We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History of Montreal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Local Montreal Food Tours

Local Montreal Food Tours
Ranked #1 of 23 Food & Drink in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Montreal Food Tours. Enjoy Montreal's most delicious local food on a Montreal Tour through the Mile End district. The Mile-end is famed for it's gastronomical diversity. It also happens to be the best place to eat montreal food specialities and discover the fine products of Quebec's terroir. Private group tours are also available. The guided Food Tours include mouth-watering food samples, enough for a large lunch, from unique specialty food stores, local restaurants and ethnic eateries while providing a detailed insiders view of Montreal's most famous communities- their rich histories, treasured architecture, dazzling entertainment offerings and restaurant recommendations. Tours run 6 days a week between May and october. The earliest departure time leaves at 11am and depending on the tour will last between 2-3 hours.
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“History of Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a marvelous tour. We spent 90 minutes being guided through the streets of lovely Montreal; which came to life because of the knowledge of our guide--Mark Andre who was superb! Mark has a wealth of knowledge of the history of the city; his intent is to become a History Teacher and it is easy to see that he has a passion for learning and sharing with others. His style is gentle and inclusive. He loves questions. We saw the highlights of the city and had a great understanding of the interesting past of this important city.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaandGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    80
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We attending the tour - and it was fantastic. The places we visited I would not have picked out on my own (which was half the fun). Our guide (Natalie??) was fantastic, She gave us some history of beer as well as the city. Great job, great food, great beer!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spectacular walking tour of Quartier Des Spectacles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you want to get an intimate and modern introduction to this section of downtown Montreal, I highly recommend this tour. Ishmael, our guide, wove together the past, present and future in a fascinating, interactive narrative. Walking down the street and seeing red dots painted on the pavement or a graffiti covered wall or even a non-descript office building, I'd just walk right past. Ishmael uncovers the hidding meanings and big reveals inside and out. Food for though and even ends with a delicious meal!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Historic and Cultural Walking Tour was very informative and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We started our trip with this tour and it was a great introduction to Montreal. The day my husband and I took the tour, we were the only 2 people so we kinda got a private tour which was cool. Marc, our guide, obviously knew his stuff and was passionate about the city. He did a good job of talking about both the history and contemporary life of Montreal in a fun and interesting way. We learned about the digital city, walked to the old port, through the old city, saw a small contemporary art exhibit, and the tour ended at Place d'Armes with a visit inside the Notre Dame Basilica (admission price is included in the tour price). The 2 hours flew by. We learned a lot about Montreal and had a good time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank skupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Way to See Unique Art in Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were a group of 8 and our guide was Ismael. We enjoyed seeing some alternative art work during this walking tour while learning some about the history of Montreal. The break for an appetizer mid-tour was a nice touch and the polenta and salad were delicious. The graffiti wall was especially interesting. If you enjoy being off-the-beaten trail,food and art work, this walking tour is for you.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Montreal Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Local Montreal Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing