We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak Frites more than a Chain”
Review of Steak Frites

Steak Frites
Ranked #2,462 of 5,706 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Steak Frites more than a Chain”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Everywhere you eat in Montreal is wonderful - no matter if fancy or plain. Steak Frites in the old city is upscale in an old building and right in the middle of things. We had terrific almost gourmet food and reasonably priced wine with terrific service. A pleasant lunch that is memorable - nothing to criticize in this great bistro. They are around the city if you miss the one in the old part of town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    32
    14
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best steak and chips in Downtown Montreal”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This restaurant is right on St Catherine Street and near to Baudry Metro Station. It is a very busy place and a reservation is needed if you require a specific day and time. There is a large outdoor terrace at the front of the restaurant and I agree with another commentator who says it can be noisy but what else can you expect if you choose a popular restaurant slap bang in the middle of the busiest party street in the center of the city??
Prices are reasonable and the steaks are good and there is an 'endless' supply of tasty home fries throughout your meal. Drinks were a little pricey. The staff were friendly and very attentive. I would definitely recommend this place for a casual dinner when in downtown Montreal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hhardinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best steak frites I've ever had”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My daughter and I both loved the juicy, tender steak here. Cool atmosphere right near the river. Only drawback is BYOB.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank achates7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If lots of noise and party atmosphere is your desire, this is the place for you. If you want great food, avoid this place. I ordered the 7oz. steak which had very little flavor. The fries were hot and all you can eat but if you're paying for steak who cares about fries? There were 8 in our party and none of the plates were well presented. House salad consisted of butter leaf lettuce, dressing- no garnish, no nothing. Escargot was bland, salmon tartare passable but again, no presentation, no garnish.
Only the bread was good. Very good. All else was forgettable. I'd never go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good night out”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great idea, we supply the food, you supply the booze. Some local friends suggested this place for a dinner out with work colleagues. We sat at a large table upstairs ( 10 of us). Wait staff were attentive, food was reasonably priced, flavourful and tender. Selection of starters, tapas, and mains - most of which were obviously steak in one form or another. We had a great evening, and the fact we got to bring our own wine obviously makes it more than a reasonable night out. Would go again for sure

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steak Frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing