We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #34 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great weekend”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Spent a two-night weekend at Hotel St Paul - boutique hotel, wonderful staff, good size rooms. Needs a bit of updating and better lighting in the hallways. Great location, walked everywhere. Would definitely stay again, good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    350
    148
    67
    29
See reviews for
137
474
56
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I just returned from a quick stay at the Hotel St. Paul at Montreal with my family. The hotel is an average hotel that tries to be hip and modern but needs some updating, more light and a bit of class. Located in the Old Montreal, the whole area seems to be under construction... Hard to find, lots of closed streets and detours. The facade was very promissing: lovely arquitecture and large windows. However, our expectations were soon to be too high for this place... The valet did not dare to go outside to help us with our luggage (too cold???). After, he did it as if he was doing us a favor... He did not even said hello or welcome or looked at us! Impressive! The girl at reception was, well, not properly dressed... Long gel nails, fake eyelashes... We wondered whether we had eneded! The hallway was dark... And darker were the rooms! I could hardly find anything in the closet (choco-brown). They gave us a key for the minibar (showing a lot of trust in their customers...). The room was tiny (ok, what we paid for...). The bathroom was huge, with a huge bathtub... The room had only one night table, one big (useless) desk and one tiny TV on the side... The bathroom did not have anywhere to put the towels (other than the floor). Interesting concept... The area is creepy at night. Nothing to do in the surroundings. Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNYNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear TravelerNYNy,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the St Paul Hotel with us. Guest feedback is crucial to us as it allow us to improve the quality of our service & accommodations.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Old Montreal. It is a lovely and vibrant neighborhood though, but maybe at this time of the year it can be less welcoming that during the summer period.

We are also sorry our service wasn’t to your satisfaction, as it is in our standards to provide every of our guest with an experience above expectation. Your review has been forwarded to the Director of Reception who will take the appropriate measures to make sure this kind of situation does not reoccur.

Should the occasion arise for you to be in Montreal again it would please us greatly to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and make certain you have a vey pleasant stay with us.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent last weekend in Montreal, the location of the St Paul hotel is just perfect, close of Victoria place: metro entrance and commercial center connexions, close to St Catherine: shopping street, close to Vieux Montreal and the St Laurent river. Employees are very kind and helpful, rooms was clean, very big and simply but elegantly and designed furnished and absolutely no noise we felt like being all alone in the hotel. Breakfast just perfect and delicious in a very clear and cosy lounge. the only negative point for me was not seeing the sky only a building despite we had a Deluxe suite at the 6th floor. If you can, select the 10th floor room 1011, I've been visiting it on departure and it has a nice view on the St Laurent.

Room Tip: room 1011 - corner suite - nice St Laurent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Smith C,

We at the St Paul Hotel would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your evaluation! It's nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us! The suite 1011 you visited is the 'Black Suite', our most beautiful accommodation!
Let us know next time you are in town, if available we would be pleased to allocate you on the penthouse floor, where all the rooms have amazing views over Old Montreal, Old Port, or Downtown.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very well located in old town Montreal, this hotel was extremely comfortable with all the amenities you need, such as wifi, in-room safe, and valet parking. The hall lighting and dark elevators however took some getting used to. The staff were very professional and friendly, with the exception of the person behind the bar. We will definitely stay here again though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank topat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Topat 16,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the St Paul Hotel! We are pleased to read you are planning to visit us again in the future. Feel free to contact us anytime to arrange your stay in Montreal!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here recently for one-night on business. We picked this one because the restaurant, Hambar, is a favorite in the city. Additionally, its location on the edge of the Vieux Montréal is convenient to many parts of the downtown core.

This hotel clearly was quite chic when it opened but appears to not have undergone any updating since then. Check-in was largely seamless with the exception of our valet who couldn't quite understand the concept of my dropping off the keys for the driver. This was aggravated by the lack of any curbside drop-off for the hotel, forcing one to park in the bike lane - fine on a cold day, probably not so during more pleasant weather when the ever so polite Montréal cyclists are out and about.

The elevator was very dark as was the corridor. Entering my room, the lights are activated by a key card, which is fine, but made more difficult by the 8+ light switches in the room. The weak bathroom lighting was made less than ideal by the light-eating grey tiles. While the small room was well-designed - cupboard storage eliminated the need for bureaus and the bedside stands were attached to the wall, a large "table" in the middle with a banquette didn't really serve any functional purpose other than forcing the TV into an awkward corner. It was clearly not set up for any kind of work. Additionally, while providing privacy, I could not get the blinds to level across the window.

Checkout was easy and straightforward.

Room Tip: Ask to face the street (McGill)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear DavidatTarget,

Thank you for choosing the St Paul for your recent stay in Montreal. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and we hope you had the time to discover the neighbourhood’s shops and activities. As for all the other points you mentioned, we are looking into each one of them with our team leaders. Thank you for taking the time to report to us your likes and dislikes of the hotel and to have shared your experience with us. Comments like yours are very important to us as they allow us to improve ourselves and service our guest better. Should the occasion arise for you to be in Montreal again it would please us greatly to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and make certain you have a very pleasant stay with us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I like to consider myself a bit of a hotel connoisseur and over the years, I've travelled to many cities and stayed in countelss hotels. That is why I can say, without a doubt, that Hotel St. Paul is the only place to stay when in Montreal. Touted as one of the first boutique/deisgn hotels in Canada, Hotel St. Paul exemplifies elegance and understated luxury with a keen eye for attention to detail. From the chic lobby to the beautifully-appointed guest rooms with all the modern comforts of home, Hotel St. Paul is a treat for the senses. And the location in the historic heart of Old Montreal, just minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown core, simply can't be beat. Once you check-in at Hotel St. Paul, there's a very good chance you'll never want to leave.

Room Tip: Select a Junior Suite and enjoy a separate living area where you can relax and entertain guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyTouristToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jumol,

Thank you for your kind review and for being such a loyal guest! See you soon in the Old Montreal!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was my first time staying at Hotel St. Paul and was pleased with the accommodations. The rooms were very clean and well situated with a large bathroom and very comfortable bed. Having the radio playing classic music when you arrive in the room was a nice touch. The work area could be improved by providing more electrical outlets. Luckily i didn't have to do much work while in the room. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful in arranging transportation for an early morning flight. The hallways and a elevators are a little dark for my taste, but otherwise the hotel overall has a nice presentation. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance so no need for a lot of taxis.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TampaChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear TampaChaz,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. What a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at the St Paul Hotel. We took good note of your judicious remark concerning the work area. We look forward to your next visit in Montreal

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,198 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,043 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,094 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing