We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in Old Mtl”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #33 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location at the eastern end of Old Montreal - close to all attractions within walking distance. Reception area and restaurant was very clean and attractive. Front desk was helpful and valet parking a great service ($26/night)! Our basic queen room was located on the 3rd floor. Very spacious, excellent bed and pillows you just melted into ~ the bathroom clean and spacious with an extra large and deep soaker tub. Our friend had the junior suite and it was very similar to our room but had the bedroom cutoff form the living room area which wasn't as comfortable looking as I thougth it would be...couch was stylish but wasn't really comfortable ~ Upon entering into the elevator you get it certainly was a little different as the elevator cabins are painted all black with a sconce of a reindeer as the only light inside..little gothic style and then on the floors the lights above the room doors was a red light to continue the theme...the rooms though are very white and simple - guess you can call it the new sparse white chic look ?!

All in all I would stay here again for the price and location !

Room Tip: 9th floor supposedly had a great view of the old port!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St Paul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived in Montreal for a single night. We were excited to stay at such a great location right in Old Montreal. The service was perfectly fine but we knew something was off once we got in the elevator and made it to our floor. Dungeon is an understatement, our floor (5) was dark and gloomy. Our room was exceptionally small - I felt like I was in Paris. The décor was very plain and generally speaking the room was not clean enough for a 4-star hotel. Even with all this we quickly changed and headed into the town for a night out.

We visited Garde Manger for dinner which was fantastic. After a night out we headed back to the room were the real problems started. When we walked into the hotel around 12:30am we noticed that the hotel was home to some kind of club. The music was loud and the bass was pounding. Being tired we decided to skip it and head up to our room. Once we were ready for bed I realized that we could hear the bass and music!! Even on the 5th floor we could hear the bass pounding.. amazing. If we weren't staying for just one night I would have complained to the front-desk. I ended up falling asleep but then woke up at 3am when people starting going back to their rooms and began making noise. I could have sworn the walls were paper thin.

Anyway - rough sleep but great time in MTL

Room Tip: Use the 20-sandwich. I usually always do this but for some reason didn't this time. When you c...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topgear4383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Topgear 4383,

Thank you for your review. First of all we would like to highlight the fact that the design of our Hotel is very unique in Montréal and usually to the taste of our customer as you can see in the other reviews. We are the 1st Design hotel in Canada and the modern and minimalist interior is the signature of our establishment, promoted throughout our official Website and the other selling channel we are using.

We are very sorry to read that you were disturbed by the noise of the wedding the hotel was hosting this weekend. This situation is most unusual, and rest assured that the department head concerned has been informed in order to avoid such situation.

Thank you for your valuable comments which have been shared amongst the hotel Management Team for improvement.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

An excellent hotel with an incredible location: walking distance to the old part of Montreal but equally close to walk to the modern city and the underground part of town. In a word: close to the best of Montreal
Rooms very modern but stylie, although 4-star but with 5-star facilities and comfort.
Breakfast is very generous and although in the Americas, makes you feel to be in Europe.
The hotel has an excellent restaurant, with European touch and an excellent wine and licquor selection.
Finally, very friendly people to help you on arrival, concierge, front desk. And they can give you the best recommendations for excellent lunches or dinner in town.

Highly recommendable, for business but also family, couples and solo.

JOAQUIN GENTZSCH, Chile

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOAQUIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is our third year working with the Hotel St Paul. They are our VIP hotel for an International event that we run in Montreal each summer.
They take fantastic care of our attendees and work tirelessly with our staff to ensure that each guest is well taken care of. As an event organizer, they help make my life easier and when you're juggling many things at once, that's invaluable!
Their restaurant (Hambar) also has fantastic food and a great wine selection!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Rebacca,

Thank you for your nice review! It's always a pleasure to receive you and your guests every year at the St Paul Hotel. We are delighted to have such a great collaboration with you!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent the weekend at the St. Paul celebrating a 70th birthday and couldn't have asked for more... everybody at the hotel was very helpful- tips and advice on where to go, what to do, etc. The location of the hotel is ideal for anybody who has not been to Montreal as it's within walking distance of the old part of town. The breakfast buffet is good and simple- nothing complicated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgentzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Hera A,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with Trip Advisor travelers. We are glad to read you are entirely satisfied with St Paul Hotel for business or pleasure, and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This beautiful hotel is well located in the heart of the Old Port of Montreal and has incredibly comfortable rooms and suites to offer. I have had the pleasure of staying there myself and we have held business meetings there and the staff managed to surpass themselves everytime. It offers a European vibe and has a very good restaurant called the Hambar that offers good food for a good value. If you're looking for a place to stay, opt for the St Paul you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had the privilege of staying at the Hotel St-Paul during the Formula 1 weekend last June. Their price were highly competitive for this exciting weekend.

The hotel offers a clean and modern look.

The lobby is really cozy with a fireplace decorated with style.

Regarding the sleeping rooms, everything was great, even the little touches stand out, like incredibly soft blankets and Red Bull in the Mini Bar! We love having Red Bull in the Mini bar when we travel.

The staff was so friendly and made our clients and partners feels like star. I am telling you....i haven't received a great service like the St-Paul offered our group in a while.

The Hambar restaurant is also a great place to hang out. Their menu is exclusive and offers a great variety of options at all time. It's also a great place to hang out during Formula 1 weekend.

I would recommend hotel St-Paul to all visitors in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran62013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Bonjour Fran62013,

Thanks for your nice review! Rest assured that it's always a pleasure to have you and your groups at the Hotel!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,261 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,178 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,007 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,385 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $189 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing