We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite, warm and refined.”
Review of Renard Artisan Bistro - CLOSED

Renard Artisan Bistro
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: rue Drolet
Description: Coming Soon!
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exquisite, warm and refined.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Real artistic food - skillful and original chef - Does everything himself, the bread, the pasta, the chutneys, all the patés. Gets organic flours, meats and vegetables - all the ingredients actually.
Nice small dining hall, very warm atmosphere,
and guess what not overrated.
There is a lot of competition in this neighbourhood, and he is more than keeping up.
If you want a terroir experience right in downtown, this is your place.
service was kind and unpretentious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jimenita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious, local, organic food”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I went here with 3 of my colleagues. One coming from Europe. I wanted a restaurant that show cased local foods at a decent price. What we found was a truly unique, delicious, and quaint experience.


The menu is written on a chalkboard because that's how often the menu can change depending what they receive as ingredients. Nice presentation on all dishes, great wine selection, and again, delicious food. I will come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheSudburian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Milk with chocolate.. I am in heaven !”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Great tasting food, alot of choices and the serving sizes are jusr right. but what made me flip over was that i was able to get the chocolate tarte with a glass of milk. Its like a cherry on top. Service was amazing and definatly recommand this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluezombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“All Natural products”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The outstanding feature of this bistro is the quality of the products used by the cook. Taste the free range raised cornish hen and you will appreciate the difference between naturally grown foodstuff and industrial food. The cuisine is very creative and taste wonderful. The place is small but cozy and located in a very pleasant part of town, two blocks from a metro station.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is a winner, The food was of excellent quality and with a creative approach. I loved the poached egg on mushroom and vegetable bed appetizer, so much so that I woke up in the morning thinking about it. The lobster tail delicious and the rabbit leg with clams tender and fresh. Unexpected menu with masterful execution. The only thing we didn't like was the menu was written (in French only) on the blackboard walls. It was hard to read from some angles but the staff was very friendly and translated everything for us. Next time I'm in town I will go again for sure and recommend anyone willing to try something new to give this place a chance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sleventant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renard Artisan Bistro also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing