We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #131 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Saint-Constant, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Warm welcome, staff very helpful, we even had a free upgrade in a new renovated room, great way to begin a stay.
The room was nice and clean we had a good night of sleep.
Continental breakfast was offered in the morning, bagels croissants, fruits,cereals,coffea and juice etc...

Room Tip: The new renovated rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    51
    66
    37
    89
See reviews for
44
75
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you go to Montreal for sight-seeing then this hotel will do since you won't be staying inside the entire time. It is clean and about a 15 min walk to the downtown area. The location is kinda sketchy, I just didn't like the graffitis and not so clean surrounding area. For the price, I'd say it is reasonable. There is a continental breakfast, free wifi and staff were nice. Room was ok, we stayed in a King bed room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twisted_10 L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is not the easiest to find as there are a lot of one way streets and it is on an incline. However once we found it the staff were welcoming and helpful. There is a lift and although the room was small, it was clean and tidy with a comfortable large bed and clean bathroom with white fluffly towels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hersha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

On September 3rd my mother and I booked this hotel the day of our stay because there was a deal for $40 (room chosen when you check in). We were thrilled with our room, it had a king bed and a jacuzzi. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the washroom was good, there was a/c. The only problem is when I woke up I noticed some bites up and down my forearms. I've had experiences with bed bug bites before and I am very reactive to them (they start to show up within 24hrs or less). My mother checked herself but there were no raised bumps to indicate a bite for sure, but we did see a couple reddish areas on her hands that were suspicious (bites can show up days later). She also said she woke up during the night and felt a bug on her neck, which she crushed but we couldn't find it in the morning (there did appear to be a small smear of blood on the sheets though).

We showed the manager and he told us it just looked like hives to him, that there should be a dot with blood in the centre. Well I've never had hives in my life and I have no allergies. I've had bed bug bites before, I know what they look like on my body. We're not ones to complain or make a scene so we just had breakfast and left (the included breakfast is ok, toast, chocolate croissants, cereal, juice, coffee, tea).

Once the redness and inflammation went down a couple days later I was able to count them all. I ended up with about 75 bites. The majority were on my arms and hands, I had a few on my back, hip and legs and one on my chin. The next week was a nightmare I was so itchy and then I had to wear long sleeves to hide the embarrassment. My mother only had a few (I guess they liked me better) but hers turned into painful blood red blisters (maybe due to her diabetes).

This was the only hotel we stayed in, they didn't come from somewhere else. I don't remember the room number but it was on the main floor at the end of the hall to the left. Multiple bites come from one bug as they move in a line, but clearly there was still a lot of them and it's not a new infestation. When I booked there was only one review about bed bugs, now I see there is a bunch and one mentions the front desk told her they treated for them before. It just proves that manager knew all along they had a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceevee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

we stayed in the hotel between 9th and 12th September 2013. we had a very warm reception at the front desk and check-in was very quick. The location is excellent and the room and the bath were very clean. the room was on the fourth floor but there is an elevator. The accessories in the room were minimal but sufficient. the air-conditioning was not upto the mark with deficiency in cooling. however, since we were out most times, this was not felt to be a great handicap. storage space in the room is minimal. there was coffee and tea through out the day. breakfast was adequate. the housekeeping was efficient with daily change of towels etc. the best part was that breakfast could be carried to the room(trays were provided) and can be had at leisure. if one is looking for five or four star comfort, this is not the place. the price was very low -so one has to put up with paper cups and plates-but the location and warmth more than compensate for this.

Room Tip: select a room on the higher floors, if an option is given. less noisy and slightly more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhanuraman2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The service was not great, and more importantly, when it was time to go to sleep, 2 spiders crawled out of my bed and I found 3 more around the room. There were spiderwebs all around the room and the individual on service could not move me to a new room. The walls were splattered and not clean. I did not sleep well and did not find the hotel clean at all. I could not wait to get out the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to Montreal for a getaway after our wedding. We got a good deal from hotels.com for 74/night. Do not stay on the 4th floor which we did room 416. That floor has been treated multiple times for bed bugs as per the front desk clerk at the time. We were up till 6 am on the first day waiting for another room. The manager was supposed to meet with us later on that day but didn't show up. Do yourself a favor and don't stay here even though the price is appealing. Their idea of a continental breakfast is cereal, orange juice, coffee, no tea and toast only and bananas. There is nothing nice about this place except a price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ayanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#113 of 165 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#60 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#89 of 165 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#102 of 165 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#112 of 165 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis
Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis
#114 of 165 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 2060 rue St-Dominique, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2X1, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Montreal
Econolodge Hotel Montreal
Econo Lodge Downtown Montreal
Econo Lodge Montreal
Econolodge Montreal
Montreal Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing