We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
180
18
13
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
18
13
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews russian room train station room was spacious carole hosts breakfast french privacy quebec mont
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 211 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2017

I stayed at Au Coeur Urbain for a week while visiting an elderly relative in Montreal.
The hosts Carolle and Francois are charming and can't do enough to help you feel at home and to find your way around. The location is in a historic 1920s house directly opposite the Montreal General Hospital. The one way street is busy during the day but there is a garden at the front and the house is set back from the road. With the double glazing there was no noise problem. The rooms, themed by country, are on 2 floors with wooden stairs. La Russe was a spacious room on the top floor with a large fireplace. The air-conditioning was most welcome as the weather was very hot and humid. The en suite shower, toilet and small wash basin are concealed behind a curtain. There is plenty of storage. The Wifi for me worked fine in my room ( see previous review ). Breakfast is a celebration of local produce: artisan bread, jams and maple butter, cooked eggs and ham, waffles, delicious quiche all beautifully presented. The communal breakfast table seats 8 and everyone chatted in their many languages. Positives ? I liked the warm welcome and the elegant spotless accommodation . Negatives ? The access needs a bit of thought as it's on a steep hill but it's quick to walk down to the city centre and there are frequent buses uphill to the hospital from the metro station at the bottom. Taxis are available very quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank myrtle321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

I hesitated to give Au Coeur Urbain 4 stars instead of 5, because the hosts try so hard, the breakfasts are wonderful, and the B&B itself is beautiful! The only issue is that wi-fI worked only occasionally in our room itself (on the third floor). But since wi-fi is important for many travelers, I think it warrants the reduction of 1 star. If the hosts installed a wi-fi booster or something, the B&B would be 5 stars!

Also, re the bathroom layout: The bathroom was fully separated from the rest of our room (the Russian room) by a curtain. I had been concerned about it (privacy, etc.) based on other reviews, but it was not an issue.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

This accommodation will suit some and not others. It is basically situated on an island between two major roads and opposite the emergency department of Montreal General Hospital. That said, we had very little noise in our room. It was a 15 min walk to the main downtown area (uphill) coming back and 10 mins to the Metro.
We stayed in the African/Safari room which had its own bathroom separated from the bedroom by several doors. It was a bit quirky much like the house. Breakfast was at a communal table which was nice to meet other guests. The food was Ok but not outstanding. We were given 3 little cakes for one course between 2 people. Were we meant to cut one in half? Parking was an additional charge which seems a little pecuniary as there wasn't any alternative to using their yard.
Good choice if you are visiting the hospital.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank poppy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Location was downtown so very easy to get to subway , bus and taxi.
We had a large suitcase, and upon walking in, our host Francois, helped us with it and brought it to our room. Both he and his wife are a wonderful team who have made a bed and breakfast inn to be proud of. Not only was it immaculate, but the room had wonderful towels, and everything you could think of for your enjoyment. They were available to give lots of information when we needed it.
Now the food- OMG! Totally amazing and fabulous breakfast. Quality ingredients and so very tasty.
We will return

Room Tip: our room was the Japanese room. I could have sworn no one else was staying in the hotel as it was so quiet. Bed was very comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in early September. It is a lovely, welcoming bed and breakfast located within walking distance of downtown Montreal. The owners are gracious and the breakfasts are delicious..the rooms are tastefully decorated and clean. We were given helpful directions to various places in the city and all our requests were accommodated. We have recommended this B&B to friends.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and was completely quiet at night
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews