We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location near old Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #35 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location near old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This boutique hotel is located just outside the old town of Montreal. Everything was within easy walking distance including a metro stop. The rooms are average size for a city hotel but the beds were some of the more comfortable hotel beds I have slept on. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only onsite parking is valet. The four out of five was for spotty wifi (we could only get reception in the lobby) and for a real lack of counter space in the bathroom. When traveling with 2 teenagers these things matter. If it was only my husband and I it probably would be a 5. We would stay here again if we venture to Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellicottcitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Ellicottcitytraveler,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor! We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at St Paul Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    343
    143
    66
    28
See reviews for
132
466
53
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Each and every time I visit this hotel, I enjoy it more. Fantastic location, wonderful service and a beautifully designed space. I frequent this hotel both for business and family travel and they never disappoint. Highly recommend it to anyone visiting Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Daniel,

Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about St Paul Hotel with Trip Advisor travelers! It's a true pleasure to read your comments. See you soon in Montreal!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I lived in Montreal in the past and for us it is always a pleasure to go back during the summer. I wanted to stay at the St-Paul for quite some time and I got my chance this year. We were planning to stay a couple of nights but ended up staying six. I love the elegant and trendy decor.
The hotel is located in the heart of everything or at short walking distance of our points of interest.
We will definitely go back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hustach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is well situated betwwen china town an old montreal
Rooms are well appointed but are not sound proof. We do not recommend this otl if sleeping in is what you are looking for.
We loved the old look of windows and modern decor. Staff are very courtious . We had received vouchers for cocktail at the 701 studio.. Loved the coctails and service.
We were a bit surprised tht there was no coffe machines in room for th price it cost to stay there.
We paid to have room service send coffee.

Room Tip: Corner room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zezettePlantagenetON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had a pleasant stay. All of the staff were courteous and helpful, they provided an excellent service. A very good breakfast is served every morning. Morevoer the location is right next to a subway station. I will recommend the Hotel St. Paul to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joelericsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Joelericsson,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the St Paul Hotel and for your nice words regarding our services, staff and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in Montreal in the closest future!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Ile-Perrot, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location at the eastern end of Old Montreal - close to all attractions within walking distance. Reception area and restaurant was very clean and attractive. Front desk was helpful and valet parking a great service ($26/night)! Our basic queen room was located on the 3rd floor. Very spacious, excellent bed and pillows you just melted into ~ the bathroom clean and spacious with an extra large and deep soaker tub. Our friend had the junior suite and it was very similar to our room but had the bedroom cutoff form the living room area which wasn't as comfortable looking as I thougth it would be...couch was stylish but wasn't really comfortable ~ Upon entering into the elevator you get it certainly was a little different as the elevator cabins are painted all black with a sconce of a reindeer as the only light inside..little gothic style and then on the floors the lights above the room doors was a red light to continue the theme...the rooms though are very white and simple - guess you can call it the new sparse white chic look ?!

All in all I would stay here again for the price and location !

Room Tip: 9th floor supposedly had a great view of the old port!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived in Montreal for a single night. We were excited to stay at such a great location right in Old Montreal. The service was perfectly fine but we knew something was off once we got in the elevator and made it to our floor. Dungeon is an understatement, our floor (5) was dark and gloomy. Our room was exceptionally small - I felt like I was in Paris. The décor was very plain and generally speaking the room was not clean enough for a 4-star hotel. Even with all this we quickly changed and headed into the town for a night out.

We visited Garde Manger for dinner which was fantastic. After a night out we headed back to the room were the real problems started. When we walked into the hotel around 12:30am we noticed that the hotel was home to some kind of club. The music was loud and the bass was pounding. Being tired we decided to skip it and head up to our room. Once we were ready for bed I realized that we could hear the bass and music!! Even on the 5th floor we could hear the bass pounding.. amazing. If we weren't staying for just one night I would have complained to the front-desk. I ended up falling asleep but then woke up at 3am when people starting going back to their rooms and began making noise. I could have sworn the walls were paper thin.

Anyway - rough sleep but great time in MTL

Room Tip: Use the 20-sandwich. I usually always do this but for some reason didn't this time. When you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topgear4383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Topgear 4383,

Thank you for your review. First of all we would like to highlight the fact that the design of our Hotel is very unique in Montréal and usually to the taste of our customer as you can see in the other reviews. We are the 1st Design hotel in Canada and the modern and minimalist interior is the signature of our establishment, promoted throughout our official Website and the other selling channel we are using.

We are very sorry to read that you were disturbed by the noise of the wedding the hotel was hosting this weekend. This situation is most unusual, and rest assured that the department head concerned has been informed in order to avoid such situation.

Thank you for your valuable comments which have been shared amongst the hotel Management Team for improvement.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#17 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: 355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway of Old Montreal, Hotel St-Paul is on McGill Street at the corner of St-Paul. Business and leisure guests will love the proximity to the Convention Center, World Trade Center, St-Catherine Street Shops, Old Montreal attractions, the Subway and all highways. A heritage building, beautifully restored, features a surprisingly modern and serene interior. The design awards are many but it is the comfort and highly personalized service that completes the experience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing