were great. We are deeply sorry to read that the darkness of our hallways made you feel uncomfortable. The St Paul is a Design Hotel, part of an international association, Design Hotels Inc. and our hallways were definitely not made to make you feel unsafe. The city of Montreal is very active with different Festivals, Shows along with many bars and restaurants, keeping the city much alive and exciting during the day and also in the evening. Our maintenance and housekeeping department keeps keen eyes on scuffs marks on floor and walls, we are sincerely sorry those "touch-ups" were not properly done.

AznDos, it will be a pleasure having you again at the St Paul Hotel the next time you visit our beautiful city, do not hesitate to contact us directly,

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed for the first time at Hotel St.Paul. Couldn't ask for a better location if visiting Old Port. Also easy to accessing for driving in and out of Montreal. Valet staff were excellent, very friendly and pleasant to talk to. Overall good stay, would stay again in future.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank sd508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear sd508,

Thank you for your review! It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at St Paul Hotel, and that you took advantage of our ideal location to explore the beautiful city if Montreal! We hope you will be back soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had great expectations for this historic hotel in great location in an historic city. We were very disappointed. Overall, the room was the most uncomfortable I can remember, The deep tub and shower were slippery and difficult to access; the shallow, square sinks did not drain properly and spewed out water if turned on too much over the back which was 2 inches from the wall; we never got a paper, although promised one; the desk people were elusive, without humor, and no help; you needed a flashlight to navigate the elevator and hallways; everything in the room was behind doors so when they were opened, one had to climb over beds to move; the lighting was unfathomable. One day @ 6pm the room had not been cleaned. The design for this hotel was simply not user friendly. One bed was comfortable, the sofa bed was flea market material. All four bell boys we dealt with were fantastic. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Michael C,

Thank you for reporting the issues you encountered during your stay with us. We are so sorry to read you did not enjoy our hotel's design, and deeply apologize for the lack in service, which we assure you is clearly unusual. Would you be so kind to contact us at your earliest convenience frontdeskmanager@hotelspaul.com to provide us with more detailed information? We are eager to take the appropriate actions to correct these issues. Should you be in Montreal anytime in the future, please let us know and we would make sure you have a perfect experience this time.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A boutique hotel located at the gateway of Old Montreal and conveniently close to the Victoria Square metro station. The beautiful neo classic building is renovated in a luxurious chic style. The room overall was clean and well arranged with trendy modern furniture. The beds were comfortable and plus

The staff is professional and polite. Valet parking is available and the gym is adequately equipped (water and towels provided). The weather report is given with a chocolate for each time the room is cleaned daily. Overall, the stay was luxurious and enjoyable. What holds me back from giving a 5 star rating is that the WiFi connection though free, was poor (for those on a higher floor). Worst case, you can had to go to the lobby for devices that cannot connect via Ethernet.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Andrew H,

Thank you for sharing your thought about St Paul Hotel with Trip Advisor travellers! What a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in Montreal thanks to St Paul Hotel! Please note we are currently working on an internet network update so that the kind of issue you had with the WiFi does not reoccur. We hope you will be visiting us again soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,774 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $173 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing