We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stop Here!”
Review of Poutineville

Poutineville
Ranked #179 of 6,067 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Deli, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Description: Welcome to Poutineville! Come and create your own Poutine from a list of fantastic and fresh ingredients or choose from our chef's specialties.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There are simple iconic dishes round the world and eventually enhanced versions appear. Quebec has poutin, Montreal has Poutanville, and we could not visit without giving it a try. Fries, curds and gravy are transformed into do-it-yourself delights with several potato choices and lots of extra toppings allowing scores of combinations. There are also several pre-suggested dishes that all look good. I thought that for my first visit, their cook would know best & I selected the "Montrealer", with crushed potatoes, mozzarella, famous Montreal Smoked Meat, all topped with a deep-fried pickle. Good choice, and our friends who had suggested this place were also pleased with their respective dinners. This is not cheap fast food, so do not expect McDonald's prices, but the value is reasonable. It is a popular restaurant, so there can be a wait... we savored the atmosphere a bit too long and had to be gently reminded that there was a line of folks outside that would also like to enjoy a table. Give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poutineville S, Public Relations Manager at Poutineville, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hi Richard,

We're glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us. The Montrealer poutine encapsulates everything awesome about montreal, poutine and smoked meat! Thanks for your understanding, the restaurant does get busy sometimes but we make sure everyone is taken care of. Again, thanks for stopping by and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Montreal! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 113 of 279 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent poutine... Lovely service. Nice atmosphere. But very expensive. I don't think the price is justified at all. I would have rated it 5/5 if is was just a little less expansive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poutineville S, Public Relations Manager at Poutineville, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hi there!

Thanks for your kind words! Our concept is building your own poutine via check list; all toppings and ingredients are modestly priced and added when we tally up your bill. Unfortunately, we can't control what you put on your poutine (the possibilities are endless!), therefore, the total price of your poutine depends on what you pick. Perhaps the next time you can try one of our signature poutines such as "The Poutineville" which features our 8-hour braised beef, on smashed potatoes with red wine sauce with cheese curds and mozzarella. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We went there for the first time and were greeted with the semi-strong smell of a true burger joint. After a fee steps the smell went away.

A lovely lady said "hi" and offered us to choose our table if we wanted ( nice gesture ). We went upstairs..... Ok ok .... Only 3 steps but it was still upstairs ;)

Nice hardwood floors, nice decor and ambiance.

The nice lady came back and asked us if it was our first time at Poutineville. We said "yes"... She told us to wait a second and came back with there "signature" fries in a little bowl for us to try. It is more a potato cube ( about 1 inch by 1 inch ) smashed with a thumb...

All done by hand.... It gives the potato an almost mashed potato texture inside a crispy outer layer.... Hard to describe but it was good !

They have about 12 or 15 recipies for you to choose from OR make your own.... Yes make your own... You get a list that you can "check" every item you want and they will build your poutine to your taste.

You get to choose your potato, cheese, sauce, meats and vegies.

DELICIOUS poutine, we tried their burger and it was delicious also. A pint of beer sets you back only 5,50 $ .... Thats great !!

1 regular size "signature" poutine, 1 reg. size made to order poutine, 1 burger, 2 pints of beer and the taxes 49$

Way... Way.... Way better then la Banquise.... The main feature at Poutineville is the food, at la Banquis it's the fact they are opened 24 hrs.

I prefer good food !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sebas_030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poutineville S, Public Relations Manager at Poutineville, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you voyage_a_varadero!

We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Poutineville is a good way to try a new experience in the traditional Poutine of Quebec. Be aware that it can easily go quite high up if you mixed up a lot of stuff and remember that this is in the end a simple poutine, no matter how many vegetables and meat you put in. Still a nice experience, but if you never tasted a poutine, just take a classic plane one at La Belle Province or Petit Québec.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eloimayano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poutineville S, Guest Relations Manager at Poutineville, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks for your feedback eloimayano! But like you said, you're the one in charge of whether or not your poutine gets expensive in the end - by adding more and more toppings. A poutine is never "just a poutine" when you have the chance to create your own - or especially one of our signature poutines. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place is amazing. Imagine poutine, the way you want it! You choose the fries, or their signature smashed potatoes, types of cheese, meat and vegetable toppings, and then the sauce! There are so many ways! A poutine a day! Will definately return, again and again!

1  Thank MARY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poutineville also viewed

 
 

Been to Poutineville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing