We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St Paul
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$271
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$246
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$295
$245
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$289
$244
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$269
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$238
$226
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveler rating
677
400
174
75
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
400
174
75
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold montrealdark hallwaysdesign hotelbota botaturn down servicejunior suitevalet parkingbeautiful hotelmini barlocation is greatroom was spacioushigh ceilingsnotre damefew blocksyogurtelevatorboutique
Filter
Updating list...
815 - 820 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed Canada day long weekend 2012.
Room bland, needs cleaning
heater/radiator falling apart, many little repairs need to be done in the room, dusty
no turn down service

Breakfast included in visa perk was great, this is the only real plus for me
seating area by breakfast room was very comfy and well designed

3 star boutique hotel, filled out comment card and manager sent reply.
poor rating...wants to be a trendy boutique hotel but too many small details missed, no warmth, even from staff

Would not stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 301,226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear 301226

Further to your comments for which we thank you, we were sorry to read your disappointment about your stay with us. We appreciate every guest comment given as we are constantly striving to improve the level of quality offered by the hotel.

Should you reconsider to come back in Montreal, feel free to contact us directly and we will arrange your stay in another room category.

We look forward to welcome you again jn Montreal

Yours Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Im from Montreal and Ive been to almost every hotels in town many times. Hotel St Paul is nice but I highly believe there are better choices for the same price.

PROS:
-Old Montreal (but you have to walk at least a good 5-10 minutes to get somewhere..)
-Rooms are modern and pretty
-Comfy bed
-Clean bathrooms
-Good service, polite people
-Minibar, coffee machine
-Free internet, fast speed
-Pets allowed
-Good restaurant downstairs (for lunch and dinner only)
-Near restaurant, old port, shopping, etc.
-Have a gym
-Valet service

CONS:
-If you get the normal-size room (which we had for 4 days), it's VERY simple and small. Simple sink, big bath/shower together
-Poor cold breakfast, few selection of choices. 15$/person.
-Was very dry in the room
-No water bottles are given in the room. You have to pay for them from the minibar. Fridg wasnt filled the following days which was a problem since we were very thirsty. (So buy water bottles in a store lol)
-No spa or swimming pool (i believe)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystelle005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Krystelle005,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with Trip Advisors Travellers. We appreciate every guest comment given as we are constantly striving to improve the level of quality offered by the hotel. Even if, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us, please, allow me to seize this opportunity to apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at the hotel to provide you with the level of service for which the St Paul is renowned.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Fabulous boutique style hotel in Old Montreal. The check in was easy and the service great. The building is absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast room was elegant. The junior suite was large with a separate seating area. The bed was uber comfortable. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks and great amenities. The views from our 9th floor suite kept me glued to the window practically the entire time! Fell asleep with the curtains open and woke up to the amazing view!!!

It was so cold, we did not want to leave the hotel so we ate downstairs at Hambar restaurant in the hotel, Good food, trendy and amazing service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiat5cento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff was welcoming, room comfy, and amenities just right. We wanted to be close to the old part of the city and also to the metro. We took the bus from the airport - an easy ride and then a short walk to the St Paul.

Room Tip: We had a room higher up to avoid street noise. We had the window open on the warm days, lovely city views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4wwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear 4wwtravel,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so happy to read you had a nice stay with us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Selecting Hotel St.Paul for a quick one ngt stay get away to celebrate our anniversary was a delight, upon checking-in the staff was very friendly equally was the level of attention & care taken by the hotel to make our experience that much more special.

Many thanks Cindy for your added touches.

We started our night with drinks at the hotel bar/resto "Hambar" ~ serving us with an upbeat, positive attitude was Rosianne. Her advice and directions given for a night out on the town were fantastic.

Our room had a modern design, was clean and spacious with a great nightscape view of the city. The bathrooms we're elegant and extremely tidy. Beds were comfy!

Great location --- your in the vieux-port yet minutes from the Metro *Underground/Subway that opens the doors to the whole city experience.

Airport: Avoid Taxi cab from airport if you don't mind taking a direct line city bus called "747" it makes 9 stops across the city get off at the stop Union then approx. 10 min walk down to Hotel St.Paul. It's $8 for 1day $16 for 3day unlimited usage that includes your ride in on 747 bus, city bus and Metro (subway).

Looking forward to a return visit in summer 2013

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaughan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Vaughan K,
Thank you for sharing your experience at St Paul Hotel on Trip Advisor. Your kind comments will be forwarded to Cindy! It's a true pleasure to read that you enjoyed our hotel's design, location and staff, as well as the Hambar restaurant. Not to mention we were honoured that you chose us for your anniversary celebration!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews