We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great boutique hotel in Old Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #36 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in Old Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Fabulous boutique style hotel in Old Montreal. The check in was easy and the service great. The building is absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast room was elegant. The junior suite was large with a separate seating area. The bed was uber comfortable. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks and great amenities. The views from our 9th floor suite kept me glued to the window practically the entire time! Fell asleep with the curtains open and woke up to the amazing view!!!

It was so cold, we did not want to leave the hotel so we ate downstairs at Hambar restaurant in the hotel, Good food, trendy and amazing service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiat5cento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    320
    128
    63
    28
See reviews for
123
442
50
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff was welcoming, room comfy, and amenities just right. We wanted to be close to the old part of the city and also to the metro. We took the bus from the airport - an easy ride and then a short walk to the St Paul.

Room Tip: We had a room higher up to avoid street noise. We had the window open on the warm days, lovely city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4wwtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear 4wwtravel,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so happy to read you had a nice stay with us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Selecting Hotel St.Paul for a quick one ngt stay get away to celebrate our anniversary was a delight, upon checking-in the staff was very friendly equally was the level of attention & care taken by the hotel to make our experience that much more special.

Many thanks Cindy for your added touches.

We started our night with drinks at the hotel bar/resto "Hambar" ~ serving us with an upbeat, positive attitude was Rosianne. Her advice and directions given for a night out on the town were fantastic.

Our room had a modern design, was clean and spacious with a great nightscape view of the city. The bathrooms we're elegant and extremely tidy. Beds were comfy!

Great location --- your in the vieux-port yet minutes from the Metro *Underground/Subway that opens the doors to the whole city experience.

Airport: Avoid Taxi cab from airport if you don't mind taking a direct line city bus called "747" it makes 9 stops across the city get off at the stop Union then approx. 10 min walk down to Hotel St.Paul. It's $8 for 1day $16 for 3day unlimited usage that includes your ride in on 747 bus, city bus and Metro (subway).

Looking forward to a return visit in summer 2013

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Vaughan K,
Thank you for sharing your experience at St Paul Hotel on Trip Advisor. Your kind comments will be forwarded to Cindy! It's a true pleasure to read that you enjoyed our hotel's design, location and staff, as well as the Hambar restaurant. Not to mention we were honoured that you chose us for your anniversary celebration!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My friends and i stayed at the Hotel St. Paul while in town to watch the UFC 154 card.

We checked in quite late (after 1:30 am) and checked out mid-morning the next day.

We found the night receptionist to be very professional and helpful.
The hotel room was cozy but met our needs
They had a beautiful fire place in the lobby.
Centrally located in old montreal.
The only thing i wasn't a fan of was how dark the hallways and corridors were.

Overall, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muskoka_cottager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear muskoka_cottager,
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you had a nice stay at Hotel St Paul. We guess you had a great time at the UFC!
We look forward to welcoming you again at St Paul Hotel!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel St. Paul for two nights. The service at check-in and check-out was very good. The room was not large, but big enough for two double beds, and the bathroom was very large, with a wonderful, huge soaker tub. The room itself was clean and modern, though a bit more attention to detail with the styling is in order (e.g., the flat-screen TV sits on a box-like table, with all the wires straggling down the side, and the TV is lower than the bed). If you don't like chain-hotels, but also don't like the B&B scene, this a great choice. The beds were very comfortable, and there were good black-out blinds on the windows to keep things dark in the morning.

There is a small restaurant in the hotel lobby that looked good, and the bar seemed lively on the nights that we were there. The location is good for walking around in Old Montreal, and is not far from the Metro. For those that need a latte to start their day, there is a large Java U coffee shop one short block away. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for anyone wanting to stay in Old Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soozieQzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear soozieQzie,

Thank you for your kind comments! We are so happy to read you had a nice stay with us and you are going to come back!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Took a weekend trip to Montreal with my girlfriend and wanted to impress by staying at a luxurious boutique hotel in old Montreal. Hotel St. Paul was recommended by a few friends as their experience was stellar.

I had booked for two nights in a Superior room about 3 weeks in advance. I was told that we could stay in a junior room the first night and the superior room the second. When we arrived we were told that the superior room would be ready at 7 am.....7am? Most checkouts are at 11-12 the next day. That tells me that we could've stayed in the same room 2 nights in a row....arggghhh.

Breakfast was included and was typical continental fare. We had asked to add other items (such as bacon) which we were happy to pay for but was not available. Canada? No bacon?

Other than that the hotel room was clean, staff were very pleasant and we had a great time on the trip.

Room Tip: Junior suite was way too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yewwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Yewwoon,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry our accommodation wasn’t to your satisfaction, as it is in our standards to provide every of our guest with an experience above expectation. Your review has been forwarded to the Director of Reception who will take the appropriate measures to make sure those downfall in the service are rectified.
I am also very pleased that you have been able to enjoy our wonderful city and the many attractions that occurs all year long.
If you would like to consider our establishment for another try, then do not hesistate to contact us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This boutique style hotel is located at the end of the old town (St. Paul Ouest) where the restaurants are. It is in walking distance from downtown (although there are hotels much closer to the business centre there). For evening dining, the location is excellent. Metro Square Victoria is nearby and there is a taxi stand next to the hotel. We had a junior-suite, which was very nice, large, with a separate lounge area and a desk. Good bath room. In-room safe and in-room free wifi. The decor is modern and "cool". Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. On the ground floor there is a nice restaurant (Hambar - see separate Tripadvisor entry with reviews). It is separately operated from the hotel, but you can charge to your room. They have a nice bar. It is very busy, with very friendly young staff. Hotel and restaurant fit well together. You need to reserve a table; otherwise you can dine at the bar. Two less positive observations (that cause the overall score to be 4 instead of 5): the fitness room in the basement is very small and fitted out with low tech old (consumer quality) Recor equipment. There is only one threadmill, bike and step machine and one weight machine. This does not really fit with the quality level of the hotel otherwise. The breakfast room on the second floor serves a continental breakfast buffet that in our view was not something special. Convenient if you are in a hurry, that is it. Hambar does brunch after 10h30 and in McGill there are various coffee bars (Le Cartet - to the left accross the street - is particularly good) where you can have a much better breakfast for less money as from 07 am.

Room Tip: Consider booking a room on the higher floors for a nice view over town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ML-NL-Amf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear ML-NL-Amf,

Thank you for your sharing your experience at St Paul Hotel with Trip Advisor travellers! We are happy to read you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed our location, decor, staff, restaurant!

We look forward to welcoming you again at St Paul Hotel!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#7 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,850 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: 355 McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway of Old Montreal, Hotel St-Paul is on McGill Street at the corner of St-Paul. Business and leisure guests will love the proximity to the Convention Center, World Trade Center, St-Catherine Street Shops, Old Montreal attractions, the Subway and all highways. A heritage building, beautifully restored, features a surprisingly modern and serene interior. The design awards are many but it is the comfort and highly personalized service that completes the experience for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing