We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very convenient location, decent hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #28 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very convenient location, decent hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here a few times on business. Location is great for tourists as well. Close to Old Port etc. Rooms are also pretty nice size wise, large tubs and in general very livable. I would have like to see a decent gym with at least a few good machines , but their gym is an afterthought.

Service seemed to be good, but then again I hardly needed any service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear EugeneNY,

Thank you for posting your review about St Paul Hotel on Trip Advisor! We are glad to read you had a nice stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit in Montreal!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    290
    115
    55
    21
See reviews for
95
408
45
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I couldn't find any charm inside this hotel. Nobody to get the door of help with the luggage. The elevator needed a good cleaning, the hallways are very dark with red light.( I guess it's a good way to keep the dirt from our sight). I felt trapped in the room: high ceiling with narrow naked white walls, no decor on the walls at all, black covers on the bad, curtains that don't open, the light bulbs in the bathroom seem to be 10 Volts. It was difficult for my husband to shave and for me to do my makeup, but I had a flashlight in my luggage. ( yes, it's that dimmed in there!) The bathtub is extra slippery, so I showered in sandals. The shower isn't the best either. The bed is very comfortable, but I couldn't feel good in this hotel so I left the next morning although we had reservation for 4 nights. I don't know why people speak so highly about this hotel, it looks like a property that is being neglected by however owns it. It has potential, though. I went to a cheaper hotel that was 5 times better than this one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Cris H,
Thank you for your review, it will allow us to improve the downfall of service you met, to our great disappointment.
The design of our Hotel is very unique in Montréal and usually to the taste of our customer as you can see in the other reviews. We are the 1st Design hotel in Canada and the modern and minimalist interior is the signature of our establishment. We do promote this interior architecture throughout our official Website and the other selling channel we are using.
The standards of our hotel have always been very high and our goal is to satisfy 100% of our hotel guests with genuine hospitality and the team that we’ve assembled. If you would like to reconsider a future stay at our hotel, please contact us.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We absolutely loved our 2 night romantic getaway to the St. Paul in old Montreal. The room was outstanding, the service terrific, the location superb. The deluxe continental breakfast was great. We could have sat by the open fireplace in the lobby all night....an absolute joy to come back to after a day exploring the streets of Montreal on a blistering cold day. Thanks to the wonderful staff who were present and extremely helpful. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe, king suite on the seventh floor! wowie! Also, please note that there is NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katakatakata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed Canada day long weekend 2012.
Room bland, needs cleaning
heater/radiator falling apart, many little repairs need to be done in the room, dusty
no turn down service

Breakfast included in visa perk was great, this is the only real plus for me
seating area by breakfast room was very comfy and well designed

3 star boutique hotel, filled out comment card and manager sent reply.
poor rating...wants to be a trendy boutique hotel but too many small details missed, no warmth, even from staff

Would not stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 301226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear 301226

Further to your comments for which we thank you, we were sorry to read your disappointment about your stay with us. We appreciate every guest comment given as we are constantly striving to improve the level of quality offered by the hotel.

Should you reconsider to come back in Montreal, feel free to contact us directly and we will arrange your stay in another room category.

We look forward to welcome you again jn Montreal

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Im from Montreal and Ive been to almost every hotels in town many times. Hotel St Paul is nice but I highly believe there are better choices for the same price.

PROS:
-Old Montreal (but you have to walk at least a good 5-10 minutes to get somewhere..)
-Rooms are modern and pretty
-Comfy bed
-Clean bathrooms
-Good service, polite people
-Minibar, coffee machine
-Free internet, fast speed
-Pets allowed
-Good restaurant downstairs (for lunch and dinner only)
-Near restaurant, old port, shopping, etc.
-Have a gym
-Valet service

CONS:
-If you get the normal-size room (which we had for 4 days), it's VERY simple and small. Simple sink, big bath/shower together
-Poor cold breakfast, few selection of choices. 15$/person.
-Was very dry in the room
-No water bottles are given in the room. You have to pay for them from the minibar. Fridg wasnt filled the following days which was a problem since we were very thirsty. (So buy water bottles in a store lol)
-No spa or swimming pool (i believe)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystelle005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Krystelle005,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with Trip Advisors Travellers. We appreciate every guest comment given as we are constantly striving to improve the level of quality offered by the hotel. Even if, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us, please, allow me to seize this opportunity to apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at the hotel to provide you with the level of service for which the St Paul is renowned.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Fabulous boutique style hotel in Old Montreal. The check in was easy and the service great. The building is absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast room was elegant. The junior suite was large with a separate seating area. The bed was uber comfortable. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks and great amenities. The views from our 9th floor suite kept me glued to the window practically the entire time! Fell asleep with the curtains open and woke up to the amazing view!!!

It was so cold, we did not want to leave the hotel so we ate downstairs at Hambar restaurant in the hotel, Good food, trendy and amazing service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiat5cento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff was welcoming, room comfy, and amenities just right. We wanted to be close to the old part of the city and also to the metro. We took the bus from the airport - an easy ride and then a short walk to the St Paul.

Room Tip: We had a room higher up to avoid street noise. We had the window open on the warm days, lovely city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4wwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear 4wwtravel,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so happy to read you had a nice stay with us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#12 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#15 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#5 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: 355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway of Old Montreal, Hotel St-Paul is on McGill Street at the corner of St-Paul. Business and leisure guests will love the proximity to the Convention Center, World Trade Center, St-Catherine Street Shops, Old Montreal attractions, the Subway and all highways. A heritage building, beautifully restored, features a surprisingly modern and serene interior. The design awards are many but it is the comfort and highly personalized service that completes the experience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing