We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fancy & well situated” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Canada
1 review
“Fancy & well situated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Won a gift certificate for 1 night at the St Paul, was blown away! Front desk staff was just adorable, complimentary chocolates were given (it was Valentines weekend) the suite was spacious and well-appointed. King size bed very comfortable, large bath tub, nice view. If you have a suite you automatically get the turndown service + amenities, making you feel like a VIP! Convenient location just steps from the metro and old port. Did not try the Hambar restaurant but I’ll return (heard that their charcuterie plate is amazing)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    330
    133
    64
    27
See reviews for
127
450
51
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Small enough hotel boutique, very well maintained, walking distance from Mtl best attractions.

Our group's feedbacks were positive & everyone enjoy their stay.

No matter how glamourous can an hotel look, I believe that the #1 asset will always be the staff; you got a perfect score there.

Also, big hotels don't usually have a restaurant where you can actually eat VERY well; this has also been very positive w. the Hambar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rudybegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear rudybegood,

Thank you so much for taking the time posting a review on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to read you were satisfied with our location, accommodation and staff!
Feel free to contact us for your next visit to Montreal! We would love to welcome you again soon!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is in a fabulous location.

We had a suite which was fabulous...but sadly looking into an office block across the street. The suite had everything you could want for a 5 night stay. Gowns, slippers etc an added luxury.

The staff were extremely helpful and so friendly...it helps if you attempt to speak french...even if it is atrocious!

The hotel is in the heart of old Montreal and very close to the river. Very close to some great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feedee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Little out of the way, but hotel is amazing. Superb design, great rooms and lunch menu worth a Michelin star for small bucks! Staff is communicative and nice. They are also member of designhotels.com
Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZGtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear ZGtomcat,

Thank you for sharing your experience at St Paul Hotel with Trip Advisor travellers. What a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and that you were particularly happy with our design and Hambar restaurant!

We loom forward to welcoming you again soon!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here a few times on business. Location is great for tourists as well. Close to Old Port etc. Rooms are also pretty nice size wise, large tubs and in general very livable. I would have like to see a decent gym with at least a few good machines , but their gym is an afterthought.

Service seemed to be good, but then again I hardly needed any service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear EugeneNY,

Thank you for posting your review about St Paul Hotel on Trip Advisor! We are glad to read you had a nice stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit in Montreal!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I couldn't find any charm inside this hotel. Nobody to get the door of help with the luggage. The elevator needed a good cleaning, the hallways are very dark with red light.( I guess it's a good way to keep the dirt from our sight). I felt trapped in the room: high ceiling with narrow naked white walls, no decor on the walls at all, black covers on the bad, curtains that don't open, the light bulbs in the bathroom seem to be 10 Volts. It was difficult for my husband to shave and for me to do my makeup, but I had a flashlight in my luggage. ( yes, it's that dimmed in there!) The bathtub is extra slippery, so I showered in sandals. The shower isn't the best either. The bed is very comfortable, but I couldn't feel good in this hotel so I left the next morning although we had reservation for 4 nights. I don't know why people speak so highly about this hotel, it looks like a property that is being neglected by however owns it. It has potential, though. I went to a cheaper hotel that was 5 times better than this one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Cris H,
Thank you for your review, it will allow us to improve the downfall of service you met, to our great disappointment.
The design of our Hotel is very unique in Montréal and usually to the taste of our customer as you can see in the other reviews. We are the 1st Design hotel in Canada and the modern and minimalist interior is the signature of our establishment. We do promote this interior architecture throughout our official Website and the other selling channel we are using.
The standards of our hotel have always been very high and our goal is to satisfy 100% of our hotel guests with genuine hospitality and the team that we’ve assembled. If you would like to reconsider a future stay at our hotel, please contact us.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We absolutely loved our 2 night romantic getaway to the St. Paul in old Montreal. The room was outstanding, the service terrific, the location superb. The deluxe continental breakfast was great. We could have sat by the open fireplace in the lobby all night....an absolute joy to come back to after a day exploring the streets of Montreal on a blistering cold day. Thanks to the wonderful staff who were present and extremely helpful. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe, king suite on the seventh floor! wowie! Also, please note that there is NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katakatakata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: 355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway of Old Montreal, Hotel St-Paul is on McGill Street at the corner of St-Paul. Business and leisure guests will love the proximity to the Convention Center, World Trade Center, St-Catherine Street Shops, Old Montreal attractions, the Subway and all highways. A heritage building, beautifully restored, features a surprisingly modern and serene interior. The design awards are many but it is the comfort and highly personalized service that completes the experience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing