We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Italian food”
Review of Venti - CLOSED

Venti
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: McGill
Description: Venti brings Italian regional cuisine to trendy old montreal serving familiar favourites with a twist for lunch, dinner and late night, creating a friendly neighbourhood vibe. With its innovative twist on Italian regional cuisine, friendly vibe, and modern yet inviting design, Venti is sure to become a welcome addition to old montreal’s vibrant financial district.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Rustic Italian food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went off client's recommendation and was very happy with the comfort rustic Italian food. Fresh pastas, large entrees - short ribs amazing!! wonderful fresh mozzarella with pine nuts. We ate a lot since it was one of our only meals of the day. We had an adventure getting to the hotel with the blizzard in full effect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuxeTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Coal in Christmas Stocking....”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Venti, a purportedly Italian restaurant in Montreal's picturesque historic district, delivers the best Italian pasta that Kraft's mac-and-cheese can provide. A dinner anticipated as a casual dining experience proved to give new meaning to bad food, badly presented and badly served. Recommended by several guide books, Venti proved to be a textbook case of the old adage--pay attention to your first impressions. In great and potentially welcoming space, the restaurant succeeded in delivering a truly mediocre experience. Two meals--short ribs and a pasta and shrimp combination--looked like chow-hall fare, dishes swimming in nondescript sauce and main entrees tasteless and underachieving. Top off the lousy food with service that put salad and entree on the table together, a diffident wait staff that seemed more interested in watching the clock than watching the patrons, and a table of screamers who made the walls echo and the evening was best forgotten--or not experienced at all. Don't go there--unless you like mac-and-cheese out of a box.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harngtngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal,Qc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overated”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Slow service, average food,extremely noisy restaurant. I am surprise to read some excellent reviews. The food is good but not exceptional. There are nuch better Italian restaurant in Montreal so dont go at Vendi

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JC1Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Continental flavors, friendly service at very reasonable prices”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Surprised to read mentions of high prices at this lovely restaurant. You get two course at lunch for $18 and the quality is excellent. Fresh ingredients like a mushroom and chestnuts and a roasted pork chop with sautéed cabbage and swiss chard. My Mother's salad was very fresh with light dressing and I had the salmon with a fresh spinach and lemon. Glasses of wine start at $9 and we had a flavorful pannacotta with berries for $5. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is laid back and relaxing. It far exceeded our expectations.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ON
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian Osteria”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location in the old port of Montreal offering stellar value with weekday fixed price lunch offerings. Although the menu is limited at lunch, there is something to please everyone. Only disappointment was that I couldn't swing a return visit on this trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank P-G-TorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venti also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing