We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #32 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I spent 4 nights in a superior room on the 7th floor and loved it. Walking in, you put your keycard in a switchbox on the wall and all the lights come on, including a lighted crystal rock in the bedroom the size of a small side table. I immediately heard the faint sounds of classical music and was bummed I could hear noise from another room until I realised it was from the small stereo sitting by the window.

There is a separate desk area between the bedroom and bathroom which gives a roomier feel. This was a central area for me to connect with free wi-fi and flip through the reading material of things to do and eat! In this same area is a wall of closet doors with a light that came on when opened. The right side of doors had lots of wood hangers, a built-in set of drawers that were low enough for me to hoist my rollerbag onto, and an iron and ironing board. On the left was the minibar fridge that luckily isn't sensored so you can use it for the cheeses and wine you bring back! However the area seemed a bit hot so you probably wouldn't want your wine to sit on top too long.

The bathroom had everything you could need. Robes hanging behind the door, toiletries and glasses under a clear box (while others make fun of it I like the idea of keeping these items protected from the elements!), lots of towels, and a fluffy bath mat rolled up under the sink (careful since it doesn't have any grip on the bottom), and a hair dryer. The bath/shower is substantial with an adjustable shower head.

The bedroom area has dark hardwood floor, lots of nice lighting, a chair and stereo by the window, full size mirror, and TV. The queen sized bed was very comfortable and don't recall any noise disturbing my sleep.

There is a restaurant called Hambar off the lobby which will also deliver to your room. The hotel is in Old Montreal, which is a nice area to walk around and to get away from the rest of the city. The ATM is a few blocks away near the closest Metro.

But the one thing which stood out the most? The staff. From the guys at the front door, the cheery housekeeping, to the helpfulness at the front desk, including the wonderful gentleman who arranged a seat at the bar for me at a hot restaurant which normally required reservations a month out. It was the most amazing meal and unfortunately I didn't see him again to thank him. Someone tell him I love him!

I recommend staying here.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamachi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Hamachi_9,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are honoured to hear that our staff was helpful and accommodating during your recent stay with us, and that the hotel met your expectations. We have relayed your compliments to the front desk, housekeeping and Hambar team.

Come see us again soon!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    361
    151
    69
    29
See reviews for
147
489
59
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great renovated period build boutique hotel with some nice touches!

Rooms are are not huge but have everything you need, comfy bed, good quality furniture and fixings. Very clean and good shower too!

Bar at corner of hotel is very cool and very busy if a little pricey, all in a great stay, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Little bit of corridor noise, pick a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having stayed at the Hotel St Paul when we got married 6 years ago, we were keen to return with our daughter on our recent trip to Montreal. We stayed for nine nights and were very happy! The hotel is very trendy in it's design and the room was spacious, clean and had very comfortable beds. The bathroom was large and had lovely amenities. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day and the nightly turn down service with chocolates was exactly what you would expect from a four star hotel.

Breakfast was lovely. Cold meats, cheeses, yoghurt, pastries and fresh fruit however one very small comment I would make is that the selection should probably be varied a bit as it was the same for all nine days we were there.

The location of the hotel is very good. Close to both the business district and the old town and about a 5 minute walk from the underground station.

What really makes this hotel special are the exceptional staff. The doormen are fantastic! Friendly and helpful and give you a lovely warm welcome every time you enter the hotel. The staff at breakfast are amazing and pay such attention to detail about your every request. Overall we were made to feel very welcome and special and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear GlobalgirlLondon,
What a pleasure to read you experienced the perfect stay at St Paul Hotel! Your kind coments will be forwarded to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in Montreal!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Hotel St. Paul. This hotel is over priced for what you get. Our room was small, the bed was not comfortable and no staff came to clean the room during our stay. The bathroom was not nice at all. We were promised coupons for their sweet deal package we purchased and never received the coupons. The hardwood was very dusty. The hallways are dimly lit. Breakfast is not included in the price. Overall the service was great. The location was perfect. With the amount we paid for our stay we expected something that was very clean and luxurious for the price we were paying and because of its rating with others on trip advisor. I think that if we decide to come back to Montreal we will most likely book with a different hotel that offers better amenities for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear M J,
Thank you for your review, it will allow us to improve the downfall of service you met, to our great dissappointment. We have forwarded your review to the different managers of every department involved with the issue you are mentioning to ensure that this sort of guest experience does not reoccur. The standards of our hotel have always been very high and our goal is to satisfy 100% of our hotel guests with genuine hospitality and the team that we’ve assembled at the St.Paul to provide that brand of service is very attentive, courteous and professional. If you would like to reconsider a future stay at our hotel, please contact us directly, we would be happy to arrange your stay with the perfect attention & care you deserve.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

It's a great location in the Old City and the room is very comfortable. My only complaint, and that of my friends in adjacent rooms, was the extra charge for Wi-Fi. Given the cost of the room, we all thought it should be included gratis. The front desk staff initially seemed unable to address the complaint and suggested I email the hotel manager to express my concerns. I did so upon my return, but never heard back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCWGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear NYCWGV
Thank you for sharing your experience at St Paul Hotel on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled to read that you had a nice stay with us. Improving our service has always been very important to us and we are happy to announce that since August 22nd, wifi is complimentary at the Hotel!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel won 2012 award of traveler's choice on trip advisor. In one word I think NOT. Hotel is over priced for what you get. Rooms are small, beds are extremely small and not very comfortable. The hotel is nicely located but not that central. The service was excellent! Staff are friendly and helpful. The room was very clean when we arrived but was cleaned poorly the days after. The bathroom is very nice and spacious but there is only bathtub with shower head (no shower hose- we were traveling with our baby so not very comfortable to wash her).
I was very disappointed because I was expecting fancy and luxury for the price I was paying and because of it's rating. The rooms are simple and minimal. Only a coffee making possibility in room, no tea option.
The first room we got was not nice, I asked to be changed and got a better room, but again not worth the price.
I am sorry but next time I'm in Montreal I will book a different hotel that offers better amenities for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear E1978,
We are sorry to read our service and accommodation did not meet your expectations. Your comments are important to us - they allow us to review our operations constantly. Please note your review has been forwarded to the departments involved.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Hotel St. Paul has continually demonstrated outstanding customer service - which is why I always stay there. This morning I checked out of the hotel and left my iPad in the room. I was unable to return to the hotel to retrieve it. The people at the hotel went above and beyond in delivering it to my business associate who was in a meeting downtown within 30 minutes to ensure it would make it on the flight for my return.

I highly recommend this hotel - due to it's location, rooms and most of all, it's wonderful people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Pat J,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We at St Paul Hotel are always happy when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,236 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,061 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing