We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel St. Paul: The Only Place To Stay In Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel St. Paul: The Only Place To Stay In Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I like to consider myself a bit of a hotel connoisseur and over the years, I've travelled to many cities and stayed in countelss hotels. That is why I can say, without a doubt, that Hotel St. Paul is the only place to stay when in Montreal. Touted as one of the first boutique/deisgn hotels in Canada, Hotel St. Paul exemplifies elegance and understated luxury with a keen eye for attention to detail. From the chic lobby to the beautifully-appointed guest rooms with all the modern comforts of home, Hotel St. Paul is a treat for the senses. And the location in the historic heart of Old Montreal, just minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown core, simply can't be beat. Once you check-in at Hotel St. Paul, there's a very good chance you'll never want to leave.

Room Tip: Select a Junior Suite and enjoy a separate living area where you can relax and entertain guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyTouristToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jumol,

Thank you for your kind review and for being such a loyal guest! See you soon in the Old Montreal!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    346
    144
    66
    28
See reviews for
134
469
54
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was my first time staying at Hotel St. Paul and was pleased with the accommodations. The rooms were very clean and well situated with a large bathroom and very comfortable bed. Having the radio playing classic music when you arrive in the room was a nice touch. The work area could be improved by providing more electrical outlets. Luckily i didn't have to do much work while in the room. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful in arranging transportation for an early morning flight. The hallways and a elevators are a little dark for my taste, but otherwise the hotel overall has a nice presentation. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance so no need for a lot of taxis.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TampaChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear TampaChaz,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. What a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at the St Paul Hotel. We took good note of your judicious remark concerning the work area. We look forward to your next visit in Montreal

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel was well situated in the old part of Montreal, in le "vieux Montréal". We walked everywhere we wanted to go. Lots of great restaurants minutes away. This part of Montréal has a very Paris vibe. The corridors and elevators are very dark, but the room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the seventh floor, looking right at the clock tower across the street…a diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear joyceOttawa,

Thank you fior your review, it's a pleasure to read your enjoyed your time in Montreal while staying at the St Paul Hotel! We look forward to your next visit!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I arrived at Hotel St. Paul in the evening and was dazzled by the lovely old world style facade of the building. The concierge welcomed us into the lobby where historic outside was is stark contrast with the modern interior. A long, sleek fireplace to the left of the front desk and chairs that had bits of cow(?) hide on the head rest area of each of the chairs. This is kind of a theme throughout. The room was simple and had a beautiful bay window looking out onto the street, but you really needed to keep the curtains closed, because it was freezing if you left them open! Maybe that's why they had the fur theme.. hide on the chairs in the lobby, faux fur throw on the bed, furry chaise lounge in the room.. ok. I didn't get the fur thing, but I went with it. Besides the window and the fur theme, it was your typical hotel room. But I would think twice if you're booking a room for business travel. There was a "desk" - which was a narrow glass table with a bench seat behind it. The bench seat was too low to comfortably do much work and there weren't any extra power outlets either. NOT built for someone who needs to put in a few hours of work between meetings/conferences.
But if you're just looking for a place to stay that's within walking distance of the cool shops and cobblestone streets of Old Montreal, then this would be a place to go!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear MissM1975,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a review about your experience at the St Paul Hotel. Your evaluation of our services and facilities is very important for us, it is only through guest's feedback that we are able to improve the quality of our various services and deliver standards up to our guest's expectations. Please rest assured we have reviewed your comments at management level.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We loved our visit at the Hotel St. Paul. From the greeters at the door to the front desk staff, everyone was kind and courteous. Our room was inviting and cozy - there was even classical music playing on the radio when we first arrived. The location was fabulous and so convenient. Overall, this was a wonderful stay and a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bonniebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Bonniebird,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. Your comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in Montreal!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel in an amazing central location in old Montreal but close to downtown. Loved the unique design of the rooms and my suite was extremely spacious. Very trendy but also warm. Service was very welcoming. I was on business but would also be great for vacation. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We hosted a group of sales representatives in MOntreal an dhad them stay at tthe Hotel St-Paul. We have hosted several meetings here and each person always has positive comments about their stay and the level of service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Harriet B,

We at the St Paul Hotel would like to thank you for rating us 5/5 on Trip Advisor! We are glad to have such a good collaboration with your company and truly enjoy taking care of your groups and events. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming your guests back soon,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing