We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chc, modern boutique hotel in a historic building”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #34 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A boutique hotel located at the gateway of Old Montreal and conveniently close to the Victoria Square metro station. The beautiful neo classic building is renovated in a luxurious chic style. The room overall was clean and well arranged with trendy modern furniture. The beds were comfortable and plus

The staff is professional and polite. Valet parking is available and the gym is adequately equipped (water and towels provided). The weather report is given with a chocolate for each time the room is cleaned daily. Overall, the stay was luxurious and enjoyable. What holds me back from giving a 5 star rating is that the WiFi connection though free, was poor (for those on a higher floor). Worst case, you can had to go to the lobby for devices that cannot connect via Ethernet.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Andrew H,

Thank you for sharing your thought about St Paul Hotel with Trip Advisor travellers! What a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in Montreal thanks to St Paul Hotel! Please note we are currently working on an internet network update so that the kind of issue you had with the WiFi does not reoccur. We hope you will be visiting us again soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St Paul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

The St. Paul once set the standard and created an entirely new category of hotel in Montreal - and perhaps the world over. This boutique hotel could have defined the category a decade ago - bringing modern design to a historic, heritage building in an (at the time) slightly run-down area of old Montreal. It's gleaming hardwood floors and square sinks, black elevators, and alabaster fireplace in the lobby were once the pinnacle of high design. While other hotels have come and gone in their trendyness, I always stayed at the St. Paul because it has stood the test of time. However, I was disappointed on most recent stay and there were some significant problems that can not be overlooked. Is definitely getting a bit tired, and scuffs on the walls and especially the floors even conjure the word grungy. We had a major catastrophe when the sprinkler system activated, causing a flood which damaged our luggage and other personal items. The hotel was more than accommodating and refunded the entire cost of our stay, and offered us a discount when we return -- but it will be hard to take them up on it unless they freshen up the place and repair some of the troubling building systems issues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Judd S,

First of all we would like to thank you for being a regular guest to the St Paul Hotel for all these years. We appreciate you took the time to give us your feedback about your last stay with us, and are truly sorry to read we do not meet your expectations anymore. However, we do have excellent news for you and all our guests! Big renovations are planned at the end of the year in order to update our spaces to current standards. Therefore, we kindly suggest you to subscribe to our newsletter to keep in touch with us and be notified at the end of the refurbishment! In the meantime, feel free to contact us for your upcoming stays in Montreal, we would be happy to determine the best accommodations options for you.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The St. Paul hotel is located near the Old Port section and close to Rue St Paul where there are dozens of shops and restaurants. It has a modernized interior using the façade of an older building on the site. We had a 2 room suite and the bathtub in the bathroom was huge. The room did have a mini-bar which we used as a frig and a safe. The halls are dark as they use low intensity red lights. They do have valet car parking which was somewhat expensive. We did not eat breakfasts in the hotel as it was expensive and found cheaper restaurants nearby. The only negative we had was that the Wi-Fi did not work on the 7th floor so we had to go down to the lobby for email several times a day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashattuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Ashattuck,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to read you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for expressing your negative points as well, as it is very important for us to meet our guests expectations and adjust our service accordingly. We took good note of all your remarks, and hope that you will be visiting us again soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Hotel St. Paul. We were able to quickly and easily venture to Notre Dame, Old Montreal, and the pier area by foot. The service was excellent, too; they helped us carry the stroller in and out of the building and provided extra breakfast berries for the baby. The room was outfitted with a crib before we arrived, and the blackout shades helped us all get good sleep. Beautiful big bathtub and nice dimming lights feature, too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katlk782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl L, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Katlk782,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor, regarding your recent stay at the St Paul Hotel, while visiting our beautiful city!

We are truly happy to read your review and that you enjoyed our establishment, our team and our service. Seeing our guest this happy, is truly motivational and is exactly what we want to achieve everyday with our guests!

Thank you again for taking this time, it will be a pleasure seeing you again at the St Paul Hotel.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Can't beat the location but when carpets in hallway and in our room was stained. When I wiped the bathroom floor after my son from his bath time splashes the white towel -it had wiped up black. Then I noticed hair around the corners of the bathroom. We had only been in the room for a few hours so it wasn't from us. To make matters worst I brought the blacken towel to the front desk and requested that our room get re-cleaned as we stepped out for dinner..... Well the corners of the room still had hair.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl L, Director of Sales at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Nathalie T.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor travelers following your recent stay at our establishment. We take all comments very seriously as they help us to achieve for excellence and memorable service to our guests.

Firstly, we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our property in Old Montreal.
Please know that we looked more precisely in your review and have met with the person responsible for these inconvenient. Our team leaders have taken proper measures to assure that this isolated event does not occur again.

We welcome you to contact the management team directly at the Hotel if you wish to discuss this further and also if you would consider visiting our establishment again the next time you will be in Montreal.

Thank you again for taking this time and share your comments on your stay.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I just spent 4 days in Montreal and stayed at this hotel. It's a great location. Easy to walk to lots of restaurants and the Old Port area. The room was spacious, updated, very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Mcenis,

Thank you for your kind words about St Paul Hotel! It is very important to us to receive feedback from our valued guests. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are considering us for any future stays. We look forward to your next visit!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

For a great character hotel in Old Montreal it has a really good value. I've stayed her 3 or 4 times on trips to Montreal and all the rooms I've had are quite large and all have free WiFi. It is walking distance to a lot of great restaurants and tourist shopping areas.

The only downside is the gym. It's honestly one of the worst gyms I've ever seen.

If you don't care about the gym then you should definitely stay at this hotel. I will keep coming back for sure. Hopefully the gym gets an upgrade soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,261 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,177 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,005 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $189 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing