We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel but centrally and clean”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #127 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple hotel but centrally and clean”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel des Arts is not only close to Chinatown but also in walking distance to all other major spots in Montreal and therefore a reasonable location as base for sightseeing. Even a nice complimentary breakfast is offered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snowy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    60
    81
    41
    104
See reviews for
56
91
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
821 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The first site of the hotel from the outside can be a little deceiving as it is in a back street and the part facing the main street is covered in grafitti, but once inside I found the room great, clean with all amenities working well. Buffet breakfast is included in the excellent rate, and once you have parked your car opposite in an independant car park (20$ per day) every where else downtown is within walking distance (never used my car in 2 days). A trip to the Cathedral Notre Dame is a must and so many great restaurants in the city also

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and homey there is no parking The parking was close though it was $20.00 a day The location is right near a major metro not bad at all my husband's room key never worked and 4 times we went to the front desk to have it fixed and 4 times there was NO ONE at the desk but one very important caveat I have is that the manager toni told us about free breakfast what breakfast bread was old coffee not hot at all juice machine not working nothing fresh we advice the manger toni but she was very rude not helpful at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

we stayed at econolodge for one night. we were 12 personnes.We rented 3 standard rooms and the 3 rooms were dirty. Dead flies and hair on the sheets, .lots of hair on the batheroom floor and the paint on the wall is peeling off! i'm not kiding! They leave all windows open so....welcome bugs!! we saw some spiders too....We were there for work ans were realy desapointed. please don't stay there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zazded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed here last week. It is close to the main transit station which was very convenient. But the location is bad. Upon walking up the hill(yes, its a steep hill) to the hotel there was a lot of glass on the sidewalk; glass from broken bottles, and glass from broken car windows. On the day we left, low and behold, the car directly outside out window had its window smashed in. And the car owners were staying at the Econolodge as well. The staff was friendly, and the room was clean.
I don't really have anything negative to say about the hotel. We arrived in Montreal at about 7:00 and they allowed us to leave our baggage there until we were able to check in(at 1:00). We appreciated this, as carrying our luggage for six hours would have been such a pain.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel, based on the location. It was affordable, but for $5 more you can stay somewhere safer, and at a more convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KyleSmither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

bed is very small (double), there was cow webs in the room (I am scared of spiders), stains on the carpet, DO bring your slippers because you DONT want to walk barefoot on that carpet! The carpet is very uneven (waves) and we almost tripped several times, one lamp wasnt working, holes in the bed spread and towels, chair with the desk was very wobbly I was scared to sit on it (it looked like one of our kitchen table chair but very old) , having a desk was very important to me because I had some studying to do, We found an item on the floor (was scared it was a needle) but finnally if was a small cylinder empty bottle of perfume sample, I wouldnt recommend this hotel to a woman travelling solo, area of city seemed not too safe to walk in., not a well light area. The bathroom was clean though, but shower made a funny noise. We ended up paying a lot fo this room, DO shop a lot or spend a little more and get a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was OK, simple but good not having to get out to go to a restaurant. Seemed to be a lot of students staying there (a lot of guests per room). It was not a romantic night for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackvelvet4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

It was my first time visiting an econ o lodge and it was a great experience and one to be visited again . Felt like a 5 star resort and someone really took the time to make you feel wanted there no hidden message or mistakes in all the people coming and going. I was very impress with the front staff and would recommend this to anyone who wants a great quality motel

Room Tip: Anyone going to visit Quebec should stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnes j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#107 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#102 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#80 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#116 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 2060 rue St-Dominique, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2X1, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Montreal
Econolodge Hotel Montreal
Econo Lodge Downtown Montreal
Econo Lodge Montreal
Econolodge Montreal
Montreal Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing