We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but there is better!!!”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #33 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice but there is better!!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Im from Montreal and Ive been to almost every hotels in town many times. Hotel St Paul is nice but I highly believe there are better choices for the same price.

PROS:
-Old Montreal (but you have to walk at least a good 5-10 minutes to get somewhere..)
-Rooms are modern and pretty
-Comfy bed
-Clean bathrooms
-Good service, polite people
-Minibar, coffee machine
-Free internet, fast speed
-Pets allowed
-Good restaurant downstairs (for lunch and dinner only)
-Near restaurant, old port, shopping, etc.
-Have a gym
-Valet service

CONS:
-If you get the normal-size room (which we had for 4 days), it's VERY simple and small. Simple sink, big bath/shower together
-Poor cold breakfast, few selection of choices. 15$/person.
-Was very dry in the room
-No water bottles are given in the room. You have to pay for them from the minibar. Fridg wasnt filled the following days which was a problem since we were very thirsty. (So buy water bottles in a store lol)
-No spa or swimming pool (i believe)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystelle005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Krystelle005,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with Trip Advisors Travellers. We appreciate every guest comment given as we are constantly striving to improve the level of quality offered by the hotel. Even if, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us, please, allow me to seize this opportunity to apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at the hotel to provide you with the level of service for which the St Paul is renowned.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    357
    150
    68
    29
See reviews for
139
483
58
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Fabulous boutique style hotel in Old Montreal. The check in was easy and the service great. The building is absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast room was elegant. The junior suite was large with a separate seating area. The bed was uber comfortable. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks and great amenities. The views from our 9th floor suite kept me glued to the window practically the entire time! Fell asleep with the curtains open and woke up to the amazing view!!!

It was so cold, we did not want to leave the hotel so we ate downstairs at Hambar restaurant in the hotel, Good food, trendy and amazing service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiat5cento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff was welcoming, room comfy, and amenities just right. We wanted to be close to the old part of the city and also to the metro. We took the bus from the airport - an easy ride and then a short walk to the St Paul.

Room Tip: We had a room higher up to avoid street noise. We had the window open on the warm days, lovely city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4wwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear 4wwtravel,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so happy to read you had a nice stay with us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Selecting Hotel St.Paul for a quick one ngt stay get away to celebrate our anniversary was a delight, upon checking-in the staff was very friendly equally was the level of attention & care taken by the hotel to make our experience that much more special.

Many thanks Cindy for your added touches.

We started our night with drinks at the hotel bar/resto "Hambar" ~ serving us with an upbeat, positive attitude was Rosianne. Her advice and directions given for a night out on the town were fantastic.

Our room had a modern design, was clean and spacious with a great nightscape view of the city. The bathrooms we're elegant and extremely tidy. Beds were comfy!

Great location --- your in the vieux-port yet minutes from the Metro *Underground/Subway that opens the doors to the whole city experience.

Airport: Avoid Taxi cab from airport if you don't mind taking a direct line city bus called "747" it makes 9 stops across the city get off at the stop Union then approx. 10 min walk down to Hotel St.Paul. It's $8 for 1day $16 for 3day unlimited usage that includes your ride in on 747 bus, city bus and Metro (subway).

Looking forward to a return visit in summer 2013

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Vaughan K,
Thank you for sharing your experience at St Paul Hotel on Trip Advisor. Your kind comments will be forwarded to Cindy! It's a true pleasure to read that you enjoyed our hotel's design, location and staff, as well as the Hambar restaurant. Not to mention we were honoured that you chose us for your anniversary celebration!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My friends and i stayed at the Hotel St. Paul while in town to watch the UFC 154 card.

We checked in quite late (after 1:30 am) and checked out mid-morning the next day.

We found the night receptionist to be very professional and helpful.
The hotel room was cozy but met our needs
They had a beautiful fire place in the lobby.
Centrally located in old montreal.
The only thing i wasn't a fan of was how dark the hallways and corridors were.

Overall, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muskoka_cottager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear muskoka_cottager,
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you had a nice stay at Hotel St Paul. We guess you had a great time at the UFC!
We look forward to welcoming you again at St Paul Hotel!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel St. Paul for two nights. The service at check-in and check-out was very good. The room was not large, but big enough for two double beds, and the bathroom was very large, with a wonderful, huge soaker tub. The room itself was clean and modern, though a bit more attention to detail with the styling is in order (e.g., the flat-screen TV sits on a box-like table, with all the wires straggling down the side, and the TV is lower than the bed). If you don't like chain-hotels, but also don't like the B&B scene, this a great choice. The beds were very comfortable, and there were good black-out blinds on the windows to keep things dark in the morning.

There is a small restaurant in the hotel lobby that looked good, and the bar seemed lively on the nights that we were there. The location is good for walking around in Old Montreal, and is not far from the Metro. For those that need a latte to start their day, there is a large Java U coffee shop one short block away. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for anyone wanting to stay in Old Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soozieQzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear soozieQzie,

Thank you for your kind comments! We are so happy to read you had a nice stay with us and you are going to come back!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Took a weekend trip to Montreal with my girlfriend and wanted to impress by staying at a luxurious boutique hotel in old Montreal. Hotel St. Paul was recommended by a few friends as their experience was stellar.

I had booked for two nights in a Superior room about 3 weeks in advance. I was told that we could stay in a junior room the first night and the superior room the second. When we arrived we were told that the superior room would be ready at 7 am.....7am? Most checkouts are at 11-12 the next day. That tells me that we could've stayed in the same room 2 nights in a row....arggghhh.

Breakfast was included and was typical continental fare. We had asked to add other items (such as bacon) which we were happy to pay for but was not available. Canada? No bacon?

Other than that the hotel room was clean, staff were very pleasant and we had a great time on the trip.

Room Tip: Junior suite was way too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yewwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Yewwoon,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry our accommodation wasn’t to your satisfaction, as it is in our standards to provide every of our guest with an experience above expectation. Your review has been forwarded to the Director of Reception who will take the appropriate measures to make sure those downfall in the service are rectified.
I am also very pleased that you have been able to enjoy our wonderful city and the many attractions that occurs all year long.
If you would like to consider our establishment for another try, then do not hesistate to contact us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,216 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,115 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing