We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual and good fish n chips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brit and Chips

Brit and Chips
Ranked #53 of 5,656 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Casual and good fish n chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were 4 people who went for an early lunch and we enjoyed the casual atmosphere on the terrasse on Mcgill street.. The food was very good. There was a good choice of battered fish. The beer list was fine to accompany our meal. Service was good and friendly. The prices were reasonable. Will definitely go back another time. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denist_eg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    187
    47
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great option in neighborhood of pricey restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

As a out-of-towner in the city alone, I walked the neighborhood looking for a pub. I did not want a pricey restaurant with linen table cloth and a 3-course meal. I was beginning to despair of finding a pub when I stumbled by the McGill Street location of Brit and Chips. I decided to try it, and I'm glad I did. The service was friendly and prompt. Nothing fancy here, but the batter on the cod was extra crispy, and the two pieces of cod were very generous --- no gnawing hunger later that evening! The beer selections were good; everything was reasonably priced. There are options to eat at the counter or at a few small tables toward the back of the dining room. A cozy no frills place, but this is just what I was looking for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G00DToG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gotta go if you are in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place doesn't offer you a great seating. Only counters and small table, BUT the food is amazing. It doesn't smell oily and taste oily, either. Batter has different fravor and Chiken pie is highly recommended. Canadian beers are good,too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruriko w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plate of Fried Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Tasty fried fish! Everything on my plate was fried. Fish balls and French fries. Nothing green and leafy here. Portions were filling and the food served quickly at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiR2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
368 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best outside of England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Visited in the middle of the afternoon at the McGill location. Everything was excellent, the traditional Cod top of the list, the salmon, as mentioned in other reviews doesn't really belong but was good. Also had a pastie and a chicken pie and both were killer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brit and Chips also viewed

 
 

Been to Brit and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing