We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuck Shop

Tuck Shop
Ranked #114 of 5,656 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to tuck shop recently as a group of 10 friends and had a great night! The location is in a part of the city which is really starting to develop with some amazing places. The ambience in the restaurant is perfect. Lots of wood and green leather benches, along with the right chilled out decor.
The service was prompt and not intrusive. Our waitress knew the menu and wine list very well and was able to accomodate all of our requests. The beers on tap are creative, but nothing out of the ordinary. The wine list had some depth and creativity but would have been nice to see a few more options at the table wine price point as the selection quickly jumps to approx $80 per bottle.
The food is nothing short of excellent. We found the menu was well thought out and the mix of ingredients are the hallmark of good culinary skill and a keen dedication to food rigor that is not common. The standout dishes are the beef tartare, the lamb, and the lobster ravioli was getting some champion feedback.
We only had one desert and it was average, but to be fair we are more a savoury than sweet crowd and often have an extra glass of wine and cheese plate rather than chocolate.
The bill was on average $60 per person but we agreed it was good value for the quality that was delivered. In summary, a great find and fantastic night out. We hope to dawn the doorstep of the Tuck Shop again in the not too distant future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_bc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    31
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service, not much for vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Arriving right around dinner time in Montreal made for some quick decision making around 'What's for dinner?'. As we were staying with a friend in Westmount, there were many choices and we decided that a little walk, followed by dinner would be great. We ended up at Restaurant Tuck Shop on Rue Notre-Dame Ouest. It was very inviting and the service was professional and friendly. A burata salad was excellent as a starter. Kids enjoyed fish tacos, which looked beautiful AND met the taste profile of a 12 year old. The Lobster salad was good, but made for a quick trade for our 9 year old who proclaimed it tasted to much of black liquorice (probably the fennel- adults at the table liked this dish) Both the lamb and the halibut were deemed 'excellent'. Desert is worth saving some room for as the salted caramel cheesecake, the chocolate mousse and the strawberries with fresh cream were all amazing, as was the strawberry rhubarb pie. The one miss for this group of 5 was that the only true vegetarian option was a spinach ricotta ravioli dish, which given the quality of the rest of the food, was not that amazing. Otherwise, very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KLCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Really enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Came in the summer and the first thing I saw when I sat down was strawberry shortcake on the menu board - such a sucker for strawberry shortcake! As soon as the waitress mentioned dessert I was pointing at the board and may have interrupted her... And it was worth it! Working my way backwards, I had the spinach ricotta ravioli with tomatoes and summer squash and it was amazing. Favorite way to eat squash now. Really attentive, super nice staff to boot. Would absolutely come again. I'd say reservations are a great idea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeanaJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great dining experience, quality ingredients stellar service. cocktails! original small wine list. A must try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jw42_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good but nothing too exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got to Tuck Shop with tones of expectation from the reviews we've seen. The menu was a kind of let down where there is not much choices. We had 2 appetizers and 2 main dishes. They were just ok but nothing out of ordinary as promised by all the buzz. When we got to dessert, none of the descriptions appealed to us so we asked for some suggestions from the waitress. She was not too enthousiastic about them either! This tells about how exciting it was.

Not sure that we will go back again. The food does not match up with the check we got at the end of the night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJMontreal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuck Shop also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Tuck Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing