We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this place!!”

De Farine et d'eau Fraiche
Ranked #26 of 111 Dessert in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: The Village (Gay Village)
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

this little cafe/bakery/bistro is simply magical. we come back to it every time we're in montreal because it is just incredible, and reasonably priced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tahereh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The sugar plum fairy lives here-”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This little snow white bakery is small and sweet- stopped for coffee, couldn't resist the pastry case, a delectable assortment was delivered to our table on a little porcelain plate.

They have these tiny tiered cakes under glass on the wall as decor? or for sale? The girl couldn't speak much English and alas, we couldn't speak much French.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I love to go there to do some work, but go there early if you want to have a table during the week-ends. I really like their panna cotta ! They taste so good !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephTheRock_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

A wonderful range of teas and some delicious pastries. the savouries looked good as well. this is a really neat place a bit out of the way but always busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonWelshboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful café”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've been in Montreal for a week, and after reading great reviews, decided to walk to this café. I had the Lavender latte with soy milk, which was wonderful. They also have a great selection of baked goods. I had a gluten free chocolate pecan cookie that was excellent. All pastries are in the same case, so it's not completely free from cross contamination, but it was a great option to see. I plan on taking my boyfriend here for a nice, slow start to our morning. I wish I could bring this café home with me!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Farine et d'eau Fraiche also viewed

 

Been to De Farine et d'eau Fraiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing